We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't know what to expect”
Review of BeaverTails

BeaverTails
Ranked #1 of 192 Quick Bites in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Byward Market Area
Description: Iconic Canadian fried pastries with decadent toppings.
Reviewed 14 July 2016

When a friend said I must have a beaver tail when in Ottawa I didn't know what to expect but this pastry based treat was fabulous! Stick to your ribs kind of fabulous but delicious nonetheless.. I opted for chocolate and banana.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,433 - 1,437 of 2,623 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2016

If you ever have the opportunity to experience skating in the Rideau Canal during Winterfest, make sure you indulge in a scrumptious Beaver Tail from the little hut along the canal. There are so many flavors and toppings to choose from and the taste is so mouth watering it will have you coming back for more. Never mind the calories and fat grams, just enjoy the total experience. I recommend it whole-heartedly.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arby48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2016

You have to try a Beaver tail if you're in Ottawa, summer in the market, or winter on the canal! They are so amazing. And they are an Ottawa creation! Yummmmmy!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim and Elizabe... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2016

It had been some time since I had a Beavertail. A few months ago an actress from NY and her friend were visiting Ottawa and we were enjoying drinks in the Byward Market when she said she HAD to have a Beavertail that she heard so much about.

Unfortunately it was after hours and they had to wait until the next day to try the tasty treat and I went without.

On Canada Day however I was able to sink my teeth into one and that first bite had me doing a flashback of times gone by where I enjoyed one on the canal or in the market.

A Canadian icon for sure. Lets keep this one ok eh?

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2016

think of a flat deep fried donut with your choice of topping. It was good but it was a 6 dollar donut plain and simple

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank 933marekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed BeaverTails also viewed

 

Been to BeaverTails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.