We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Suite Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is a great hotel; clean,friendly with two rooms. Separate air for both rooms and plenty of closet and drawer space.
Great buffet breakfast in a bright spotlessly clean dining room.
No restaurant or bar but lots within walking distance.
This is a real find!

Room Tip: Stay in the back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Richard S,

I was so glad to read that you had a great stay with us. It sounds like everything from the service to the room to the complimentary breakfast worked very well for you. Thank you very much for your endorsement.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in our Nation's Capital.

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

The staff are professional and knowledgeable. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. A stay here will ensure you have a relaxing and worry free time when you are at the hotel. Each day starts with a healthy well prepared breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Ann M,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Sharing your positive experience will allow future guests to make an informed decision about where to stay while in Ottawa.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay to Ottawa.

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel for three nights in late December 2013. We chose the one bedroom suite. The rooms were all very clean and modern looking. Minor problem with heating (temperature was -25 C that night in Ottawa) was solved quickly. Breakfast was included and more than I expected, with pretty much all the normal breakfast foods included (egg/bacon/toast/french toast/bagels/muffins/cereals/tea/coffee/juices/fruit/yogurt). Check-in and check-out were painless. Reasonably close to the downtown attractions, about a 10-15 minute walk to Parliament. Very solid recommendation and would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irishiceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear irishiceman,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm happy to hear that it was a positive one.
I'm sorry that you had challenges with the temperature in your room but was happy to read that it was rectified swiftly.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ottawa.

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My family stayed here for three nights during our first visit to Ottawa. We had adjacent rooms - one queen suite and one double. Both rooms were very large, well appointed and very clean. My daughters slept on the pull-out couch in the suite. It was the most comfortable sofa bed we have found in a hotel (maybe a dozen over the years). Large, high-def televisions in both the common room and the bedroom of the suite as well as the other room. Bathrooms were large, granite counters, thick towels. Kitchenette included dishes, wine glasses, everything we might have used. Breakfast was ample, very attentive staff cleared away dirty dishes immediately and kept buffet full at all times. We used free on-street parking starting Friday at 6 pm until Monday at 8 am (thanks to friendly front desk staff for this tip). Museum of Nature is literally around the corner, and lots of places to eat on nearby Elgin Street. We will definitely stay here again if we are fortunate to visit Ottawa again.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side have view of Museum of Nature. Suites are located at end of hallways but are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smbAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear smbAlbany_NY,

I would like to start off by thanking you for posting your comments about your recent stay with us. I was so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were comfortable in your suites. It sounds like you very much enjoyed all of our amenities and were able to take full advantage of them.
I hope that when you are back in our Nation's Capital that we will be your hotel of choice once again!

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel easily met our expectations with regard to the above mentioned requirements. We had a full hot/cold breakfast served each morning in the dining room. I made use of the fitness centre and sauna, as well as the computer/printer area to search for activities and stay up-to-date with my e-mail. Staff were friendly, attentive and helpful in making our time with them over the Christmas holidays a memorable one. And on Christmas day, we were kindly presented with a gift of chocolates and a card signed by all staff to help remind my husband and I that we were being thought of during this festive time of year. 10+!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Susan D,

I would like to thank you and your husband for being our guest during the festive season and that you enjoyed the chocolates. We're glad that you enjoyed them.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed the amenities that we have to offer as well as our breakfast.

Happy New Year to you and hopefully we will meet again in 2014!

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

For the price this hotel cannot be beat. The breakfast is the very good for a free continental style breakfast. Front desk staff were very helpful and in December in Ottawa, the heated underground parking was a welcome bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zonko33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Zonko33,

I would like to take a moment to thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us; on Trip Advisor.
I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and our warm underground parking.

Hopefully you will have an opportunity to return to us in 2014.

All the best of the New Year to you and Happy 2014!

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My family and I stayed at this BW property for 3ngts.
After reading a few reviews the best deal to be found is to book through Ottawa Tourism, our pkg included passes for the Museum of Nature (MoN) and parking. Because of this I didn't notice that the hotel did NOT have a pool which killed a part of our stay, but the proximity to the MoN was fantastic! Simply walk a block behind the hotel and ta-da you're there!

Check-in was easy.. we stayed on the 4 floor and had to change rooms as my wife noticed an odour. Underground parking is available, save $ with the pkg we purchased. Entering the hotel from the garage you'll find full laundry facilities and the only ice machine for the hotel.
I ventured to the gym and sauna, small but adequate.

The halls was dated, but glad the rooms reno'd and updated. The room with 2 dbl beds was narrow and had no view. Despite the tight quarters it had everything a family needs - small and stocked kitchenette, larger than avg fridge (actually cold!), room safe, hair dryer, ironing board.
Bathroom was clean, large, lots of towels, my wife noted the added touch of the heated mirror which helps after a hot shower.
Nov in Ottawa was cold but our room was death valley hot. I turned on the A/C instead.
BTW - the beds were not the best I've slept on, but the pillow menu was a treat.

Staff was friendly and willing to assist, we were in the lobby and the person at the front desk gave my kids books to read; breakfast staff were plentiful and busy working clearing tables and setting food, but lack the 'sunshine' for guests - not a peep of 'good morning'.
Breakfast was complimentary was great - 4/5 stars - good selection of hot/cold food, large LCD tv to watch news, plenty of seats in the dining area. I enjoyed the Seattle's Best coffee.

Overall, good stay but the kiddies need to swim.

Room Tip: Book thru Ottawa Tourism
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theoryguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Theoryguru,

Thank you very much for your recent review of your stay with us. We very much appreciated your throught description of your stay as it will be very helpful for our future guests. We are very happy to hear that you purchased your stay through Ottawa Tourism and took advantage of the package that included passes to the museum.

With regards to your comment about our halls being dated, we are actually starting the process of upgrading our walls and flooring throught out the guest hall ways with new carpet and wall paper and have already updated our flooring on our elevator landings on all floors. This process will be on going throught the months of January and February 2014.

Hopefully you will be able to return to us in 2014 and experience our rejuvination!

Happy New Year and Best Wishes for a prosperous 2014!

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.8 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
0.6 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#18 of 68 in Ottawa
1,113 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites

Address: 377 O'Connor St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £84 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing