We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a French breakfast in a friendly & historic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cecile's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cecile's House
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a French breakfast in a friendly & historic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We look forward each summer to our annual B&B experience at Cécile's house. I believe that most of Chris' guests are returnees who have come quickly to appreciate the central location of his historic landmark home and the unfailingly tasty warm assortment of breakfast goodies. Chris is an old hand in his updated kitchen, bringing to his B&B his culinary background from chef experiences in Nantes, Montréal, and New York City.
His breakfast area, abutting an elegant dining room, offers a sunny happy arrangement of three tables angled to afford casual conversation between guests. He lays out a medley of freshly baked croissants, clafoutis, cheese, ham, cereals, along with the usual fresh fruit dishes, etc.
He keeps his house up to date, making new renovations each year. The library aka sitting room, offers books, daily newspapers, and a user friendly computer available to the guests. If the weather is conducive, we enjoy sitting on the front veranda beside the shady trees and babbling water fountain, after a day at the theatre, dining establishments, and wineries in this very attractive and historic town. What's not to like?
Your host e-mails you a reminder before your reserved date, and greets you upon your arrival, is a source of local information and recommendations, and bids you a cheery adieu upon your departure.

Room Tip: Be thankful if you are able to get any room here. There are only three. In the high theatre season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    9
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
47
289
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

We a regular guests at Cecile's House, and always make a point of booking there when we go to Niagra-on-the-lake. The rooms are clean, well-maintained and nicely decorated. Chris's place is close to the 9-hole golf course - a great place for light dining, and it is just a few blocks from the main shopping on Queen St. The breakfast is gourmet continental - and perfect for us. The baked goods are amazing and we love that there are separate tables for couples to sit at (3 small tables for each of the 3 rooms). We will continue to book our annual visits at Cecile's House.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Ceciile's House is lovely and immaculate - the pillows and bed linens are wonderful. The location is perfect, breakfast is delicious, and Chris is very helpful with dining suggestions. I would certainly return if I go back to the Shaw Festival.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCG20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Cecile's may be the best value in NOTL. Chris is an excellent host, and the breakfast is to die for. The location is just far enough from Queen St. to be quiet, yet the restaurants and theaters are within an easy walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RochesterMark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

This was our 6th stay with Chris. We routinely book for the next year before leaving. Chris is a friendly and very accomodating host and his breakfast is something to look forward to. The rooms are comfortable and the location excellent for attending the Shaw Festival performances on foot. Chris can give good advice about things to see and restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

What a pleasant surprise to arrive after a long drive at Cecile's House Bed & Breakfast! We had done some research online to find a suitable stay in Niagara on the Lake and as we like to stay at B&B's instead of usual chain hotels, Cecile's House came up with good Trip Advisor reviews and made our bookings accordingly.

Everything went smoothly from online reservations, host replying to queries and check in and stay. I wish I had also known more about Niagara on the Lake as would have stayed longer than just the one night and enjoyed Cecile's House awesome breakfasts.

We had the French Room with private bathroom outside the room in the hall, which did not detract from our stay at all though some people may prefer ensuite. The room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean for our stay, as was the bathroom.

The House has 3 guest bedrooms so there is never more than 6 guests in total which makes you feel as a welcome family friend rather than a paying guest. There is a lovely sitting room with a mac pc set up for free use as well as free internet access in the rooms.

Next day, we walked down to the Lake and town centre (one block either way from Cecile's House), making it an ideal location. Coming back after our walk, we were welcomed with the smell of freshly brewed coffee, baked clafoutis and croissants!

We would like to say a big Thank You to our host, Chris, for his attention to detail and making our stay so pleasant. We would definitely come back again to enjoy the Shaw Theatre as well as the wine route nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewlywedsBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Our group of six spent four days at Cecile's House over the Labour Day Weekend - the seventh such vacation in seven years. After all this time we have come to expect nothing but the best at Cecile's House during our NOTL vacation and have not been disappointed. It is difficult to find new adjectives that describe the level of service and satisfaction one receives at this B&B but, rest assured, it is THE standard for that area.
We continue to look forward to next year for Chris' wonderful breakfasts, his smiling welcome and accommodating service in his very beautiful home in NOTL.

Room Tip: There is no need for a fitness centre as the location is just off the main artery and within walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.4 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#5 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#1 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cecile's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cecile's House

Property: Cecile's House
Address: 156 Gate Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by a French chef and situated on a quiet street in the Heritage district in the heart of historic Niagara-on- the-Lake, Cecile's House Bed & Breakfast has a perfect location. The golf course, Lake Ontario, the famous Oban Inn & Spa, the main street with its shops, restaurants and theaters are just one block away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing