We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must See”

Canadian War Museum
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$29.07*
and up
Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #1 of 267 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Canadian War Museum is more than a museum that is internationally renowned for its symbolic architecture; it is synonym for inspiring and touching stories. Canada's rich military history is showcased through personal stories, artwork, photographs and interactive presentations. Tour the extensive permanent exhibitions and expand your knowledge of the conflicts that shaped Canada, Canadians and the world, as well as the roll Canadians played in them.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Must See”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

If you're in the national capital for a few days then this is one place worth paying a visit for a number of reasons. I was impressed to see so many school kids being brought through here as it will hopefully provide them some insight into he sacrifices made to form the country we enjoy today.
Firstly if you're serving or retired from the service you will be given free tickets at the desk. Park in the underground parking and you will be given a coupon to pay for that parking when you leave. As with most underground parking you push the button and take your ticket upon entry. When you leave you will put your entry ticket in first, then your coupon ticket, and the gate will open for you to leave. I mention this as I couldn't see directions and had troubles getting out :) first your ticket when you entered, then your coupon ticket to pay :) You will also receive a free lunch from the cafeteria which I think is is an extremely gracious gesture towards those who are or have served. In addition to this, you may bring 2 guests with you at no charge. Thank-You to the directors for these gracious gestures, it is appreciated.
Now as for the museum itself, I was surprised by the extent of content it is holding as well as the detail of that content. It is expansive and offers a great deal of Canadian history dating all the way back to Canada's settlement and first interaction with the native population. This is an impressive Museum as you follow through time the conquest, battles, wars, peace, through to present. If you're a history buff or have served then I recommend no less than 4 hrs to go through as you will be amazed at how quickly time passes as you study the details and possibly remember your own history...I will be going back but now I will go in the morning so I can spend the whole day.
An accomplishment to be proud of and one I'm sure will be enjoyed by many.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenCWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,481
    777
    113
    21
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I liked the path through time approach (similar to the Museum of Civilization in Gatineau).

Impressive collection of tanks and artillery in the lower level

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DynaDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Museum and then some”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Went there a while back, (the new Site) a bit tricky to actually get to. but wow. spent... 6hrs+ in there. would have been more but my wife was spitting tacks. Went through part of it (3 plus hours) :) stopped for lunch.. then went back for the rest. including the garage out the back. what a proud history Canada has.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank muddytrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good museum - needs tweaking”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Canadian War Museum in its present location opened its doors to the public in May 2005. and I had resolved to visit it since. Though I’ve been to Ottawa several times since then, I had no opportunity to pay a visit to the museum until now.

The museum is quite large with impressive external architecture. The exhibit area is divided into four sections covering 1. ‘Battleground’, the wars to 1885, 2. ‘For Crown and Country’, the South African campaign and First World War, 3. ‘Forged in Fire’, World War II, and finally 4. ‘A Violent Peace’, the last sixty years covering the cold war, Korea, UN peacekeeping and Afghanistan. Though the first two sections are smaller than the last two, I felt that they were included for comprehensiveness, but had less to show the visitor. These sections seemed roomy, while the sections covering the more recent conflicts looked crowded. Some visitors may consider skipping the first two sections and heading directly to the more interesting recent sections.

Now I had two other beefs that may resonate with some readers and maybe annoy others.

The first beef is about a particularly egregious paragraph that greets the visitor entering the ‘Background’ section. The following is approximately is what I remember it saying: “Nobody remembers when wars first started in Canada”. Such a meaningless statement may belong in a history class in a primary school, not in a premier museum in the capital city. In any case, this statement coming right at the beginning of the visit was telling. It was saying, expect more dumbing down

Secondly, I found the captions and write-ups of the exhibits particularly irritating with the English and French narratives jumbled together in the same fonts and same colors. Why not some consistency to draw eyes to your preferred language?

I regret having to focus in this review on such annoyances, for there are indeed many interesting exhibits in this museum that make it worth visiting. These, especially in the sections focused on the newer conflicts, would be the objects of my visit if I go again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Trip Through Time”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I really enjoued the trip through time from wars on Canadian soil when Canada was colony through to Cold War involvement. Especially meaningful was the WW II display given the 70th Anniversary of D-Day invasion of Normandy with our involvement at Juno Beach.

Highly recommend. Lest We Forget

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LloydminsterCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canadian War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Canadian War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing