We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient Location”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel was comfortable with convenient access to downtown sites via car (417 nearby). The pool was outdoors and closed for the season during our visit Sep 20-21. There is ample shopping nearby and a good selection of restaurants within a short drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Four_Pantas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear 4pantaleos,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    210
    87
    32
    15
See reviews for
196
102
34
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Great Staff, friendly and helpful. Restaurant has great breakfast meals . The interior of the hotel was bright cheery and well maintained. Room was comfortable and clean.Lots of free parking.The location was very convenient for our needs. We will return to this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear David D,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We appreciated your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I want to say a Great BIG Thank You to the Owner if it wasn't for her, Soldiers of Suicide would of had to pay a lot of money out of Donations to stay in a Great Hotel like that and on top of it. Went to the Owner of the Restaurant to ask about dinner for the Fallen Soldiers Families for us 12 of us in total plus toddler and the Great Owner gave it to us for Free Dinner!! The hotel is #1 in my Books and the staff is amazing too!! I can't say enough GOOD things about this Hotel!!!

Room Tip: There all Great we had 5 room on corner room etc 3 rd 4 th floor all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonTubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Jason,

You are very welcome, it was our pleasure to assist you and your organization in effort to acknowledge those fallen soldiers and support their families.

Kind regards,
Kimberley Macies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed at Macie's B.W. for 3 nights. Everything was great except for the last evening when there was a confusion regarding my reservations. The 2 gentlemen (night shift and a day shift) were excellent. However, Shelly, evening staff needs more customer service training. Doesn't handle stress very well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Summary:
We stayed here two separate times on back to back weekends so this review is a combination of the two stays in different rooms.
If you can live with no breakfast, this is one of the better values at a chain hotel within a 10-minute drive of downtown Ottawa.

Good:
* Nice furniture, comfortable chairs
* Quiet even though the hotel was completely booked (first stay over Labour Day)
* Comfortable Beds (first stay)
* Fridge
* Walking distance to a Shoppers Drug Mart with breakfast essentials as well as 50s style diner, Rockin' Johnny's

Average:
* Not much sink counter space
* Decent and free parking compared to other Ottawa hotels

Could Be Better:
* No breakfast
* Base of bathroom sink jutted out into room and we kept stubbing our toes on it until we moved the trashcan in front of it (second stay)
* Noisy room, you could really hear a lot of hallway door noise (during second stay)
* Small rooms, and very crowded with furniture. Very little room to move around desk chair or reposition sitting chairs.
* Mattress was well worn on one side compared to the other giving you a slanted sensation (second stay)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ICanHasCheeseburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear ICanHasCheesburger,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
As a family run business for over 70 years, we know it is through our Guests' observations, both positive and negative, that we can improve both our hotel and service.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve your lodging needs in the future.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walterboro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Ottawa Civic Hospital where I was both a patient and visitor. It is ideal for that purpose and I estimate less than 5 minutes away. Large shopping centre directly across the street- lots of restaurants in the area withing walking distance. The staff have always been very pleasant and helpful. Easy to locate and enter and exit. Cost / Price is excellent

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Treena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your kind comments and have passed on your compliments to our Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel so many times in the past and we enjoyed it due to its location and good service. This time however with the new management, we made our confirmed reservation three weeks in advance. When we arrived to our surprise there was no reservation under our name or the confirmation number. The front desk clerk attitude was so uninviting and she offered us a lower quality room with much higher rate. We had no choice but to accept hoping to settle that with the management. The next morning we had another surprise when we were asked to pay for breakfast which was also included. The manager was polite but of no help. We paid about $150 extra and obviously were extremely disappointed

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghassan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Ghassan A,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry to hear of the challenges that you experienced on your trip to Ottawa. We feel it is possible that you might have had a reservation at another hotel as we do not include breakfast and are not under new Management but have been a family run hotel in business for over 70 years. Our Front Desk clerk offered a superior room with 2 queen beds at our corporate rate, as you did not have a reservation.
Please rest assured we have taken your feedback very seriously, as it will help us provide our guests with the high level of service that they have come to expect from Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
3.0 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
3.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing