We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ottawa Municipal Campground a gem in the crown of our National Capital Region”

Ottawa Municipal Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottawa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ottawa Municipal Campground
Ranked #12 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Ottawa
Reviewed 28 May 2012

If you have not yet visited the Ottawa Municipal Campground you have a wonderful treat in store! The facility itself is absolutely first class, akin to our better provincial partks. Facilities are modern and spotless. Security is first class, friendly and very helpful. Most importantly, the manager (Don) and his wife (Jackie) are true Hall of Famers. That is literally correcto f Don who played for the Montreal alouettes and is being inducted into the St. Mary's University Hall of Fame this year. But Jackie is a world class performer as well for all the regular campers at the OMC. A friendly welcome, excellent service and a superlative facility awaits us on every visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

It's strange... for the past 4 thanksgivings and May-24 weekends we have camped here with 2 friends of ours and had no problems. I called today to book and was told that we would need to purchase 2 campsites because we have 2 separate accommodations (they have a pop-up trailer and we use a tent). I tried to explain that we have done this before and it was never a problem, and was told that we must have gotten lucky before. The conversation deteriorated quickly from there...

We went to them because, despite not having the best amenities, they were convenient. They've lost 2 trips a year from us... going to find somewhere else to have fun with friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank firechicken123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Ear wig infested, literally thousands crawling on the ground which only further multiply at night. Tons of mosquitoes, insufficient washroom facilities...only two stalls & one shower for all those tent sites! Made to feel like we were being watched...staff kept driving by every 20 minutes and would just stop by the side of the road near site for no apparent reason! And we were not the only ones who felt this way! Felt very surreal...like a movie set! No privacy at all. Should have known something was up with the limited amount of clients staying there and yet so close to the city! Road noise at night makes you feel like you are sleeping right next to the highway...and it never stops ... all night long! The next night was even worst! Was glad to leave. Would have paid $150 dollars a night elsewhere just to forego the whole experience. Something strange is afoot at this campsite! Very bad Karma! :(

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rollingstone111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Great campground, close to everything. Older man in golf cart very rude to my kids when they visited. Been to the campground several times because of the ease and relative closeness. Not wise to bring guests. Agree with all other reviewers, they don't like guests. Also had my dad harassed when he stopped in for 15 min. They came to escort him away after he went past 20 min. Felt like I was in a prison and the warden was not happy with us. No problem whatsoever with the younger staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Camp2194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We have camped all over Canada and Ontario campgrounds are by far the worse but also the most expensive - but this was unacceptable for the capital of Canada and a big disappointment. Don't dare question the staff about anything - you won't hear the end of it. Like they have nothing better to do! Felt harassed. Too bad - could have a good thing going but with their attitude, well they will not be around for long. Nor do they deserve to be. What comes around goes around. Never again,. I've never camped at Walmart but will when we are in Ottawa.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
10  Thank retired2005_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

At first glance, there should be nothing not to love about this place. After a weeks stay there, I can say that all the other reviews were dead on. If you camp here, you will have an economical trip to Ottawa but if you do not possess a trailer with a bathroom, I would think twice.

The laundry facilities were fantastic.

The bugs were unbearable.

The staff tolerated campers and were down right inhospitable to my guests who came to visit for an afternoon (please understand we are a family, it wasn't as though there was drinking or loud behaviour) They simply don't want to be bothered with guests.

The bathrooms were cleaned regularily but there is simply an inadequate number of toilets and showers. The site vs. bathroom ratio is pathetic. There will be three toilets and a shower for forty-fifty sites.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank northernneighbour_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We stayed here mid September and the campground was near deserted. Tent sites are set up across a large field while RV sites are nestled with in the trees. We tented here for a night, the road noise from the highway was pretty loud and often had planes flying over head. Washrooms were clean and usable. Overall, a good economic option if your just staying for one or two nights and spending your time mainly sightseeing in Ottawa.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cujo22gil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Kanata
Brookstreet Hotel
Brookstreet Hotel
#18 of 68 in Ottawa
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanata
TownePlace Suites Ottawa Kanata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottawa Municipal Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottawa Municipal Campground

Address: 411 Corkstown Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K2K 0J5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Ottawa
Number of rooms: 176
Also Known As:
Ottawa Municipal Campground Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing