We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barefoot Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barefoot Hostel
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Truly amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I've stayed in quite a few hostels and nowhere compares to this place. It is really beautiful! It feels like you're staying in a personal home that has been well taken care of.

The shower alone is worth the stay. It has TV and internet downstairs, living room and kitchen as well. Dorms are really small but very comfy.

You have to check in next door at Swiss Hotel and you MUST have a credit card to do so.

If I ever come back to Ottawa I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are only a couple rooms so it doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToAFarOffLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    16
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
4
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

My friend and I have been travelling through America and Canada for 3 weeks now & this is easily the best hostel in which we have stayed. It is in a great location, is managed by extremely friendly & personable staff and the facilities are remarkable for that of a hostel.

The common areas remind me of home with a large TV, DVD player and tables as well as books for reading & tea and coffee making facilities.

Highly highly recommend!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013. It's a great little hostel. It's small (4 rooms of 4 people) so there is only 16 people maximum at all times. I had a great time staying here. Check in is next door at the Swiss Hostel. The owner Sabina is the loveliest lady. She was so helpful with giving me tips & recommendations on things to do and where to eat. This is far from a party hostel but if like me you're lucky enough to get a great bunch of people staying, there are countless numbers of bars and pubs all within 5 mins walking to go to. (We especially loved Pub 101 on a Thursday).
The wifi signal is strong, and also provides 2 computers for free usage. As the name states, you remove your shoes at the front door. It kept the hostel clean and also reduced noise on the hardwood floors. I liked this idea. Power points and shelf on your bed and reading light also. Lockers in room were large and clean. Even though I never felt unsafe there are no locks on bedroom doors, So i recommend locking away valuables so bring your own lock.
The bedrooms are small and are all mixed dorms. It is a little uncomfortable with 4 bodies in there and 4 sets of luggage there is not a lot of room to move. There is however a large common area downstairs to socialise in so no need to stay in your room! The kitchen is basic but very clean. No cooking facilities which is a bit of a negative. For me, I like to eat out and there is so many options close by so I was not bothered. This may be a negative for money conscious travellers though.
There are 2 communal bathrooms. One upstairs and one downstairs. Downstairs is a separate toilet and and shower room, upstairs is large and all in one room. The upstairs shower is AMAZING. It is so large you could easily fit 5 people in there (not that it's needed, but still it's amazing) the shower pressure and temperature and great and it's immaculately clean (a big thing for me with communal showers in hostels). I never had to wait long to use the bathroom but I could see this might be an issue if the hostel was full of 16 people.
The beds are really comfortable and the duvet is the comfiest blanket I have ever slept with! Can only imagine how much that would be appreciated on cold winter nights!
Overall this is one of the nicest hostels I stayed in. It was cozy and comfortable and reminded me of being at home. It's location is perfect close to Byward market and all other tourist attractions. No hesitations recommending to anyone to stay here,

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. 4 beds. I guess the room next to the shower might be annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The title of this review really sums up my experience at this hostel. It was fairly quiet when I was there (one night there was only 4 of us) which always improves a hostel experience, as you don't have to ever wait for the bathroom! Comfy common area and the free use computers was a real treat. Great location. 3 min to a large supermarket and 5 min to a tonne of restaurants and maybe a 10 min walk to Parliament House. Kitchen was pretty small, so if the hostel was full, and everyone decided to cook, it would get a bit crazy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misty3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here after a very tiring and jetlagged experience in Toronto. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hostel is cleaned daily, the downstairs area is awesome for having a few beers and outside is perfect for a lazy afternoon before heading out to town. The manager is above and beyond accommodating. If you find yourself in Ottawa you better find yourself the Barefoot Hostel as I can guarantee you'll have a good time.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lachlan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Seeing as I was a total pain in the butt..
I had booked a 3-day stay three months in advance but had to cancel as I had to break my planned week-long trip into two separate trips. The cancellation was handled very quickly. I rebooked for one night, not realizing check-in ended at 11, and only realized this the day of my stay (my bus arrived in Ottawa at midnight). The man at the front desk (you check in next door at the Swiss Hotel) agreed to stay an extra hour and a half just to check me in. This just blew me away, what customer service. He was very pleasant once I made it there, too.. I wouldn't be!

The hostel itself is clean and modern. It really is like you're staying in someone's renovated home. The common room downstairs is bright, has a flat screen TV and comfortable couches. The room I stayed in was small, but functional. I was the only one in the room that night, so I can't speak of how crowded it might be with a full room. The beds were amazing, too - and the duvets! I can't wait to stay in the winter so I can actually use them.

I will stay again for sure and highly recommend to anyone who needs to crash in the Capital.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed at this hostel in the summer of 2013 for two nights. Overall, it was the cleanest hostel I've even been to. Everything look very well maintained and the host was very friendly. Bedsheets and towels looked like they were frequently washed as well. Lockers are available for each guest, but you have to bring your own padlock. The beds themselves are a bit small, but were otherwise comfortable. Each bed has its own night lamp as well, which was very considerate.

The washroom on the 2nd floor in particular is a highlight. It's massive with a large shower, and the host has provided a hair dryer, travel-sized bottles of shampoo & soap, as well as towels (which seemed to be replaced often).

On the main floor, there are two additional washrooms (1 additional shower) with a large open-concept lounge area. Huge television with host-provided DVDs and a dining table right next to it. The host was nice enough to leave a bunch of brochures, maps, and even pizza delivery numbers in that area as well.

It should be noted as well that the host is actually located in the adjacent building (Swiss Hotel), so you'll have to go next door to check in or out. It's only 20 or so paces away, so it's not a big deal.

My experience at the Barefoot was excellent, and I don't see myself staying anywhere else when visiting Ottawa in the future.

Room Tip: There are lockers available, although they are only large enough to fit a backpack. Be sure to bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanhfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swiss Hotel
#29 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Hostel

Property: Barefoot Hostel
Address: 455 Cumberland Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N7J8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Barefoot Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Hostel in Downtown Ottawa is a small, independently-owned, women's-only 16-bed backpackers' haven. With a modern decor and white bedding only (duvet and duvet cover), our affordable hostel offers one of the best experiences for a visit to Ottawa on a budget with free internet computer use and free WiFi. We keep a backyard patio in the summer with a BBQ for our guests. We are within walking distance of all major tourist attractions, including the Byward Market, Parliament Hill, Rideau Canal, Rideau Centre, Shaw Centre. Our hostel is a popular landing spot for women traveling to Ottawa, whether they are solo travelers, young business professionals, undergrads, masters and PhD students, US Visa applicants. Larger groups can rent the whole house (16 beds) to enjoy complete privacy. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, you can’t go wrong with how close we are to the heart of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Barefoot Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing