We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sexual harassment”
Review of BeaverTails

BeaverTails
Ranked #1 of 192 Quick Bites in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Byward Market Area
Description: Iconic Canadian fried pastries with decadent toppings.
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

Whilst sitting at the "bar" at Beavertails, a homeless appearing man came and sat next to me trying to beg. When I refused to give him all the pastry I had bought, he started sexially harassing me. I was just about to call the police when a member of staff came and asked me ”is this cool?" As if!

When I said not, he walked the man away, listening to more abusive remarks directed at me as he did so.

Although many of the staff witnessed this no one checked that I was okay.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank mathcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,472 - 1,476 of 2,623 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

It's priced more towards tourists around C$4 or higher (a la carte), but it's not anything most people will do at home -- it involves deep-frying dough. So maybe the price wasn't that steep.

If you choose any beaver tail with jam, Nutella, fruits, or cream in it, then it can get greasy. The original cinnamon sugar type is also pretty good.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Beaver Tails are such a treat. Pastry that has various toppings. If you have just had your main meal, this can be dessert.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fran302015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

What can I possibly say about Beaver Tails... other than fried dough flattened and covered in goodness. Love the lemon with cinnamon sugar. So good and well worth visiting when walking around. Anytime of year is great.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank joeorourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Great hot treats, and a place to sit and enjoy friends. The staff were fun and friendly,and the service was delightful. Food amazing!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nigthout
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed BeaverTails also viewed

 

Been to BeaverTails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.