We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Orchid Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchid Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Orchid Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Orchid Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at the Orchid Inn B&B in Niagara-on-the-Lake. The staff were personable and the inn was well-maintained. We went for a walk in this tranquil neighbourhood before settling into the dining room for a tasty breakfast. Fresh cake each morning, healthy serving of fresh fruit and delicious eggs with toast served differently each day. All in all great service with thoughtful touches like umbrellas and magazines. Close enough to town to walk or a short hop by car. Go and enjoy the peace and quiet with easy access to shopping in town and shows at the Shaw Festival.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which has ample space for a relaxing stay. Comfortable king size bed and sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
101
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My Dad and I just stayed here for 5 nights. He had a great room on the ground level which is handicap accessible and I had a wonderful room upstairs with a large soaking tub. Everything is spotless and the beds are very comfortable. The wireless internet was also very reliable the whole time, something hard to find traveling sometimes. We've never been to this charming town before so we didn't know what to expect. We are SO glad we chose to stay at Orchid Inn. There's a great walk that Cindy (owner) can point you too that brings you along the lake and down to the historic downtown. Cindy was amazing, always so happy and cheerful. The Chinese Fusion restaurant attached to the Inn is phenomenal, and the breakfasts!!! Neither of us had ever been to an Inn or B&B with better breakfast, and it was something different every morning. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBarrymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed the weekend and really enjoyed the Orchid Inn. Super-clean rooms! Ours had a fireplace and a lovely seating area. Cindy does a great job with breakfast, which was more substantial than I expected. We were there in the off season and therefore got a great rate. Would recommend to others and rebook in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Connie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My friends and I had an excellent stay at Orchid Inn. Cindy, the owner is wonderful; very friendly, accommodating, and runs the place like clockwork.

Check-in was quick and CIndy was very helpful with all our inquiries. Room decor is simple and contemporary, the rooms were spotless, beds are comfortable and the ensuite bathrooms have good water pressure. Breakfast, which is included in the price, was delicious. We didn't get a chance to try Ginger Restaurant for dinner but we heard good things about it from a couple of people we met at the local pub so we will definitely try it out next time. One small area for improvement is that the towels could use replacing but everything else about this inn is fantastic. Great value and outstanding service. We've already booked our summer visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkirk, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at the Orchid Inn on a Fall weekend, and can only rave about the experience. We liked the location, 'far from the madding crowd', but not too far from restaurants and shopping. The many local wineries are also easily accessible from there

The small B & B is owned by the congenial Cindy Chung whose great personality made our stay very special. Upon arrival, Cindy greeted us like long-lost friends and, for 2 days, made us feel like we did not want to leave.

The Orchid Inn is a small facility run with efficiency and professionalism. There was nothing special about the room we stayed in, but everything in it was squeaky clean and the bed very comfortable. It was delightful to sleep on freshly ironed sheets and pillowcases. The ground floor room we requested was of easy access, and the washroom,'senior friendly' and perfect for us. Having Wi-Fi in the room was definitely a plus.

We had dinner at Ginger's restaurant the first night, and found the menu prices comparable to any other nice dining facilities. Our skilled waiter (Cindy's son, Seth) treated us in a friendly, but very professional manner.The food was delicious, and we tasted the local wines for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed them. We also loved the daily breakfasts, freshly prepared by Cindy, and served punctually at 9 a.m.

Staying at a nice, friendly B & B rather than a hotel, made all the difference in our visit to NotL. We highly recommend the Orchid Inn, but suggest you reserve early as there are only 9 rooms and we heard they book quickly. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you are an older couple, you may want to reserve the only ground floor room much in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

The Inn is located away from the busy traffic of 'downtown' Main Street but still within walking distance to visit the cute and high quality shops.
Orchid Inn is a family run inn with professional standard. The rooms are clean and cosy with comfortable beds and nicely pressed linen. Each room has good bath and shower facilities. Inn owner Cindy makes great breakfast served in a spacious dining room. Ginger Restaurant attached to the Inn provides first class fusion food at affordable prices for dinners. Spacious parking area makes it a plus to customers using wheelchairs.
It is an ideal place for long or short stay with more privacy than a B&B and more homely than a hotel. Advanced booking is recommended when I saw walk-in customers got turned away for a full house.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThompsonChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had a really nice stay, showing around some NOTL newbies. Less than ten rooms at this Inn; breakfast is included. Greeted at check-in by Cindy, who was a delight. She made the breakfasts for everyone each day. Very tasty and a great way to start off a long day of wine tasting. The rooms are motel-like; nothing special but clean and good enough for sleeping. Inexpensive and good location. Recommended for those who want to stay closer to NOTL yet not rent a house or stay in a B&B.

Room Tip: They're all pretty much the same. Cindy showed us the available rooms upon arrival and let us ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A2JetSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#11 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.9 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#5 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Butler Creek Hot Tubs and Suites Bed and Breakfast
Butler Creek Hot Tubs and Suites...
#84 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clover Field House
The Clover Field House
#95 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Historic Lyons House
Historic Lyons House
#35 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kellar House
Kellar House
#55 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Inn

Property: Orchid Inn
Address: 390 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 9-room family run Inn. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms, fireplace, and television. Complimentary wi-fi included with room bookings. Fully served breakfast included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing