We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and service, slightly out of downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Woodsville, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel and service, slightly out of downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The staff is the friendliest we have had anywhere. They are always there to help. The rooms are very clean and spacious. Slightly outdated, but not bad. Rooms have a fridge, although ours was in the bathroom, slightly strange...The outdoor pool is great! Very clean and quiet. Towels are not out by the pool, but ask at the desk, they will give you some without a problem. The beds are VERY comfortable!!! Complimentary coffee in your room. Very conveniently located across the street from a pharmacy and small mall. Free parking, plenty of it. Not walking distance from Parliament, but only a 10 minute drive, but don't forget to factor in parking costs. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbsks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    208
    86
    31
    14
See reviews for
192
101
34
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocoee, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Very nice hotel but unlike every other Best Western there was no breakfast. They had a small restaurant to purchase it. The other problem was the dryer, it obviously needed the lint trap cleaned out so we had to take our clothes to a laundromat to dry them after trying in their dryer. Not all front desk people were friendly when I was getting change for the dryer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanAntonioGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear SanAntonioGigi,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We were sorry to read about your frustration with the dryer and have taken care of the problem. As per your comments regarding breakfast, the Restaurant, although within our hotel, is independently run. Therefore Best Western does not require properties such as ours, to provide a complimentary breakfast.
Your business is important to us and we hop that we may have another opportunity to serve you.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Arrived in Ottawa without any booking and found all in town places booked out so headed to suburbs. This motel was about 15 min bus ride to town and bus stop right out the front of hotel, shops also across the road. Parking free and laundry available on site. Restaurant on site also which we ate at and was fine. Room of good size - king bed and sofa lounge (executive king) price was also good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only had 1 night there but enjoyed the sites of Ottawa and could of stayed another. Would be happy to stay there again especially with own car

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starfish623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Starfish623,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
At Best Western Plus Macies Hotel, we are committed to ensuring our guests have a great experience and want to stay with us the next time they visit Ottawa. It is great to know we did a great job and we will pass on your comments to our staff.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
365 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Conviently located off highway 417, 20 mins to downtown and major sightseeing points; the hotel is very clean, highly efficient, extra spacious and definitely bang for buck with free WiFi, swimming pool and gym facilities. The jovial receptionist kindly divulged all the secrets of ottawa and even brought up our requested towels on her off-duty way home, THAT'S SERVICE!!!! Psst.......psst...... an accidental discovery whilst in Ottawa - free parking Sat/Sun at 100 Queen St, World Exchange Plaza, most convenient for all sightseeing jaunts downtown and free parking behing the Parliament Builidng in the evening for their sound/light shows and Mosaika. The Staff at the hotel are extremely courteous and helpful but the cops/OPP are the same.

Room Tip: A regular room which consisted of 2 queen-size beds can easily accommodate 4 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Connie L,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We were very pleased to hear that you had enjoyable stay and have passed your comments onto our staff. It makes our jobs more enjoyable when we know we are appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Ottawa.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerside, PEI, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Poor air conditioners, slow elevators, rude front desk staff, no microwave. Hot tub is REALLY hot and you can only stand a few minutes in it. Front desk clerk demanded that I put $950 hold on my credit card for an $800 stay then refused to provide me with a receipt. Gave me some story about someone downstairs needing it. Pros - Free parking and close to a couple restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at the Macies Best Western Hotel and the staff did a really incredible job. First of all, the staff drew us maps and pointed out the best places to visit and eat locally. Secondly, the rooms had great amenities and our stay was really comfortable. Thirdly, our appointment was at the Royal Ottawa Hospital and it was only a short walk away. I totally recommend staying here. I am a tour guide where I come from and I would send my guests to stay at a place like this. I must say I was worried about the cafe downstairs, but I was blown away by their great food and quick service. I suggest the blueberry pancakes! All in all, a great place to stay and we will come back.

J. S. -Natural Happiness Guide

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Justin S,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive comments and will pass them on to our staff. As a family run hotel in business for over 70 years, it is due to positive guests like yourselves that keep us motivated and proud to serve guests in Ottawa.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had gone to Ottawa with my parents for a few days to just get away. This was our first time at this hotel and I would definitely go back. The location was good for all we wanted to do, it was easy to get to the attractions we wanted to visit. The rooms were big and clean. They have free Wi-Fi in the rooms which was a nice change. The front desk staff was very helpful when we asked about attractions or suggestions for restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service DIrector at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Ben D,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We appreciated your kind comments and will pass them onto to our staff and we hope that we may have the privilege of welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
3.0 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
3.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#13 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing