We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best would not be a word I use to describe this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This hotel is tired and needs a facelift. The room was ok, the bed was confortable but the restaurant was terrible and not much else to chose from in the area. Unfortunately I was there for a business function so I had to stay. It is close to the freeway so it's good for anyone driving through. The staff was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4minuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear 4minuu,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Family owned and operated for over 70 years, Best Western Plus Macies Hotel always endeavours to provide excellent service and value to our guests.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We will be using the comments you made to make improvements to our property and ensure we can offer you a better experience in the future.
Sincerely,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night. Property is close to highway (417/416) and easy to find. Check-in quick and courteous, room clean with all the basics. Staff were available, friendly & helpful. No complaints, very good value for our stopover.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We have stayed here while visiting family in Ottawa in January and in April of 2012. The staff are professional and friendly and the rooms are very clean. The beds were very comfortable. This is the first hotel we have stayed in where the beds were the most comfortable and we had a restful nights sleep. We will be staying at this hotel again on our next visit to Ottawa.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This is really a great hotel! Simple and stylish, clean and welcoming. The room was large, clean and had the most comfortable beds with lots of comfy pillows! It's so important to have a comfortable bed, and this bed could not have been more comfortable - it was wonderful. Mostly everything about the room and hotel itself was great, including the kind and helpful staff. There was a refrigerator in our room, which we made use of during our stay. The pool is like a warm bathtub and there is a nice pool area. There is plenty of parking, even for small RV's, and the hotel is quite convenient to some cool neighborhoods.

A few things to note.. we did order room service for breakfast one day, and that was good; however all of the food at the restaurant (at least all the items listed on their board) contained meat, so we (vegetarians) could not eat there. Wish we could have had the option to! Also, there is roadwork happening on Carling Ave. directly in front of the hotel which can make getting around that area a little frustrating, but it wasn't audible or visible at all from our room (I don't even recall hearing any of it when we were outside). A side note: this has nothing to do with this hotel in particular, but beware of booking with Best Western. In the past we've been double-charged and had to go through the process to have that corrected, and this time there was a billing mix-up after booking through the Best Western website. This location's staff is helpful and I would make it a point to book directly over the phone with them to help prevent all the billing nonsense.

Overall this was a fantastic place to stay and we know it's a great option next time we come to town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs_Bestlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Mrs_Bestlove,

Thank you for your positive review of our property.

At Best Western Plus Macies Hotel, we are committed to providing the best experience for our guests and having them come back on their next visit. It was a pleasure to know we did a great job and we will pass on your comments to our staff.

Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Nice, well appointed hotel, very clean, great location and excellent staff! Oliver at the front desk was very professional and knowledgeable of their area as well as any of the other front desk staff we encountered throughout our stay.
Our room had everything we needed, beds very comfortable and room very clean, thank you housekeeping staff!
We went down to have breakfast in your hotel our first morning and Hanna was our server. Very professional and efficient. There was a table of 6, a table of 4 and our table of 3 when we arrived. By the time we left, a table of 7 arrived, another table of about 13, a table of 4 and a few 2's. I sat in amazement watching Hanna take it all in stride being the one and only server. Someone else may have lost it, but it didn't even bothered her. Our food came out quickly and hot and very tasty. When all of these other people landing in, even a kitchen person came out to help deliver some of the meals. Great team work!
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Ottawa area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Very clean hotel and the room was larger than I expected. There was enough room to move around a desk with chair and a small table with 2 large comfortable chairs. The location was close to the highway so you could get downtown quickly. When we went out of the hotel to the right exploring we found Little Italy on Preston St.and the 120 mile Rideau Canal. There is a small shopping mall across the street with a small food court. Good location and good place to stay if you do not want to pay the high prices to park your car.

Room Tip: First floor was non-smoking don't get room 120 if a little noise from the elevator will bother y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onelovelylady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Onelovelylady1,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor.

We want to thank you on behalf of all of staff for your kind comments, it is a real pleasure to read such a pleasant review. It is what makes our job so much fun.

Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Very nice hotel with a very friendly staff. It seemed like they are almost done with the renovations. Our room was very nice and comfortable. We liked being close enough to downtown, but far enough out to easily get on the highway in the morning.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Norm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Norm P,

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide feed back on our property.

At Best Western Plus Macies Hotel, we strive to make sure our guests enjoy their stay and will want to return on their next visit to Ottawa.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
2.7 mi away
Delta Hotels Ottawa City Centre
3.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#25 of 69 in Ottawa
797 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
2.5 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre

Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £82 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing