We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quints Were Rare Then”

Dionne Quints Museum
Ranked #4 of 39 things to do in North Bay
Attraction details
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Quints Were Rare Then”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Truly a look back in history to a time when quintuplets were considered abnormal. The Dionne family was destitute and quintuplets were an extreme burden but the public interest in this freak happening was extremely intrusive. The fact that all 5 survived and all became nuns is an interesting story.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    11
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I was in awe”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

After receiving an outstanding tour of the museum from one of the Chamber tour guides, I was completely in awe of the quaint farm house that once housed the quintuplets and their family. There is so much history in that small farm house and it is so well preserved.

I hung on to every word the guide said as the story and artefacts are fascinating. I actually didn't want to leave as I wanted to learn more about the farmhouse and the family history.

Thank you for making it a highlight of my business trip. If I am ever in the area again, I will make sure that I re visit the farm house to learn even more interesting facts.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank StillHoneymooners20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great ltiile attraction”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Considering the age of this home, it is quit interesting to see how much has been preserved from such a long time ago. Nice articles to look at. Not a very long tour so don't plan hours into your trip but well worth it. A piece of history.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JillMarch2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“heart warming!”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Just felt very good to be in this building and think back to when they were all living in here.Although the home has been moved to this property, it is still wonderful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank foodperson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temiskaming Shores, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating History well presented”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Historically interesting from a bygone era. The path up to the original house has a plaque placed by Dionne sisters when they visited as adults, which causes one to pause and think. It is quite moving and tastefully done. The memorabilia in the main building, the friendliness and courtesy of the staff, and the old movie made for a delightful experience. There is a fee if you wish to take the original house tour. The rest is free. Nice picnic tables with shade.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller183459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dionne Quints Museum also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Dionne Quints Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing