We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed for 70 days-staff treated us like strangers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed for 70 days-staff treated us like strangers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is solely motivated by money. Customer service is 0. They knowingly allow prostitutes to book rooms on the first floor. These woman then write their room numbers in chalk on wall outside for their customers. Classy. Staff told us that. Would never go back. Staff is unpleasant and rude. We were given dirty looks constantly. General manager needs to trained in P.R. . We spent over$6000. Hotel refused to give better price. We left there and went to another hotel till our house was ready. Far better and nicer staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    237
    143
    61
    65
See reviews for
253
118
45
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the 3rd floor from Thurs-Sunday. The hotel is pet friendly which we needed. When we booked the room the lady who answered was very helpful with my specific requirements. The front desk staff when we checked in were "ok"...not that friendly. I found out later that CAA members get a little discount. They never told me that but when we went down they adjusted the rate. The pool was NASTY. It was extremely cloudy. Bathing suits/pool smelt like mold or strong algae. Told the manager the next day who I felt was just leaving & not really listening. He said the maintenance guy will do it. I asked to speak with him. The maintenance guy asked tbe Manager if he should shut down the pool while treating it. Um.....you're leaving it with him to test & make sure its good when he doesn't know that you have to shut it down when you shock it? It was a bit better the next day but not a lot better. They really need to ensure its clean seeing as so many people swim in there AND they book swim parties. I'd never book one there in a million years after what I experienced. The breakfast was ok. Nothing spectacular but it wasn't bad. The room we had was a suite with 2 queens and a kitchenette. It was stocked with all the dishes you need for 4 people. It had a stove a microwave a fridge and a dishwasher. Even had a table with 3 chairs. The beds were very comfortable!! That was a surprise. Normally hotel beds aren't. These were great. Room was really good & should be for the price. The housekeeping staff were great. We couldn't have the room cleaned daily as the animals would freak. We kept it very clean but we left our garbage/towels/recycling outside the door. They would leave us towels on the door or I would visit the cart. They were very accommodating. We were on the end near the exit to the stairs. They need to oil that door! Heard every opening & closing of the door. Squeak! There was loud trucks coming in & out and we could hear them. The weekend front desk staff were great on the checkout. Overall I'd say it was a good place to stay. Average.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtAydin940, General Manager at Travelodge Oshawa Whitby, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Debbie,
I would like to thank you for taking the time and submitting your comments.
We appreciate feedback from our guests, it lets us know how we are doing and what we can do to improve.
Thanks again and look forward to having you in our hotel again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I found the front staff very unapproachable even angry when asked for anything, manager Rosa and maids and cleaners went above and beyond to make stay comfortable was the only thing that made stay bearable. Breakfast on weekend not as advertised, no fresh fruit or oatmeal. Weekend "cook" refused to put out anything but plastic utensils and paper plates ( stated he did not get paid enough to wash dishes). Continually had to have key cards rebooted, and we had 4, every time one card failed to work on room lock staff at front desk would give us two new cards which would be fine but this deactivated ANY cards that were activated now making all but the 2 new ones active. Four adults in a kitchenet suite and all working different hours deactivating cards meant so one was being awakened to let someone into room after they went to bed. Forget about printing on the hotel computer as was told they do not supply paper, even told to go to Walmart to buy some paper.

Room Tip: Not the ground floor if you are a non smoker, or don't want to hear the parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charris0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtAydin940, General Manager at Travelodge Oshawa Whitby, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Charris,
I want to thank you for taking the time and submitting your comments.
We appreciate feedback from our guests, as it lets us know how we are doing and what we can do to improve our services.
I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us, these issues have been passed on to the correct departments.
Once again thank you and hope you will consider staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We love this place as our spring board to Toronto. Close to the GO train. Love the breakfast. The pool upgrade was excellent. The room was clean and comfortable. Love the granite countertops in the bathroom. A great stay. For the price, we will be back!

Room Tip: Room 220 was lovely!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kathip03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oshawa
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown - Toronto Area
Quality Suites
#2 of 7 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Oshawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Residence Inn Whitby
#1 of 7 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Oshawa Whitby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Oshawa Whitby

Property: Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Address: 940 Champlain Avenue, Oshawa, Ontario L1J 7A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Oshawa > Vanier
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Oshawa Whitby 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Oshawa Whitby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby Hotel Oshawa
Whitby Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Oshawa
Oshawa Travel Lodge
Oshawa Travelodge
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing