We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A snug hotel in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

My fiancee and I had three nights here whilst visiting a friend in Ottawa. We took a bus to Ottawa and it's best of arriving via bus to take a cab. It cost us less than ten dollars including tip.

The check-in was hassle free, friendly and quick. Our room was spacious and tidy with no bed bugs or surprises anywhere else. To get to parliament hill it's a leisurely 15 minute walk and another 5 minutes to Byward Market which is packed with places to eat.

The hotel is located right near the Museum of Nature and two blocks in between Bank and Elgin streets. Bank was a place for cheap, fast food and 7/11 type places for hotel snacks and Eglin has more restaurants and is the easiest street to catch a bus up to parliament hill (the number 14 stops right outside the Rideau Centre and 1 block from Byward Market.

We had breakfast included with our stay and it was an ok buffet with cereal, hot food (didn't eat it), tea, coffee, juice, toast and fruit. Get down for breakfast early as there are less obnoxious people who don't know how to line up (that's not the hotel's fault).

All in all, for what you pay, the location is awesome, it's a clean hotel and we enjoyed our stay. The WiFi works well.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jate_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel recently with family. The location is good, 20 minutes to centre, 1 minuet walk to the Museum of Nature. Clean hotel and really large suites. They even have a pillow menu which is unique. The staff is very friendly, parking is easy and reasonable. Breakfast is self serve with hot items. Nice dining room. Would stay again if in Ottawa.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chubchub2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We drove to this hotel from Toronto via Kingston and had no trouble in finding it! It also made a refreshing change to be able to park at the hotel without the high price of Valet parking.
Our room was good and had everything we needed being warm, clean and tidy.
The hotel is a ten to fifteen minute walk from the main Parliament building attraction, but my wife and I felt safe walking or getting the bus at whatever time of day.
Helpful courteous staff and a good breakfast to set us up for the day.
We would use this hotel as a base again for exploring Ottawa!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Very pleased with suite we were offered for our 2 days stay in Ottawa, lovely and v spacious & very clean, had views across to the city.

The reception staff were very helpful and also gave us a complimentary bottle of wine and nice hand written card for my birthday.

Breakfast was included and was quite good considering it was only supposed to be continental and buffet style.

Hotel was in reasonable walking distance of the city attractions and restaurants weren't too far.

Parking was below the hotel and although a bit expensive was comparable with most city centre prices, but very convenient as parking in city centre Ottawa, like any big city was hard to find.

The only problem we encountered was that the room wasn't serviced on the next day of our stay, it didn't matter much as I usually prefer to make my own bed etc, so didn't mention it when checking out, especially as the staff were so nice.

Got a really good deal with Booking.com - much better than the Best Western site.

Loved Ottawa as a place to visit, def recommend visit the Parliament Buildings, the City Locks next to the Parliament, the Aviation Museum, the War Museum & the old city area Byward Market.

Room Tip: Rooms facing city or the local museum would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oliveoil54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

First, I must say the operator at the toll free line, was exceptionally kind and efficient. It had already start the trip quite well. The e-mail with driving instructions to get to the hotel was very helpful, we don't have a GPS. We were asked the approximate time of arrival, so that when we arrived they knew who we were. We were so pleasantly surprised at the quality of the place, the cleanliness, the nice décor of the room. I did not expect that much for such a good price. The location is perfect, 10 minutes walk to the Parliament Hill. It was also nice not to be in a dense touristic area. We discovered Elgin street with all its restaurants and shops. The neighborhoods is quite and attractive. Beautiful home and architecture. Not only will I go back to this same place on my next trip to Ottawa, I will always stay at Best Western. Friends of mine who are now in their 90's, travelled to United States for some 20 consecutive years and always stayed at Best Western. It is why we also choose this hotel. We certainly were not disappointed. Thank you so much. Suzanne Baron-Lafrenière Montréal Canada

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I stayed there for four days in July and totally enjoyed it. The location was perfect . We could walk or bus to any of the attractions in minutes. They upgraded us to a suite for our stay and it was spacious and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay again next time we are in Ottawa.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggie197952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were there for three nights ( August 14-17th) we enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful.The breakfast area was just perfect with a lot of good options. The location was great ,within walking distance to pretty much everything. Just too bad the weather was not on our side during our stay so we didn't have a chance to visit as much as we would've liked to. The only thing missing in this hotel is a pool and a restaurant but other than that it was perfect.

Pros: Very clean hotel , very comfy beds, great location, great staff, free breakfast and very good too.

Cons: Parking not cheap at all, rooms not very soundproof ( got woken up a couple of times by people talking, doors slamming at 3AM.) and a lack of restaurant.

Overall i would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Look for deals on Ottawatourism.ca we got our third night for free !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrick33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
0.8 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites

Address: 377 O'Connor St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £79 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing