We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Place To Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay, lovely hosts and an adorable dog, the breakfasts were scrumptious and the accommodation excellent. Book this accommodation and you won't be disappointed.Great venue in a lovely town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank troll001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Hi,

Hope your weather is still nice.

No sooner had I sent off your picture did we see your comment and review. Thank you for your time and effort, no amount of advertizing gives us the rewards of actual guest feed back.

We appreciate it a good deal. .
Have a safe one

The Hoppys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent 2 nights here in late August, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
This was the most modern B&B we had stayed at, but we wanted to relax by a pool, so we did not expect a "Circa" residence, as this was a priority. Hoppy's met our all our expectations, and left us relaxed and refreshed!
We arrived shortly after 3 PM on a hot Thursday after a long drive dealing with the summer highway season.. AKA, construction. What was a 3 1/2 hour drive home on the weekend was a 5+ hour drive on a weekday. Hoppy (AKA Terrance) met us at the door, showed us to the room, and served my wife a Wonderful Iced Tea! We quickly oriented ourselves with the house, changed into our swim suits, and spent a relaxing few hours sitting in the shade by the pool... ahhhhhh!!!!!
A leisurely walk down to main street, approximately 20 minutes, strolled by the shops, had dinner, then home for a restful sleep.
Breakfast the next morning was very good. Eggs cooked to order, AMAZING banana bread, fruit, coffee, and we were ready for the day. We started by using the bikes provided to ride along the gorge. A wonderful few hours spent relaxing. The owners provided us with tools to adjust the seats of the bikes, and the bikes worked wonderfully.
Amenities such as pool towels and pool deck shoes were unexpected extras!!
Cannot end the review without mentioning Odie, the house dog! You think you know the breed mix when you see him, but cannot believe it could ever happen..... it did!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Hello once again,

As always our guest satisfaction is paramount. The fact that you took the time to add feedback is very much appreciated and all feed back is taken with a view to improve or validate our efforts - Nothing is taken for granted. We also would like you to give us a return visit if ever you are back in this beautiful region. Wish you the best of Fall and the rest of the year.

The Hoppys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was our first time at Hoppys and we were certainly impressed, but my friend and I are dog lovers - and we've met few dogs as nice as Odie in our B&B travels. And Amitha and Hoppy were wonderful hosts - as was their Mum, who we saw a fair amount of. But really, it was the Asian Fusion breakfast that impressed us - we've had so many disappointments at places claiming to have "gourmet" breakfasts. The Asian Fusion was a rare delight, if you go to Hoppy's and do not have it you are not getting the full experience.

Hoppy's dry sense of humour was a bit off-putting once or twice, but that's standard in the bed and brekfast universe so it can't be said to detract from the place at all!

Room Tip: If you want the Cinnamon Bark room set up as a King instead of two twins, make that extremely clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 599Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you very much for your time in adding a review of your stay at our home this Summer. All our guests are the reason we keep running our B&B year after year and every comment is accepted with thanks and an open mind. Often, our guests make us feel like we've known them for longer than a day or two - simply because they feel relaxed and comfortable in short while. We wish you the best for the rest of the year.

The Hoppys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Need I say more? This was our third stay at this PERFECT B&B. Terence and Amitha as always proved to be the perfect hosts. They had their pool opened for us upon our arrival... it was great relaxation after the 5 hour ride. It was great seeing Odi again. He too was a perfect host-dog. It's as if he remembered us from our previous stays. Breakfasts were as tasty and plentiful as I remembered as were our conversations. We enjoyed Terence's famous Asian Fusion for breakfast on the second morning. We were treated to a feast that started with a glass of watermelon-mint juice... very, very refreshing. We hated to see our stay come to an end, but are looking forward to our next visit. Hey! When you find a WINNER you stay with it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 23MJC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

We at Hoppys always feel we did something right when our friends (guests) take the time from usually a busy period on their return home to add a review on TA

We don't take anything for granted and try our best every time to make all of our guests feel at home in ours.

We wish you the best for the rest of the year and also a wonderful Fall

The Hoppys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We went to Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast in August 2013 for 8 nights. The owners Terence & Ametha were so wonderful. Every day's breakfast was such a wonderful treat. I have a 7 year old son who is very fussy but Terence worked with him to make sure that he had plenty to eat every morning. Terence & Ametha were very helpful in regards to information for other restaurants and activities in the area. Their home is very clean and the beds were very comfortable. I would highly recommend this bed & breakfast and hopefully someday I will be able to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

You and your friends were refreshing breath of fresh air and we loved every minute of your stay.After a couple of days it was like having family again

Do have a good one and we hope to see you again sometime

Thank you for coming back again and again

The Hoppys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hoppy's and cannot say enough about the delicious, creative, beautiful (and plentiful) breakfasts. This put the NOTL restaurants we ate at to shame. After a restful night's sleep, we couldn't wait to see and taste what Terence had prepared--he is a true 5-star chef! My husband is finicky about how he likes his eggs prepared, but Terence delivered them perfectly. Amitha and Terence are gracious hosts and we truly enjoyed our conversations with them. Their home is spotless, our Cinnamon room had extra amenities (e.g., a variety of toiletries befitting a drugstore, slippers and bathrobes), the pool was clean and refreshing. We also appreciated the use of 2 bikes during our stay. We feel like we've made new friends and will definitely stay here again if we're ever in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wguruwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Hi there, First of all thank you for staying with us and also for giving us top marks in your review. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to say something about your visit.

Have a safe one

The Hoppys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very welcoming hosts - the iced white tea with fresh mint on a hot day was an excellent way to start our stay. The breakfasts were great. The Canadian breakfast as well done with home baked banana great an home made jam but the Asian fusion breakfast was outstanding. The en-suite room we stayed in was well decorated and had lovely deep pile carpet. The no shoe rule was a good idea as it means that the house remains extremely clean and the carpets are lovely to walk on. The swimming pool is well kept and very warm with a cover on it when not in use but this can be removed at any time, including before breakfast for swimming addicts like me.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppys, Owner at Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

A short but appreciative thank you for taking the time to review our place on TA. As always, we appreciate feed back and helps others decide as to where they want to stay.

Have a safe one

The Hoppys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
3.9 mi away
A La Gallarie Bed and Breakfast
A La Gallarie Bed and Breakfast
#154 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
15 reviews
1.1 mi away
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
#1 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
708 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#3 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,390 reviews
7.2 mi away
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
White Oaks Conference Resort & S...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5,096 reviews
1.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppy's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 800 Charlotte St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £59 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoppy's Bed and Breakfast, A hidden gem, far from the crowds but still within 2 min drive. Experienced chef, grat gourmet breakfasts with a wide choice. Library, solar heated pool, and all the nice extra touches you expect only at larger hotels. Our promise! You will want to come back to us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing