We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay unless they have a function going on in the Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great place to stay unless they have a function going on in the Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked the Best Western because of the reviews on Trip advisor. It was a good hotel to stay at, clean rooms, nice staff, pretty good location, good continental breakfast. I wished they had queen beds instead of doubles but I knew that going in. My biggest negative of this hotel was that our room was on the second floor and they have a party room on that floor. On the Sat night there was a function going on in that room. Lots of people, extremely noisy, kids running down the halls, and this went on until almost 2 in the morning. The hotel staff were working this function(I am assuming) so it would have been nice if they had controlled the noise knowing other people were staying on the floor. Also after this party was over we could hear the staff cleaning up.
The Sunday night was very quiet. We would stay here again, just not on the second floor.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor especially if there in a function booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumbo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear, Mumbo82,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your candid feedback. It allows us to conitnuously refine our service to ensure that each and every guest experience is second to none.

I would like to appologize that you were disturbed by the function that was taking place on our second floor both during the function and afterwards during the clean up. Please rest assured that this is not common place for that area of the hotel and we have passed on your comments to the Banquet Manager to ensure this does not happen again. I'm happy to hear that Sunday night was restful for you. If you prefer, when you return to us you are more than welcome to request a room on a higher floor. We would be happy to accommodate you the best that we can.
I would welcome an opportunity to discuss this further with you. If you have a moment I can be reached at 613.288.0986 or by email at andrew@victoriapark.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and again I'm sorry for the disturbances you encounter while with us.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    556
    107
    14
    10
See reviews for
470
407
68
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel offers some of the best amenities and excellent value in downtown Ottawa. Even if your stay is short, you will appreciate its proximity to major attractions. A museum is next door,and Parliament Hill a few blocks away. It you want to stay longer, it offers a sink and microwave for basic meals. The rooms are clean and pleasant, although not large. There are many excellent restaurants and bars nearby. The breakfast, which is included, is the largest that I have enjoyed in a long time. The rates are reasonable. Great value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brokenwing5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Brokenwing5,

It was an absolute pleasure to read your review. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. It sounds like every aspect of your stay was a positive one and that you thoroughly enjoyed everything our hotel has to offer. We very much appreciated having you as our guest.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are next in the Nation's Capital.

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed for three nights on our first visit to Ottawa and found everything to be great. Good location for transit to see the sights. Good choice of restaurants and bars within walking distance. Greyhound station close by for travel to Montreal.
We enjoyed our stay, nice room, clean comfortable and breakfast included. staff were very nice and helpful. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Jon W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites on Trip Advisor and with fellow travellers. Your thorough review will allow guests to make an informed decision on where to stay while visiting our great City!
I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed our rooms, amenities and that our dedicated team were able to make your stay so comfortable.

Thank you very much for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed for a weekend and we brought our bikes. Breakfast was excellent and room was clean and up to date. Really enjoyed the location which is a couple blocks from everything so it was quiet. Ottawa is well setup for bicycling - we rode over 55km in one day just sightseeing. Lots of good restaurants to choose from and hotel is a 5 min bike ride to parliament buildings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank KruserL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear KruserL,

Wow! 55km on your bikes; that's amazing! Congratulations! I was thrilled to read that you were able to take part in our extensive bike trails throughout the City and that you were able to explore so conveniently.
I was glad to read as well that you found our accommodations comfortable. We look forward to having you back on your next visit to Ottawa.

Regards,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Hotel was nice. Comfortable beds. Good location. Delicious breakfast. Friendly staff. Clean. :) Our room had a refrigerator, microwave, dishes in the cupboard & a sink for food preparation. There is construction in the area, which can make it noisy & dusty outside when they are working, but the hotel doesn't have any control over that. They were not working on the week-end. There is under ground parking which costs extra. I asked ahead about the construction & parking fees, the hotel staff was upfront and honest with that information before I made my reservation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Susan R,

Your comments regarding your recent stay with us are very much apprecited. Thank you for taking the time.

I was so thrilled to read that you enjoyed our hotel and your Suite. Your comprehensive review will be very helpful for future guests looking to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ottawa.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very comfortable, well located hotel. Nice kitchenette facilities. TV was very good, room quiet... the only problem, and this is not the hotel's fault, was the extensive construction in the area. This made the exterior areas quite dusty. You can easily walk to a wide variety of restaurants and most of the major attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear James R,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites. We very much appreciate your feedback.
I was pleased to read that you found our hotel to be comfortable and quiet dispite the construction in the area. We thank you very much for your patience as this construction is on-going.

Hopefully when you return to us the construction will be completed!

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

this hotel is a nice comfortable place to sleep at the end of your day, very basic, but i strongly recommend going out for breakfast, unless you like cold eggs and empty coffee pots, I really liked the underground parking, very nice to not have to leave your car parked outside in some lot or on the street

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Donald O,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with the Trip Advisor Community. We very much appreciate your feedback and were happy to read that you found our hotel to be nice an comfortable for you. I'm sorry about the challenges you encountered with our breakfast. Please rest assured that cold eggs and empty coffee pots are not a regular occurance and I'm very sorry about that. I have passed on your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager to ensure that this does not happen again.

Hopefully you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Ottawa and allow us the opportunity to provide you with delicious hot eggs and an abundance of hot coffee!

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Address: 377 O'Connor St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing