We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B at Niagara-on-the-Lake”
Review of BranCliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BranCliff Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife & I stayed at the BranCliff one night and had a wonderful, although too short, stay. We had driven down from Toronto to see Niagara Falls and the area. We found the BranCliff on TripAdvisor and decided to give it a try.

From my first email to check-out, the owner-hostess, Debbie, was a gracious & accommodating. Since it was mid-week, during a slower season, we had our pick of rooms. We chose the Cranberry Suite, because of its warm look (pictures on inn's website) and relatively good bathroom counter-space. It's a beautiful room, fireplace, bedroom loft, great looking wood throughout. The building is a refurbished school house dating from the mid-1800's. It really feels solid, but at the same time, the rooms are warm and comfy--good couch and chairs in the sitting portion of the suite.

The bed and bedding are comfortable, clean and modern--good bedside lighting for reading, plus there was a dyson fan/heater, if needed. Since the bedroom is in the room's loft, it is warmer than the downstairs sitting area. If you like it cooler when you sleep, as we do, the fan came in handy. We also cracked open a window, which, along with the fan, got us to the right sleeping temperature.

The Inn is located one-block off the main (Queen, I think) street at the Eastern end of the downtown strip. Really a nice location for walking the strip, and close enough to walk to the fort if you like.

Breakfast was very good, as well, with plenty, and a good variety, of food. There was meat--sausage, bacon, fruit, baked goods, pancakes, cereal, etc. Considering there were only 3 other guests, it was quite a spread. Our only regret was we couldn't stay longer. It's a beautiful inn.

Room Tip: Look at the website and choose a room that fits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcoletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I travel often to BnBs around the northeast and have stayed at many wonderful places. BranCliff was one of the best places we have had the pleasure to stay in and is quite memorable. The 2 story room was amazing by itself. Beautifully decorated, light and incredibly romantic! We were tempted to spend our entire weekend in the suite. Breakfast was a feast and again, hard to leave each day. Debbie, our host is amazing and treated us like royalty. Highly recommended, we would love to come back again and again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Plc1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was are first time in an Inn and BranCliff Inn exceeded our expectations! Beautiful rooms and the best breakfast ever and a lovely hostess,Debbie! We will recommend the BranCliff Inn to anyone heading to niagara on the lake.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here over the Easter long weekend to celebrate my Mom's birthday. We had 3 rooms and we all had a great time. Debbie was a fantastic host. She even gifted my Mom a bottle of wine for her birthday :) The rooms and house are beautiful and cozy. Well located a block from main street NOTL. You should definitely stay here!
The only suggestion I have is in past B&Bs that we have stayed in, we are always asked upon arrival about any special dietary requirements. I think that should be done at BranCliff as well :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishkatie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We decided to stay at Brancliff as the reviews were so good, and we were not disappointed! Debbie is a great hostess, the rooms are lovely and the breakfast fantastic! Niagara on the Lake is gorgeous, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBJEastLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Debbie is a great host, she greeted us warmly and was very helpful with local recommendations. She told us the history of the house, which is fascinating and made sure we had everything that we needed.
The house is wonderful throughout, the rooms are really beautifully decorated and furnished, old time elegance but thoroughly modern aswell. The breakfast is quite something; a fantastic selection of cold and hot buffet, everything clearly home cooked, freshly made and tastes amazing. If you are in NOTL for some excellent eating, this is a perfect place to start the day.
It is located very close to the centre of town so you can walk to all th shops and restaurants.
We have stayed several times in this area and this is by far the best experience we have had.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was my first B&B experience with my boyfriend and we had a wonderful experience! We stayed in the Seaman (Blue Room) Suite, a huge loft-style room that had two floors: the bedroom on the 2nd level and living room & bathroom on the 1st level. The room had a great king-size bed, everything was clean, beautifully decorated, and furnished. It also had your basic necessities (towels, soap, shampoo, hair dryer, robe, etc.). It felt like home :) The dining area had character and neatly placed with fine dishes, cups, cutlery, etc. on display and set on the table. Again lovely old furnishings. The breakfast food was delicious and there was a good variety. We especially loved the banana chocolate and walnut bread!... Before we came to Niagara-on-the-lake to stay overnight, we were sightseeing and went to Casa Loma. The Brancliff B&B reminded us of the castle, such as: the pretty ceiling, strong oak wood, the old brick and stones, and simply the beauty of an old mansion, yet it was functionally modern... We ate at Zee's restaurant for dinner, which was conveniently located only about a 5-minute walk.
Brancliff is close to Queen & King Street's quaint main shopping (Rockwell-esque) area and a quick drive to the wineries. Overall, I would recommend this place. Thanks again Debbie for your wonderful hospitality! You made our first B&B stay very enjoyable :) Next time if we stay, we might try out the green room that looks similar.

Cheers!
Lori3292014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori3292014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,752 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
952 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BranCliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BranCliff Inn

Address: 40 Platoff Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £101 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BranCliff Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original Niagara Public School c1859 is now a 6 suite country inn Georgian architecture, original Palladium window, elegant dining/meeting room . One block from Shaw Festival Theatre and Queen/Picton Sts. in the National Historical District of "Old Town" Niagara on the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your BranCliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing