We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value 15 mins from town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #34 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value 15 mins from town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Arrived in Ottawa without any booking and found all in town places booked out so headed to suburbs. This motel was about 15 min bus ride to town and bus stop right out the front of hotel, shops also across the road. Parking free and laundry available on site. Restaurant on site also which we ate at and was fine. Room of good size - king bed and sofa lounge (executive king) price was also good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only had 1 night there but enjoyed the sites of Ottawa and could of stayed another. Would be happy to stay there again especially with own car

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starfish623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Starfish623,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
At Best Western Plus Macies Hotel, we are committed to ensuring our guests have a great experience and want to stay with us the next time they visit Ottawa. It is great to know we did a great job and we will pass on your comments to our staff.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    206
    84
    27
    14
See reviews for
187
99
33
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
326 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Conviently located off highway 417, 20 mins to downtown and major sightseeing points; the hotel is very clean, highly efficient, extra spacious and definitely bang for buck with free WiFi, swimming pool and gym facilities. The jovial receptionist kindly divulged all the secrets of ottawa and even brought up our requested towels on her off-duty way home, THAT'S SERVICE!!!! Psst.......psst...... an accidental discovery whilst in Ottawa - free parking Sat/Sun at 100 Queen St, World Exchange Plaza, most convenient for all sightseeing jaunts downtown and free parking behing the Parliament Builidng in the evening for their sound/light shows and Mosaika. The Staff at the hotel are extremely courteous and helpful but the cops/OPP are the same.

Room Tip: A regular room which consisted of 2 queen-size beds can easily accommodate 4 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank connie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Connie L,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We were very pleased to hear that you had enjoyable stay and have passed your comments onto our staff. It makes our jobs more enjoyable when we know we are appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Ottawa.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerside, PEI, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Poor air conditioners, slow elevators, rude front desk staff, no microwave. Hot tub is REALLY hot and you can only stand a few minutes in it. Front desk clerk demanded that I put $950 hold on my credit card for an $800 stay then refused to provide me with a receipt. Gave me some story about someone downstairs needing it. Pros - Free parking and close to a couple restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at the Macies Best Western Hotel and the staff did a really incredible job. First of all, the staff drew us maps and pointed out the best places to visit and eat locally. Secondly, the rooms had great amenities and our stay was really comfortable. Thirdly, our appointment was at the Royal Ottawa Hospital and it was only a short walk away. I totally recommend staying here. I am a tour guide where I come from and I would send my guests to stay at a place like this. I must say I was worried about the cafe downstairs, but I was blown away by their great food and quick service. I suggest the blueberry pancakes! All in all, a great place to stay and we will come back.

J. S. -Natural Happiness Guide

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Justin S,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive comments and will pass them on to our staff. As a family run hotel in business for over 70 years, it is due to positive guests like yourselves that keep us motivated and proud to serve guests in Ottawa.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had gone to Ottawa with my parents for a few days to just get away. This was our first time at this hotel and I would definitely go back. The location was good for all we wanted to do, it was easy to get to the attractions we wanted to visit. The rooms were big and clean. They have free Wi-Fi in the rooms which was a nice change. The front desk staff was very helpful when we asked about attractions or suggestions for restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service DIrector at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Ben D,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We appreciated your kind comments and will pass them onto to our staff and we hope that we may have the privilege of welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Would have liked if breakfast was included in the price. Otherwise, good hotel. Location and hotel quality are good too. Very helpful front desk personnel. Nothing else to write, but have to have 200 characters minimum :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Giridhar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear GiridharH,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We understand and appreciate your comments about breakfast. The restaurant, Cafe 1274, is a separately run business in the hotel. In regards to your comments about the staff, we will pass them to them.
We hope that we may have the pleasure of serving you in the future.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
214 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

My company has previously used the Travelodge on Carling for meetings and I found it so-so. The Best Western Macies is terrific. My room was super-clean and comfortable, and I was greeted cheerfully upon check-in by Sherry. The next morning, I was haunting the meeting room way too early (before the 7AM it's supposed to be ready). Eric at the front desk unlocked it for me without complaint. Wayne in maintenance greeted me promptly at 7, bringing me my box of meeting supplies and opening it as soon as he set it on the table. The restaurant food is actually quite good and I asked the restaurant to make me an extra fruit salad that would be my lunch on the day of the meeting. I kept it in my sleeping room fridge and enjoyed it the next day at a break in my meeting. It was loaded with fresh raspberries and oranges and really delightful.

Room Tip: This is pretty quiet despite the fact that it's set on Carling (the main drag). Be aware that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Professordoctormom,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your kind comments and will pass them on to our Staff members. As a family run hotel, we take pride in offering the best in customer service and it is great guests like yourself that makes our job such a pleasure.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
4.3 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing