We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Great location near shopping, restaurants, with easy access to the highway. The rooms were very big (they are 2-bedroom apartments with eat-in kitchen), and quiet. Free parking, internet (wired only, which is a little frustrating for electronics that don't have an ethernet port), and air-conditioned. The down-side was that it is cleaned by students who don't have an eye for detail....there was a whole bunch of dust and hair around the edges of the bathroom and kitchen floor. Towels were changed and trash emptied daily, but nothing else was touched housekeeping-wise.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

We were shocked by the prices of lodging in Ottawa and turned off by the poor reviews of any which charged $100 or less per night. Here, you get a two bedroom unit with a nice kitchen and bath for $49 ($55 with taxes).

They have internet access (wired only using their supplied Ethernet cable), a large refrigerator/freezer, microwave and sink (but no coffee maker). Breakfast (good selection, but no eggs or hot stuff) is included. Parking is across the street, so schlepping bags is a bit of a challenge.

There is a good desk with large work area and TV in each bedroom -- plenty of closet space. This is not a luxury hotel by any means, but good comfortable lodging on about a 3-star level.

A small convenience store is in the hotel building. Bus service to downtown is a 1/4 mile walk. A very large shopping center with huge supermarket is 3 blocks away. It has drug, liquor, and clothing stores and restaurants. Secure bike storage is available.

The center of downtown is about a 6 mile drive. But be forewarned. Parking during the day is tough to find and expensive ($16 for 12 hours and up).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kidoncorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed here while on a working weekend in Ottawa. Got a rate of $60/night so it was wallet friendly. The location is near Hwy 417 so getting around the city by car is easy. It is part of the Algonquin College Campus and is within easy walking distance to McD's, Tim Hortons, Subway, and the College Centre Shopping Plaza. The rooms themselves are very basic but clean. The a/c, shower, etc worked fine and I appreciated having a full size fridge and microwave in the kitchenette. Each dorm room has 2 bedrooms (each with a double bed) that were comfortable enough to flop on and sleep at the end of my work day. Luxury? No. Would I stay here again? Yes, but only for a business trip when all I require is a roof and a bed. The price was right.

Room Tip: Bring your own food for the kitchenette and skip the "free" continental breakfast.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TimfromOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed at this residence for when The Royals visited Ottawa, Canada. We were not sure if we were going, so basically we lost a lot of options and this place seems to be the only decent place.

This residence is almost half an hour away from downtown by transit. The beds are semi-horrible. You will second guess yourself if the sheets are clean or not. You will also find yourself a shower, no bath. There is also a fridge.

There were two rooms in our unit. Each room has a double bed and a television.

The place is managed by young adults, who are actually very accommodating and seems to do their best to help the people who stays in the residence.

If you linger on the halls of the residence, you will then feel that you are not in a hotel but in a residence since some of the units have students who are either partying hard or busy doing their spring cleaning (well it was spring when we visited).

Room Tip: If you know you will have excessive luggage, choose the rooms that are specifically close to the ele...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErnCasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed here for Canada day. This place is okay for one night. It isn't a hotel, it's a student's residence, so expect to be in a "dorm" type place. Everything was very basic, and pretty clean. I didn't like the kitchens - just too hospital-like. There was a free continental breakfast and free parking, which was a bonus. I think if I really had to, I'd stay here again. Just be aware, this place is not downtown, it's away from the city center (about 20 minute drive or 25 minutes by bus). I know Ottawa, so I didn't find it hard to get downtown. The bus station is across the street...just take #95 or #94 to get directly downtown. There's also a newly built shopping plaza next door and coffee shops and fast food places all within walking distance.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lucky1BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Firstly,we were shocked at the cleanliness of the faciluty. Dirt and food on the
elevator floor on day one was still there on day four. Our room was a two from suite
Aka 2 rooms and small table. Each bedroom had double bed that was sagging.
Springs were shot,impossible to get a good nights sleep. The remote for the 19in
Citizen didn't work even with batteries. The carpet was musty,obviously from the
some student having to much at a kegger. The hallways smelt of curry. Some of the guests
Taking the opportunity to use the full kitchen on each floor. I would not recommend this with kids because of the lack of things for them to do. The bonus! Breakfast is provided
In the main foyer eg. Bagels,cereal,toast ,juice (only water came out when my son wanted some apple). Coffee was something brewed yesterday and warmed up this morning tasting. Being a coffee drinker who knows coffee this blend is very difficult to find. The bagels were okay unless you wanted it toasted. Four household toasters to feed 200 people not going to happen. Room attendants? I was still looking for them on day three. On the first night it was too late to find another hotel, Day 2 (Canada Day) in Ottawa good luck finding a cardboard box to sleep in. Day 3 was about to find a new hotel but I was too tired from lack of sleep to look at this point I was throughing in the towel albeit a dirty one couldn't find room attendants remember. Day 4 walking zombie mode I felt like the dirt on the walls I'm about certifiable at this point. Crown plaza was $35/night more I'm insane for booking here.beware of the okay for the price reviews this place will ruin your trip unless you like hostels.
You suck from your friends from Orillia minor peewee lacrosse!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zooforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

The rooms were very clean. I loved the two separate bedrooms with own tv. Perfect for 2 couples who want privacy. As if your in your own bedroom. Beds are not the most comfortable. Mattresses are pretty thin, but for a night or 2 it can be dealt with.

Very affordable and just about a 10 minute drive to downtown Ottawa

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tia277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Travelodge Ottawa East
#49 of 68 in Ottawa
551 reviews
Days Inn - Ottawa West
#39 of 68 in Ottawa
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanata
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#41 of 68 in Ottawa
332 reviews
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
#37 of 68 in Ottawa
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West

Address: 1385 Woodroffe Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K2G 1V8, Canada (Formerly Algonquin College Residence)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £98 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West is conveniently located just a short drive from downtown Ottawa, Ontario - Canada's capital city.Located at 1385 Woordroffe Ave we are just minutes away from local attractions like the Nepean Sportsplex, Centrepointe Theatre and Canadian Tire Centre.If you are cost-conscious and looking for clean, economical and spacious accommodations during the busiest travel months of the year, we have just the place for you.From May through August each year, our facility delivers a unique alternative to expensive hotels by offering some of the most competitive nightly, weekly and monthly rates in the city.Our signature style fully-furnished suites come complete with two separate bedrooms, each with an over-sized double bed, work space (desk and chair), television and telephone. Also included is a kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and dining area, plus a three-piece private washroom (stand up shower, sink, toilet).There are absolutely NO HIDDEN FEES. Our two-bedroom suite rates already include FREE parking, high speed (wired) Internet, local telephone calls, as well as all the guest amenities that you would expect from a pricier hotel such as toiletries, linens and housekeeping service.Book your suite and stay with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin College Residence Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing