We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parliament Pazazz” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parliament Hill and Buildings

Parliament Hill and Buildings
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.89*
and up
Ottawa Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #2 of 254 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Three Gothic Revival-style buildings, located on a 170-foot bluff overlooking the Ottawa River, house the offices of the members of Parliament, the House of Commons and the Senate. Free guided tours delve into Canadian history and explain the workings of the political system.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Parliament Pazazz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Travelling with children we didn't opt for the guided tour, and there was a 45 min wait to climb the peace tower. However, the daily evening light show is an absolute MUST.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,501
    1,579
    258
    29
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Must do, but maybe not for children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I was discouraged by the very long line for tickets at 9 am but came back after lunch and got 4 tickets for the center block (or I should say centre block) tour at 4:20. I wouldn't recommend cutting it that close, but, on the other hand, don't be discouraged by the long lines. The people who work at the office that distribute the tickets were very friendly and helpful. I can't imagine anyone passing through Ottawa and not taking a tour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irvine_TSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Beatiful and Historical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Been here a few times, I'd recommend to any Canadian to visit. Without sounding too crazy here, this is your country and Ottawa is your capital. It is FILLED with history, so much so I keep finding out something new each time I visit. I'd recommend a tour of the hill and make sure you get inside the chambers. Beautiful and again, historical.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thetravellinman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Buildings, Terrible Tours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Parliament Buildings are a definite must-see in the city. As a resident I take all my out of town guests to Parliament. I try very hard to convince my guests to not take an official tour. On more than one occasion I have found the tour guides to be rude and limited in their knowledge.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bellatrix M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Get There Early for TIckets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I had no idea it would be so hard to get tickets (free) for a tour of Parliament Hill. We arrived at the ticket office (across from Parliament Hill) around 10:30 am and could only get tickets for 3:20 pm. The tour lasted about 40 minutes. The guide was very good, informative and funny. Great tour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gardenlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parliament Hill and Buildings also viewed

 

Been to Parliament Hill and Buildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing