We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A fabulous hotel!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is the hotel to stay at when in Ottawa!

The service and room was great. The staff are friendly, professional and helpful.
When we mentioned that we were heading out the Museum of Nature a block away, the front desk agent gave us discount vouchers to redeem at the museum!

We ran into Mr. Desmond, the Director of Housekeeping and he was very helpful, professional and genuinly interested in know how our stay was going.

Our room was immaculate with great attention to detail. There is a kitchenette with dishes, glassware, coffee maker, cutting board, refrigerator and wet bar sink. The bathroom was so clean, modern, thick towels and great lighting.

The sleep and bed was most comfortable and the hotel was very quiet.

The breakfast buffet was delicious with everything you need for breakfast. We noticed that there was a guest with what seemed to be on a high gluten free diet. It looked like she could not use the toaster as it had been used with non-gluten free breads. The staff returned to the guest's table to show that they have retrieved a brand new toaster from the kitchen for the guest to use for her glueten free bread. Wow! Now, that's service!

The walk to the parliament buildings took about 15 mins which was perfect on a summer day.

Great location, great hotel, great room, great service, great breakfast, great and spacious underground parking.

If you're looking for great value in a hotel in Ottawa, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSpirit2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    597
    112
    14
    10
See reviews for
502
443
69
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night here in early July with my family. The room was a very spacious 1 bedroom suite with pullout sofa.

The walk to parliament was about 10-15 minutes. Quite manageable in good weather.

The breakfast was good. Waffles, but no waffle maker. There was a selection of a few other hot items.

I prefer to be a bit closer, but for about 1/3 less than the price of the hotels right by parliament it was worth it.

I would have no problem recommending this hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 411Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Given we are platinum members for 3 years, means we have stayed in many many best western hotels. This one ranks in the top three. From check in to check out, it was nothing but positive. They have great people who seems to love their work, including the housekeeping staff. We had a room with a king bed. We had a large living space and private bedroom, great for people who don't go to sleep at the same time. The desk and area for electronics was spacious and comfortable. Internet worked great. Rooms are spotless. The breakfast one of the best we have ever had for "complimentary" breakfasts. You pay extra for parking. It given this is in the heart of the city, it is no surprise and offers extra security. Given the rice we paid, it was reasonable given you get a great room. One other thing, the hotel was so quiet we thought it must be under booked, when in fact it was almost full.

Room Tip: End of the hall overlooking the alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMELA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here on a business trip to Ottawa - welcoming friendly staff, clean quiet rooms (great pillows!) and superb location - all at a reasonable price. The breakfast was an awesome surprise - not your usual toast and cereal offerings - a hot breakfast option and a wide variety of food to get you going in the morning. Although the hotel was busy - it was very quiet and because it was my first stay there - I had some questions and the staff were professional and helpful. I would recomend this hotel for vacation stays, family stays and business.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canmoretravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leduc, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The suites represent amazing value, and make the room feel more like a home away from home than a mere hotel room. The free breakfast is satisfying and gets one ready for the day. Parliament and many sights, points of interest and museums are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Kathleen S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. It looks like you enjoyed you stay with us and we are thrilled to hear that.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

very comfy beds/clean room sufficient for 3 night family stay to tour Ottawa on foot - left vehicle in parking garage for most of the stay. We walked downtown to all points of interest - some closer than others: ByWard Market, museums, Rideau Canal Boat Cruise, Haunted Walk, and a short stress free drive to Calypso Water Park (excellent value for one day of fun). Brekki at hotel excellent value and we all had full bellies to begin our day of adventures.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Janet L,

I was so happy to read that you enjoyed you stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It looks like you had a chance to take it all in, even the ever popular Calypso Water Park! I hope it was fun!

We look forward to have you as our guest again in the future.

Regards,

Andrew Busing,
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Excellent property-loacated not far from Parliament Hill-Rideau Mall-Byward Market-very clean hotel-excellent service-breakfast-facilities-decor-parking is undergound if available($18-00)-and/or 3 blocks away($12-00)-walking diastance to cafes=however closes at 10-00p-Esso gas station 2 blocks away-easy access to highway 417-Gatineau approximately 10 minutes drive-

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Haroon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Haroon C,

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. I'm happy that you enjoyed our hotel and location. We hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future.

Regards,

Andrew Busing

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
1,025 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Address: 377 O'Connor Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing