We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant memory of a lazy (early) summer day”

Trius Winery Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Trius Winery Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$52 - US$153
Cuisines: Canadian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Hillebrand Winery Restaurant celebrates the relationship between our land, our people, our wines and our food. Chef Frank Dodd showcases locally inspired cuisine made with ingredients from the bounty of Niagara Wine Country, and Winemaker Craig McDonald pairs them with wines made from grapes that grow in the same soil. Extend your stay in Wine Country, and allow us to arrange a private tasting in our Collector's Boutique or another Winery Experience prior to your meal.
singapore
Level Contributor
310 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Pleasant memory of a lazy (early) summer day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

You don't need to be a wino to love this place - the food is good, the atmosphere great for wine country. My wife and I had lunch here a dozen years ago. Neither the view nor the food quality had changed. The 3 course lunch menu costs C$50, wine excluded with plenty of both food and wines to choose from. A glass of Hillebrand sparkling wine freshens up the palate even as it mellows you from the shoulder tensions fro driving the QEW down. And oh, it's included in the lunch so relax. The Ontario Pork Chop took the top prize between our entrees (A-) with the high quality meat able to withstand a lot of culinary abuse and still wins a smile on your face. Breaded chicken panini was really chicken sandwich in fancy Italian with a piece of ham that lifted it to a pleasant grade (B). Appetizers of scallops and tomato soup were excellent (both A-). The real winner was my Pecan Tart with caramel sauce (A+). Forget the cloying overly sweet goo, the sauce here was easily spreadable and added value to nicely baked Pecans with a crunchy crust. The Hilldebrand wines were serviceable and even tasted fine when the food was this good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    116
    43
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch at Trius”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Sunday lunch was more like a dinner - no one had room for dessert after two courses - but our meals were very good, An appetizer of local asparagus drew favourable comments, as did the salmon with broccoli pasta entree. One test of a restaurant's capability is the way the kitchen prepares salmon, and this salmon was competently prepared, as were the meals of everyone at our table. We followed the recommended wine pairings for each course - perhaps that is why no one wanted dessert. Our server was very capable and cheerfully endured a certain amount of good-natured teasing from one member of our party. Although the dining room is quite large, it isn't too noisy because the tables are well spaced, and the ambience is pleasant with big windows overlooking the neighbouring vineyards. Trius is a good place to stop for a meal or tasting when touring the Niagara wineries, but like other restaurants in the area, the food prices are not cheap.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wynyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I had a very nice dinner at Trius. While the food was not something that we would typically experience we figured to give it a try. We both were very pleased. IT is a little artsy and different, but give it a try...some of the flavors that are developed are amazing. Overall the food was very good and it was just what we needed that evening after hitting the wine trail. Service here was at its best. Our host was very friendly and the servers went beyond to make us comfortable with the menu and offered many worthwhile suggestions. We are from the US and when we went to pay our bill the credit was denied. OUr server made no issue with that and along with the host took care of us and helped us get things situated with the credit company. Probably happens all the time, but nevertheless, it was handled in stride with no contempt. Well done.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hemo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beyond the Call”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The occasion was my fiancé's birthday, and it was my second visit to this fabulous restaurant and winery. The staff here goes to extraordinary lengths to make sure your dining experience is wonderful. I slipped the good folks at Trius the tidbit that we were celebrating a birthday, and of course, she was wished birthday greetings upon our arrival.

I will start with the wine. We ordered a bottle of Trius Cabernet Sauvignon. And to our amazement, our server came out with a decanter that measured nearly 3 feet tall. One of only 10 in Canada, the Cobra Verde decanter (named because it is green and coiled like its namesake) made by Reidel -- is a piece of art. Our server told us it takes about 2 hours of practice just to learn how to pour wine from it. The cabernet was smooth and full-bodied.

Make a special request and the good folks at Trius are all over it. On my previous visit, one of our diners in our group of 4, requested gluten-free and dairy-free offerings. The staff made sure her wishes were fulfilled. That evening they prepared excellent dishes that were not on the menu just for her.

On this visit, my fiancé chose the open-mushroom ravioli appetizer, while I had smoked salmon. But I had a special request before the appetizer came out -- and that was to take a peek at the winery barrel room. Much to our surprise and delight, Chris, our knowledgeable server, went out of his way to give us a mini tour of not only the barrel room, but the storage area where he showed us where more than 475,000 bottles of wine wait until they are ready to be released.

And then he took us down to the lower room of the operation and there, behind a huge wooden door. was "the library" a special barreling room where vintages are kept and sometimes exclusive private parties are held. This amazing wood-posted cavern, lined with barrels and bottles, reminded me of a medieval banquet hall.

Chris told us he had to get back upstairs to tend to his other guests, and, after making sure we knew how to get back ourselves, he left us on our own -- to our amazement and delight. It was only moments after we returned to our table, that our tasty appetizers arrived.

For our main course, we both ordered rack of lamb. It was served with a stuffed herb and mushroom pastry, and it was as succulent as it was beautifully presented. For dessert we enjoyed an excellent cheese tray (all locally sourced) with breads and jams.

Last, but not least, this contemporary dining room features ceiling-to-floor length windows that showcase the vineyard, which appears to stretch all the way to the horizon. Be prepared to invest a little time for your meal -- this three-course affair took two hours from start to finish. But the time seemed to pass quickly without gaps in service -- and the dining room was comfortable, and the music and atmosphere most enjoyable.

A final word of advice...If you have a special request, ask -- the Trius folks will go out of their way to fulfill it.

Thank you Trius for one of our best dining experiences -- ever.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Server is Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have been to this restaurant 5 to 6 time in the past ten years. Thing had been change from time to time. The servers still excellent. However I did expect the portion are very small. You can easily finish a 3 Courses meal. I went with my Wife and Daughter. All of us having a good time.
A family of 3 can have two Five Courses Meal with an addition main course.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trius Winery Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Trius Winery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing