We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Weekend Get-away Extraordinaire”
Review of Green Oaks B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Oaks B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in preparation for a family wedding in Niagara-on-the-Lake. At Trish's suggestion, we booked into the Willow Room as it allowed our sons [19 & 24] to join us the second night. Instead of turning the air conditioner on, we simply opened the windows and turned on the ceiling fans for nights of blissful sleep. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. To be able to partake in the refreshment of your choice whilst sitting on the wonderful front porch allows a person to relax.

The morning breakfasts were extraordinaire! Food was either home grown or sourced locally. Trish rivals local chefs, and while her homemade preserves are excellent ... when you get to put them on freshly made scones ... it is to die for!

Would I return? YES

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights as we explored the local wineries. Trish supplied us with several tasting passes as well as one for a tasting and tour. The B&B backs up to a winery (with an attached restaurant) and it is a short walk through the vineyard to get there, although we drove. It had been a long day visiting wineries. The room was air conditioned which we appreciated due to the unseasonable heat wave affecting the area. There is wi-fi for your Internet needs. The rooms are on the second floor and the one we stayed in was clean and comfortable. The house has a wonderful front porch which is perfect to relax with morning coffee or afternoon refreshments. We did both, early morning coffee and late afternoon wine, and the Wi-Fi reached there.

Breakfast was of the quality you would expect from a top of the line B&B. Over the two mornings, we were served Canadian bacon and hash browns, stuffed portobello mushroom with scrambled eggs (from the chickens roaming the property), apple pancakes with blueberry preserves, zucchini and lime bread, and the local fresh fruit. A lot of the food came either from her garden or local growers. Needless to say, each breakfast was a feast, almost too much to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogueBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stay was great and the breakfasts were huge and very good. It was close to a couple of restraints and a winery. Also if if bought anything that needed to be refrigerated Trish had a small fridge that we could keep it in.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turner1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Great Oaks over a weekend in July. Trish is a great host and made wonderful breakfasts, including using fresh eggs from the chickens she raises. Beautiful setting next to a vineyard that you can walk through to reach a winery/restaurant. It's close to Niagara-on-the-Lake and Niagara Falls activities.Great hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We really enjoyed our mid-week stay. We were treated to a feast of a breakfast, almost too much, but well prepared with homey touches. Trish was cordial, expressive and peppy, but still allowed us to have our privacy. Decor was exceptional Victorian and we can't wait until her dream renovations become reality. We were always comfortable and well-attended. For those who appreciate off the beaten path, this is an excellent venue. We will definitely return to monitor Trish's betterment of the place, although to stay presently is a joyous experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAK7784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Like a lot of other people this was our first visit to the area. Green Oaks is conveniently located and it isn't far to any of the major attractions in the area. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Breakfast was great - fresh baked biscuits, fresh fruit and eggs benedict and lots of good conversation. Trish is a great ambassador for the region and was extremely helpful. It was cool to walk through the vineyard behind her property to go check out the crafts market that takes place throughout the summer and sample the local wine at Ravine Estates. Check out The Old Firehall restaurant just down the street for dinner...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_and_M_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

House had lots of old character but room was clean and comfortable. Had air conditioning which during hot summer nights was nice. Property backed right onto Winery which you can walk to for dinner.

Host was great and cooked fantastic breakfast.

Even organized arranged pick up and drop off for our bicyle win tour so we were driving!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
6.8 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
967 reviews
6.2 mi away
Graystone Bed and Breakfast
Graystone Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
559 reviews
6.6 mi away
Finlay House
Finlay House
#58 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Woodbourne Inn
Woodbourne Inn
#17 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
142 reviews
6.6 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#60 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
116 reviews
5.8 mi away
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Oaks B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Oaks B&B

Address: 1376 York Road | St David's, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £96 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Oaks B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to Niagara-on-the-Lake and to our bed and breakfast. We sit on the edge of Ravine Winery (walk out my back yard into the vineyards and follow them to the restaurant/deli and winery). Also in the area Chateau Des Charmes winery and/Coyote Run Winery. Both are just a km away - just a few of the many wineries the region has to offer. Niagara Falls is a 15 minute drive. Enjoy the Gardens, or do as we do have a coffee/wine on the porch and watch the cyclists go by. We are located on a popular cycling route.We would love to welcome you with your pet however we have 2 cats that think they run the place. Lets talk about it before you bring your pets. For those with allergies, my cats are not allowed in the guest rooms, one is an outside one, the other well she just likes that I run a bed and breakfast. Smoking is not allowed in the house but please feel free to smoke on the porch or in the gardens. Please just remember to use ashtrays. We are a short drive (10 minutes) to Niagara Falls (and all the attractions - Maid of the Mist, Buttery Fly Avery) and to Old Town with the great shopping and the Shaw Theatre. Wine tours can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Green Oaks B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing