We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great after a long day...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Traveller's Haven Motel
Ranked #48 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great after a long day...”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

After being in my truck all day, Traveller's Haven was a welcome site. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, shower was hot, and the view was wonderful. I was easily able to pull in with my truck, and it wasn't too far away from my route. I wish I had remembered my swimming trunks, as the pool would have been a perfect way to relax after driving all day.

The rooms were very affordable, and although I left early, there would have been coffee and muffins in the morning.

This motel will definitely be on my list of places to stay if I'm up that way again...or maybe make special trip out with the wife...one never knows.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trucker_John_Ducey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    20
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
17
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our group of 10, mostly old timers had a wonderful time. Service was excellent, staff very friendly. Very cute cabins, clean pool. Owner provided us with a new b.b.q. and all the coffee we wished the next morning. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Extremely comfortable bed. Love the pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavalleybl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is a great place to stay when travelling to Ottawa. Cabins near the Rideau river, a nice alternative to staying in the heart of downtown, while still being minutes away. Owner has clearly done some work here and the rooms are comfortable and CLEAN. Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating, rates are more than reasonable. Surprised to see there aren't many reviews on here - definitely a hidden gem !

Room Tip: Cabins are definitely the way to go for a cozy experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hubby and I spent one night in on of the little cabins and absolutely loved it. The cabin was very clean, the bed really comfortable, nice flat screen tv, mini fridge, microwave, and nice fireplace adding to the ambiance of a little wood cabin. There is no frills here but the price is exactly right at $99 per night, the staff so nice and friendly and I have to add that their complimentary coffee is probably one of the best I have ever had and their muffins absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GardenGrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellersHaven, Owner at Traveller's Haven Motel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
I would like to thank you for your very kind words. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in every way..... from our comfortable beds to your morning coffee and muffins:) I shoud mention that just this week, we had another fireplace installed into another private cabin, and this one's even nicer . I guess you'll just have to visit us again sometime:)...Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I were delighted to stay in a cabin for a weekend. The room was very clean and tidy and we were provided with ample dishes for the kitchenette and towels for showers. The owner and staff provided top notch service. In fact, the owner had just assembled a brand new BBQ the day we arrived and offered it for our usage when we needed it the next night. When we came back from the function we were attending Saturday morning, we found the new BBQ complete with new utensils on our doorstep. All other staff were quite friendly and helpful. The only little negative aspect was the inability for the bathroom fan to exhaust the humid air from showers. The bathroom mirror and windows stayed fogged up for quite a while. This could be a little problematic in winter if you don't want to open the windows.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellersHaven, Owner at Traveller's Haven Motel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
I wanted to thank you for the nice review. We were glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you and your husband again sometime in the near future. I also wanted to thank you for informing us that your bathroom fan was not working properly. I apologize for that and corrected the problem immediately. No more fogged mirrors :) Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Great friendly service. There are plenty of brochures with information to visit the local sites or anything you would like to know about the area. Good price. Best sleep ever in this nice clean queen size bed. Shops & restaurants are just a few miles away. I have no problem with that. The cabin is the best choice. It is quiet and peaceful. There is a large grassy back yard for children to play safely. There is your flat screen tv with lots of stations available, fridge, microwave and let me not forget the air conditioning unit. There is also a large clean shower stall, telephone and alarm clock although you can get a wake up call from the front office.

Obviously I did not verify the reviews for this motel before booking a room. I am glad that I did not. I am shocked to read these negative reviews here now. You cannot possibly be talking about the same Travellers Haven Motel in Ottawa, Ontario. If you were, you should absolutely give this motel another try then because you are missing out.

I will return to this haven whenever I will be in the Ottawa area. Thanks for the experience!

Room Tip: The cabin. Stay in the cabin. There is a picnic table just in front of it. It has a calming effect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UBUBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellersHaven, Owner at Traveller's Haven Motel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
I’m very glad to hear you that you had the ‘best sleep ever’ in one of our private cabins. It was only this summer that we renovated every room and private cabin with brand new furniture and beds. We’ve done a lot more upgrades recently including purchasing large screen 42 inch tv’s in our cabins and 37inch in our rooms. Certainly is nice to hear compliments and that you’ll be back one day. I am sorry for only replying to you now but nevertheless, greatly appreciated your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmes Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The room I stayed in was small, but really all I needed. It had a flat screen tv, fridge and microwave. Everything was very clean and tidy! I usually always pick my motels off tripadvisor and thought I had with this one, but reading the other comments I probably would have avoided it. I'm glad I didn't!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellersHaven, Owner at Traveller's Haven Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Amoep,

We’re glad to read you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your comments. If you enjoyed your stay in May 2013, you’ll be even more impressed now with all of our new upgrades including all new furniture and beds in every room as of August 2013.

We look forward to your next stay with us,

Sincerely yours,

Travellers Haven Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
2.1 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
6.5 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa West
Days Inn - Ottawa West
#43 of 67 in Ottawa
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Airport
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveller's Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Haven Motel

Property: Traveller's Haven Motel
Address: 2747 Prince of Wales Drive | At the Intersection of Fallowfield Road, Ottawa, Ontario K2C 3H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Traveller's Haven Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 28 years, the Travellers Haven motel has been providing clean, comfortable, and affordable accommodations in Ottawa, Ontario. Located near the beautiful Rideau River, we're just a short drive from the city's downtown core. Travellers Haven offers our guests the option between a standard room with a 37" HDTV, or one of our unique private cabins with a 42" HDTV, both including a Rogers HD Digital Box. Some of our private cabins are now available with a fireplace to help you unwind during the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Traveller's Haven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing