We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B where the house is all yours to enjoy!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oshawa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anderson House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Oshawa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Previous TripAdvisor high ratings are spot on — warm, welcoming Victorian B&B with open concept large main floor set on a picturesque country setting; manicured lawns and pond. Family of 4 we all throughly enjoyed this B&B. Easy to get to from Toronto. Parking on premises. Easy drive to Port Perry for dinner or Lake Ontario for sand and beach (15 minutes).

Liz welcomed us smiling from her front porch at the pre-appointed time — lovely grand porch with porch swing, couches and small bistro tables! Very friendly, courteous when taking initial phone call for reservations; flexible; accommodating to our needs. After a great meet, greet, and inform, we were given front door key and then were free to unwind, relax and enjoy the space. Grand piano a plus to enjoy!

FOUR Bedrooms — Liz accommodated our needs upon arrival, letting us pick which room we wanted (no other guests has booked for that night). If you are mobility-challenged, the Bridal Suite (largest room) is the only room Main Floor.
2ND FLOOR - small common area reading nook and hallway access to 3 rooms. ROOM 1 - bright, pretty smaller room w/ Double Bed for a teenage daughter and large 4-piece ensuite bathroom. ROOM 2- Country charm suited 10 year old son, double ded, that adjoins to Room 1.

BRIDAL SUITE on main level comes with fireplace, jacuzzi and 2 sets of double doors that open to patio decked out with tables, chairs and view of green corn fields to the north. Private, very quiet location. Spacious! bright! Victorian decor, immaculate, well-appointed suite. Large 3-piece bathroom. Toiletries provided in pretty vanity boxes on counter. Plenty of closet space; mini-bar fridge with complimentary water bottles chilled upon arrival.

What we didn't expect — was to have access to the entire house. Owners, Liz and James reside in a separate house on the property. Even if other guests had stayed, the open concept main floor has plenty of nooks for those seeking conversation or alone time. Grand piano took centre stage. Both children opted to stay indoors just to play! Easy drive to Port Perry for dinner (Pickles & Olives Bistro excellent!!) or for sand and beach afternoon at Lake Ontario. Friendly dog on premises.

Having a business event early in the morning, Liz accommodated the time schedules for breakfast. Kids stayed behind and very comfortable playing piano, hunting for frogs or taking pictures. We loved it! Thank you, Liz and James, for treating us like family!!

Room Tip: The Bridal Suite is only bedroom on Main Floor; largest room. 3 Rooms on 2nd floor, smaller scale wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank LifeTravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth A, Owner at Anderson House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review and post such great pictures! It is truly appreciated. Hopefully, we can accommodate you and your family again in the near future.
All the best!
James and Liz Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Myself and seven of my girlfriends spent a relaxing weekend at Anderson House Bed and Breakfast. The bedrooms were all beautifully decorated and comfortable. Liz and James were amazing hosts! We were served snacks on Friday evening, three amazing meals on Saturday and a great breakfast Sunday morning. We have already booked 3 more weekends and plan to go back regularly. The house itself is beautifully decorated with amazing seasonal decorations (Easter this trip!). Liz and James gave so much attention to detail. We felt like we were being served at an upscale restaurant rather than a bed and breakfast. Liz and James have built a home that feels like you've stepped back in time. The furniture and accents are antique pieces and eclectic collectibles.

Room Tip: Choose the Bridal suite if you have difficulty on stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liketobehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this Bed & Breakfast which was a first for us, but we will stay there before a hotel in the future. Great owners, great rooms, & great food . If you are lucky enough to get to stay there around Christmas time the decorations are amazing.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Anderson House Bed and Breakfast was amazing! I booked the B&B for the evening prior to my wedding. My bridesmaids and I stayed the night and then had the hairdresser, makeup artist and photographer meet us there. Liz and Jamie took care of everything and truly added to the day! For breakfast they made the most adorable heart shaped french toast with icing sugar, strawberries, and fresh maple syrup! For lunch we had a delicious spread of sandwiches, croissants, meats, and cheeses. The couple was so welcoming and accommodating, I would recommend this B&B to any bride wanting a stress free day or anyone just looking for a great B&B!
Truly can't thank them enough for their hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A fabulous B&B with beautiful surroundings and manicured lawns and gardens. A quiet and convenient location minutes away from everything. The rooms are large and elegant, all decorated with beautiful antiques, soft towels, comfortable beds and ensuites. Liz and Jamie are delightful hosts and you are made to feel welcome from the moment you enter their home. We had a very long stay at this 'home away from home' and enjoyed every moment from the gourmet breakfasts, the inviting outdoor areas, Eugene the very loving pet and sharing a glass of wine at the end of the day on the front porch with our charming hosts. We could have stayed for ever! Thank you Liz and Jamie for your outstanding hospitablity and for sharing your beautiful home. N & L Australia

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travell011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This B&B is a hidden gem. It is a beautiful home in a rural setting that offers peace and quiet but is just minutes away from all necessities and great restaurants. Liz is one of the best B&B hosts we have had the pleasure of meeting. Her attention to detail is impeccable and her breakfasts are absolutely delicious! Truly a great place to get away and relax.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This was my first experience at a B & B. I have stayed a a few since due to recent travel but this place has put me off hotel rooms FOREVER!. Why would anyone want to stay anyplace else. We stayed at Christmas time. I recommend the Christmas booking as you simply Must See! this Santas Village for adults. It is a feast for the eyes. The place is so beautifully decorated I was in awe. My room was the most comfortable I have ever enjoyed, anywhere. It was spacious, pin clean, with gorgeous antiques and a bathroom separate from the wash basin and mirror. I was alone, but this is a real plus, when travelling as a couple. This would be a fabulous place for a wedding. We arranged a dinner here which needed to follow specific dietary guidelines. All was taken care of. Breakfast was wonderful as well. This place was top notch! All the excellent reviews of this stunning Bed and Breakfast are well earned and deserved. Book with confidence! Thanks so much for making my stay so fabulous, XO, V : )

Room Tip: Try the jacuzzi suite on the main floor. I will be booking that one next time. My room was upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oshawa hotels
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown - Toronto Area
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Oshawa
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Oshawa
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oshawa
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 120 Columbus Rd W, Oshawa, Ontario L1H 7K4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Oshawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Oshawa
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian Home set in the quaint Village of Columbus.Four beautifully appointed rooms all with private en-suites and mini fridges. Located within minutes of numerous golf courses, Durham College and UOIT. Specializing in memorable Wedding Packages designed to suit your needs. Bride and Bridesmaid pre-slumber, use of our unique dressing area for make-up, coiffure, etc., Use of house and grounds for photos, wedding night accommodations, and rehearsal dinners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anderson House Bed & Breakfast Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing