We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”
Review of Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchid Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stopped in Niagara-on-the-Lake for one night and plan on returning soon. Particularly, we would choose to stay here at The Orchid Inn.
The proprietor of the Orchid Inn is just the most hospitable individual I have met whilst traveling. Cindy was absolutely amazing during our stay. Friendly, helpful, and seemingly just plain happy that you have chosen to stay with her. Upon check-in, she was even polite and sensitive enough to ask what we liked for breakfast or didn't like! She wanted us to be happy with her breakfast the following morning.
The weekend that we chose to visit found us without many options to stay as the small, quaint town was rather busy. We were referred to Cindy by Barb Zimmerman at Lakeside Pottery. (Another fabulous experience but that's another review.) We are so glad we wandered into Lakeside Pottery this trip.
We were greeted by the very friendly Cindy and shown to our room. Room #9 was a pleasant experience. It was very clean and inviting. Clearly, Cindy takes pride in her business as the room and the building itself were very well taken care of. She even included shampoo, conditioner, and body wash for our stay.
The stay was nice and quiet even though it is off the main road with the single light in town.
Our stay did include breakfast and we were incredibly surprised with the presentation. Cindy took time and made every guest their breakfast and had tables set up in her restaurant for each room. She served us our breakfast and was enjoyable to talk to.
The entire process of check-in and out was quick and easy. Cindy makes you feel as though you are part of her extended family. And this is why we will absolutely recommend her B&B and stay with her each time we visit.
Thank you Orchid Inn and Cindy for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2GirlsAndaJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

Booked two hours before arriving. From our first impression on the phone, to checkout the next day, we experienced a friendly, gracious host. The privacy of an inn with the personal care of a B&B. A 13 minute walk to Queen St with lot of residential architecture to enjoy along the way. We'd do it all over again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel-lite_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

To start our fabulous weekend get away we were greeted at the door by Cindy Chung owner, she is an excellent hostess. We booked room #5 a few months in advance for 3 night stay. Beautiful room, quiet & relaxing long weekend. King size bed with en suite. Booked in on Thursday afternoon & enjoyed a fantastic meal at the Ginger Restaurant. Wonderful selection for fine dining in both food, wine & beer.
The full breakfast included was phenomenal, each morning we were given a large bowl of fruit, juice, unlimited coffee & tea and the first morning we were served scrambled egg with french toast, the next morning an everything omelet with toast & the last morning poached eggs on toast with chicken & cream sauce. It was one of the best weekends my husband and I have enjoyed in a long time. We highly recommend a visit to Niagara on the Lake with a stay at the Orchid Inn.

Room Tip: This Inn is not downtown, it is in a quiet area that starts on Mary Street and then turns into Lakes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pm-jm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My husband and I have been here 3 times and have had a great time all three times. Cindy is so kind and welcoming and truly makes you feel at home. The food is out of this world. We had the crab cakes for the first time this past visit, and I have been dreaming about them since we got home. This is a great location, food to die for and a great host. What more could you want for a weekend away. We will see you again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marnie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

The service here is better than Vintage Inns and half the price! Rooms are clean, well kept, quiet and the owners are fantastic. Like a B&B but hotel privacy. Close to Stone Road Grille and downtown. Very accommodating and includes breakfast for 135 (winter rate).
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allthatwanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Great Place to stay when visiting Niagara-On-the-Lake. Congenial staff, clean rooms, and a first class restaurant make the stay very pleasant. Not very fancy but it's not needed if you want comfortable accomodations and a Bed and Breakfast that also serves dinner. The breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This was our first trip to Niagara On The Lake and we loved it! We stayed with Cindy at the Orchid Inn not knowing much about the Inn. What a wonderful experience. The breakfasts were incredible. We felt like we had our own personal chef. When you stay with Cindy, you definitely feel like an honored guest at her Inn. I can't wait until we can go back again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
1.7 mi away
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard
#12 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
482 reviews
0.7 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
501 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,820 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,243 reviews
1.2 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Inn

Address: 390 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £115 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 9-room family run Inn. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms, fireplace, and television. Complimentary wi-fi included with room bookings. Fully served breakfast included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing