We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Getaway”
Review of Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orchid Inn
Certificate of Excellence
kingston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easter Getaway”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I and two teenagers stayed at the Orchid Inn for two nights over Easter. Both rooms were spotless, with excellent bathrooms and lovely fireplaces in the bedrooms. The beds were very comfortable, and we were happy that we could open the windows, as is was mild enough out.The breakfasts both mornings were served at 9am, and were delicious, and not run-of-the-mill. Omelettes with asparagus and cheese one morning, and gourmet poached eggs the next. Both days the breakfast included fresh squeezed orange juice, freshly baked breakfast cake, and fresh fruit, along with a good endless cup of coffee. The service was very friendly and efficient, by the owner herself. We also elected to have dinner at Ginger, the Inn's restaurant, on Saturday night. The meals were excellent, as was the service.

Room Tip: We had a front corner room with light from the bathroom window and two large windows in the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
104
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Orchid Inn to celebrate an early Valentine's Day and my birthday and we were so pleased with the room and the excellent, friendly service we received from Cindy, the owner. She is very personable and you can tell she really takes pride in her establishment, which she should, it's a beautiful place! We enjoyed walking along the lakeshore to the downtown area, it was truly beautiful. The Inn was nice and quiet and we loved the fireplace and the big soaker tub, it was very nice and the price was so reasonable, especially for 2 nights! We will definitely stay here again, planning on coming back in the summer time. Cindy is truly wonderful, her service was impeccable and she makes the most amazing breakfasts ever. We really enjoyed our stay and we want to thank you Cindy for your wonderful hospitality :-)

Room Tip: Room #7- Luxury Queen- very nice, the only room with a big soaker tub. Love the fireplace too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Orchid Inn several times during the off-season. It is the only place we stay when in NOTL. Note that room reservations are a two night minimum, but you won’t want to leave any sooner anyway!

Location: Excellent location - two minute drive to downtown NOTL and area wineries, and a two minute walk to Tim Horton’s, the tantalizing baked goods from ‘Willow’, and local gourmet pizza from ‘Rest’.

Rooms: Always spotless. Elegant and simple decor. Minimalist – no phone, full length mirror, coffee maker or iron/ironing board. Beds are super comfy. Water available outside rooms from water cooler.

Ambiance: The Inn is small, so the atmosphere is intimate, but not at all invasive.

Hostess, Cindy: Hostess with the mostest! Delightful, efficient and genuinely engages with patrons. She is a lovely woman who makes returning to the Inn feel like returning to the home of an old friend.

Breakfast: Gourmet, filling and nothing artificial about it. It is a hot meal served at individual tables in the attached restaurant. Charming atmosphere. Starts at 9am, which may be late for those wanting to get on the road early, but the later time encourages a relaxing and leisurely start to the morning. Most wineries don't open until 11 am anyway.

Stop googling for a place to stay in NOTL - just book the Orchid Inn. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: To consider: The walls are fairly thin. Room 7 gets the noise from the stairwell. Room 1 gets the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDD109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a quick romantic getaway. We were treated like royalty from the minute we arrived. Cindy, our host, was gracious and had much pride in her Inn and so she should. It is a quaint little place with big personality. Beautiful rooms, an amazing restaurant, impeccable service and ample parking. On a beautiful day, it is a quick (and scenic) walk to the centre of Niagara-on-the-Lake. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone who wants a true Niagara experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Luxury Queen - and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaHoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Every year we pick a location for a reunion. This year we choose Orchid Inn again after a 3 year hiatus. The Inn offers 9 bedrooms which is just perfect for a group of 15 babyboomers.
We love the peacefulness in the area. Yet we are only minutes away from downtown and the theater.
Owner Cindy is very friendly and helpful. We have breakfast promptly at 9:00 am so that we can venture off to our walk around. We have dinner at Ginger Restaurant downstairs. The meal is delicious and Chef Thayne caters to everyone's preference. What a treat!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmontonAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This inn is incredible. My wife and I went there for our first wedding anniversary. The exterior of the establishment is inviting and quaint. There is ample parking for guests of the inn and the lovely adjacent restaurant. I must say that the nicest part of the inn is the owner Cindy. She is so kind, well informed, and just a pleasure to be around. We stayed in the only ground level room, which is an accessible room, but completely met our needs. The room was a good size and having our own bathroom was a must. Each morning Cindy would home cook all the residence an amazing breakfast, which was far beyond your normal Continental breakfast. The Orchid Inn has the luxury of a hotel, but the warm feeling of a B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdamiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Do you want comfortable accommodation in a location which provides easy access to the all the theatres and with absolutely amazing breakfasts which vary daily? Would you like exceptional service from an accommodating owner? All at reasonable cost? If so, this is the place for you. Our small group loves Cindy and her Inn and would not even consider staying anywhere else. And there is a bonus, in the form of the number one restaurant in town, Ginger's, right on the premises. No reasonable person could ever be disappointed to stay at the Orchid Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KASTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.9 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#3 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
523 reviews
0.9 mi away
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
#2 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
696 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#10 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Finlay House
Finlay House
#50 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Butler Creek Hot Tubs and Suites Bed and Breakfast
Butler Creek Hot Tubs and Suites...
#83 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Inn

Property: Orchid Inn
Address: 390 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 9-room family run Inn. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms, fireplace, and television. Complimentary wi-fi included with room bookings. Fully served breakfast included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing