We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

A great experience from check in to check out! The deluxe king room was more than comfortable and the breakfast buffet was a great way to start the day! Close proximity to the RBC Bluesfest had us in walking distance to this great festival. Bravo!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

775 - 781 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Delta from June 30- July 6th for my cousins wedding. We had 3 suites and a room on the 24th floor. The rooms are very spacious, and clean. The staff were more than accommodating. We had complimentary access to the lounge on the 25th floor. I am not sure if this is a regular thing for those with the suites but we had access during our stay. This was a great feature. It was complimentary continental breakfast, appetizers in the evening and free pop, juice and water all day. The only issue we had was a rude guest complaining that we were there as we had children with us. Who to be honest for young children were very well behaved.

My cousin had her wedding reception in the panorama room on the penthouse level. It was awesome and the view fantastic. The service and food was excellent.

We were also at the delta for Canada day. Lots of activities within walking distance. The delta also opened the penthouse for everyone to watch the fireworks.

They also provided us with gift packs for the kids when we check in.

There were so many nice extras.

My only negative was the bathrooms were a bit small.

Excellent stay would go back for certain

Room Tip: The suites were perfect with young children as we could put them to bed and go into the other room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EastCoast1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience through the TripAdvisor site. We are so pleased we could play a part in your cousins special day! It is great to know everyone enjoyed themselves throughout the wedding activities, and over Canada Day. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we hope that you will return to Delta Ottawa City Centre Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

They said my order would take 30-45 minutes - it took 75 minutes. The excuse (rather than the apology): we got busy.
I ordered side-salad, with dressing on the side - I got fries.
When I called back to ask for my salad, the salad I got was drenched in dressing.
I ordered flourless chocolate cake with cherry compote - I got some kind of chocolate mousse with berries. No explanation or acknowledgment of the change.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Tangira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback through the TripAdvisor site. Guest feedback is valuable to us as it provides us the opportunity to address specific concerns and progressively work to exceed your expectations. We do hope that you brought your experience to our attention before departing, to allow our Food & Beverage Director the opportunity to apologize to you personally, and to follow up to prevent recurrence. We would like to apologize again, and assure you that your experience is not indicative of our usual high standards of service. We hope that you will return and allow us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at the Delta for 3 nights late June.

Really enjoyed my visit to Ottawa and the hotel was great.

When I booked the hotel I requested a room on a high floor and I also asked for a fridge to be included in the room. Both requests were noted and provided when checking in.

Rooms very clean and modern. Loved the big flat screen TV and the smart desk was pretty cool! Only thing I would note is that the bathroom is a little small, but not a problem.

Check in and check out both very easy and quick. Did not get a chance to try out the pool but looked good.

Location is great. Arrived into Ottawa on VIA train from Toronto, took the transit bus downtown to the hotel and for the rest of the weekend was able to walk to all attractions - Parliament hill, Byward Market etc.

I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback through TripAdvisor. We were very pleaed to note you found our guestrooms clean and modern, and our location close to all of the attractions and sites you wanted to visit. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while in town for Bluesfest.

Pros:
- great location (close to Parliament hill and to Bluesfest site - both walking distance)
- recently renovated rooms
- great front desk staff and there's a Tim Horton's in the lobby

Cons:
- The bathroom was insanely small (can fit one person)
- The room wasn't the cleanest: bathroom hairs from previous guests, outside windows were really dirty, toilet wasn't flushing properly.
- Our room had a connecting door (which can happen) and we could hear everything from the people next door (even just talking). Very annoying. Please make sure you ask for a room without a connecting door if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DomCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience through TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and found the hotel well situated to the sites and attractions of Ottawa. However, your feedback indicates the guestroom cleanliness did not meet the high standards we expect. We would like to apologize, and assure you that our Housekeeping Team will follow up with increased inspections. The hotel's exterior windows are cleaned on a regular schedule. However, we have the distinct pleasure of hosting a pair of mating Peregrine Falcons on the hotel roof! Due to the nesting period, and the positioning of the Falcon's nest on our roof ledge, we are prevented from having our guest tower windows cleaned. Please accept our apologies if the view of our beautiful city was somewhat blurred due to this. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Good hotel if you are on a tight budget but would still like to be close to downtown ottawa. The room was ok, definitely not the best I have seen but it was ok considering the price and location of the hotel. They have a nice lobby and bar too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lafrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

You just cannot go wrong with this hotel. Well decorated, modern and very function rooms. Bathroom was a tad cramped but that's not untypical of hotels. But warm in winter and cool in summer which is all very important in Ottawa.

But best of all is that the staff are just so friendly and helpful. I think its both that its Canada and the culture of the hotel. Makes being there so very comfortable

ANd well priced which is always so good. Having a 24 hr Tim Nortons in the building was a big bonus after travelling 20 hrs and getting in at midnight and just wanted a quick snack

Very highly recommended as one of the nicest overall hotels you'll find anywhere

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giralang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor. We are fortunate to have a team of hospitality professionals who love what they do, and are truly happy to welcome each guest! Thank you for your comments and recommendation, it will be a pleasure to share your encouraging feedback with our entire team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,115 reviews
Lord Elgin
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Ottawa
780 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#10 of 68 in Ottawa
2,177 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 68 in Ottawa
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre

Address: 101 Lyon St N, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5T9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#8 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#10 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £99 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business travellers, meeting attendees, and friends and families will be delighted with an outstanding variety of food and flavours as well as warm customer service in a clean, and friendly place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Ottawa City Centre Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing