We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place We Ever Stay”

Blairpen House Country Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blairpen House Country Inn
Avon, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Only Place We Ever Stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I hesitate reviewing this inn because I honestly don't want it to get popular. I want to continue to be able to book my room here whenever we want to run up to NotL. But the Blairpen deserves a stellar rating. Tim, the innkeeper, is a wonder. He bakes his own bread and makes his own yogurt for the impressive breakfast each and every morning, assisted by Sharon, who makes the sweets for it. The rooms are immaculate, and THERE IS NO TV, thank heavens. The inn is within a very short walking distance to downtown, and Tim is a font of information about...oh, EVERYTHING: wineries, restaurants, shopping, whatever. This is also a CHILDFREE accommodation, which is also wonderful.

Room Tip: first floor rooms have better wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alden, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We just returned from our third stay at the Blairpen House and it was wonderful as always. The location is great, only a 2-block walk to Queen Street. The innkeeper provided us with sone free tasting cards for a few of the local wineries and off we went. It was sadly too chilly to sit out on the balcony outside the room, so on our return we took our bottle of wine to the sitting room and enjoyed it in front of the gas fireplace.

The rooms are quiet and comfortable. No TV in the room, but there is one in the lounge if you must have it. The inn does have wifi. Breakfast in the morning is simple but tasty with fresh fruit and pastries and delicious coffee. We're already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My husband and I recently visited Niagara-on-the-Lake for the first time and stayed at this lovely B&B. We loved the location which is walking distance to many of the shops and restaurants. Tim (owner) had great recommendations for places to eat as well as visiting the wineries. Our first floor room was large, clean and accessible to the garden patio. I especially loved all the enmities offered in the room; hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and fabulous toiletries. Although our trip was cut short due to inclement weather, we look forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishLass2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We've decided to make a long week-end to Blairpen House an annual occasion!! We spent another wonderful four days at the best B&B ever. There are a few improvements from last year including a "tea house" in the garden which is just beautiful and so well taken care of. Everything is immaculate and welcoming and breakfast was even better than I remember. It's such a treat to have home baking and a different choice every morning. Thanks so much to Tim and Sharon for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My girlfriend and I recently stayed for 4 nights at Blairpen House, and it was, in a word, perfect. The proprietor, Tim, has built a charming property full of english decor and history. Everything is kept spotless, the rooms are charming and each morning's breakfast was fresh and delicious.

The close proximity of Blairpen House to the Shaw Festival, theatres and the main street (Queen St.) make for an easy walk to the attractions and shopping.

We will definitely be back, thanks again to Tim and his assistant Sharon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Great Location. Cozy rooms. Beatiful garden and courtyard. Scrumptious Breakfast. Lovely staff. Am making this my go-to stay at Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This B&B is truly an "Trip Advisor" hidden gem. It is located on a quiet residential street within easy walking distance to the three theaters, downtown shopping, parks and good restaurants. You can leave your car in the off street parking area. We stayed three nights. Staff (Sherie) and owner are extremely welcoming and willing to help make your stay very comfortable. Breakfast is set out on a large table, where you serve yourself homemade pastries & breads, fruit, yogurt, cereal, meats and cheese, as well as a variety of juices and coffee/tea/hot milk. It's served until 10am, which is nice for late-theater goers. You have the option of eating in the breakfast room, taking your meal to your room or out to their lovely patio. There is a computer for guests' use (no extra charge), reading area with fireplace and TV room. Lots of books and magazines. Back yard is welcoming, too. Owner is in the process of building a small room, which I am guessing could be used for serving refreshments. Our room was large, bed comfortable, ample storage and NO clutter (not the usual dust catchers in most B&Bs). The one improvement I'd suggest is that the quality of the towels is not what I expected. The bed linens were fine, but the towels (tho' plentiful) were more like what you'd find at an economy motel. However, this minor distraction would not keep us from returning to this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sliding door to patio, if you like outside access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirdingMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#7 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
528 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#32 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
WeatherPine Inn
WeatherPine Inn
#37 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schoolmaster's House Bed and Breakfast
Schoolmaster's House Bed and Bre...
#35 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Post House Inn
Post House Inn
#22 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blairpen House Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blairpen House Country Inn

Property: Blairpen House Country Inn
Address: 287 Davy Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blairpen House Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing