We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above our expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hob Nob Restaurant

Hob Nob Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hob Nob Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$43
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Simcoe St
Description: The HobNob restaurant & wine bar serves contemporary French cuisine with a regional flare. The restaurant features breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Visit the dining room, lounge, wine bar or fully licensed patio where you can enjoy a wide range of delicacies accompanied by a vast selection of Niagara wines. The Charles Hotel dining room has been recommended in publications such as Gourmet Magazine, Wine Spectator and Toronto Life and is the proud recipient of the CAA Four Diamond Award as well as the VQA Gold Award of Excellence.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Above our expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

I must say that this is one of the top choices of restaurants for my wife and myself. We had one day at Niagara-on-the-lake and just picked this restaurant at random. The ambience was good and the quality of food was simply excellent! Appetizers, entree and deserts were all great!
We will certainly head back to this place if we ever return!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    201
    85
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Another Wonderful Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Being our third wedding anniversary, and being the third time to the Charles, I was worried of falling into a routine. This was not the case. The fall menu had just been introduced. We started with a delicious cucumber soup. The duck and salmon entrees were amazing. Both entrees were cooked in a style that has given us a new appreciation to meats that were typically tormented by my mother looking to create a non-typical Sunday night dinner. Wait staff suggested a pinot noir that was the perfect match for both entrees. Staff didn’t rush our meal, all the dishes came at the right moment, and we still had ample time to make it to the Shaw. Definitely will book again, and hopefully before the fourth anniversary. thank you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peteandkim_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We were very impressed by the food at this restaurant. The presentation was awesome. Services was not the best as the waiter in our section ignored us and we had to ask another waiter to wait on us. We were with a tour of 14 so not sure why we were not served at first. The locations is beautiful

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank christiner754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
324 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Place in Niagara on the Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

During a recent October trip to NotL we had the pleasure of dining at The Charles Inn. The atmosphere was very elegant, quiet and a most enjoyable setting to celebrate a wedding anniversary or other special occassion. The wait person was most knowledgeable about the menu as well as their wine list. The Back of the House is spectacular! The presentation of the meal was only exceeded by it's taste. This restaurant's fare would rival Tour D'Argent and Auberge d'Ill !

One can not go wrong dining at this establishment! The Charles Inn also has overnight accomadations where were very nice as well as located in walking distance to all of Niagara on the Lake.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garnett h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We went here with a gift card that provided for some wine tasting to start, unrestricted choice of appetizer, main and desert from the current menu, plus a special item prepared by the chef between the appetizer and main entree. The service was excellent. They explained, in detail, each element of each food item that was being served. We sat out on the enclosed porch and it was an excellent experience overall.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CdnTrvlr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hob Nob Restaurant also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Hob Nob Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing