We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Nighter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here for one night. Was pleased with how big the room was but it was quite old and smelled that way too. Chose to not take my wife here the next time we passed through but it was cheap and was just me this time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EA-M-W29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear EA-M-W29,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We were disappointed to hear you had issues with your stay. It is through comments such as yours, that help us to make improvements to our hotel and our service.
Your business is important to us and we hope we have another opportunity to provide an improved experience.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Convenient parking within walking distance to a shopping mall and restaurants. Clean and well maintained with nice spa and workout/exercise facilities. Bar/Restaurant in the basement. Stayed here on business at the beginning of October 2013 and recommend this place for anyone looking to stay near downtown Ottawa for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Josef G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear JosefG,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
Your kind words are greatly appreciated and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.
All the best,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very nice hotel. It is incredibly clean and well kept with a friendly staff. We found it very convenient to Carleton University and the many attractions of Ottawa and yes we will stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear GaryK,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor and for your positive recommendation and comments about our staff; I will make sure they are passed on to them.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

They ran out of the room type my company booked for me so I got an upgrade on arrival. There was enough space for 6 people to sleep in the room, it was huge for just me! The bed was soooo comfortable for a hotel. Unfortunately I didn't come during pool season, so I missed out on that one. The breakfast menu is good and the food is high quality but it doesn't open early enough for people who need to be at work at 7am. The bar downstairs is nothing to write home about, but the front desk staff are very helpful. In a bizarre twist I met the love of my life at this hotel, so thanks Best Western, I owe you one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear VickyD,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
Wow, we are thrilled to know you met the love of your life at our property. We greatly appreciate your positive review of our property and will pass on your compliments to our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you both back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

excellent hotel, very comfortable, and well-situated and located, the staff was very helpful and interested in us and our comfort. No problems at all. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Ottawa who is interested in quick access to west-end Ottawa or downtown Ottawa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear LindaH,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
Your positive review was greatly appreciated and your compliments will definitely be passed on to our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This year was the second year we booked at this hotel...the reason...the amazingly comfortable beds. We all remembered the quality of sleep we got because of the mattresses. The staff are very helpful and friendly; hotel is clean and the beds, amazing. Would highly recommend Macies.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The web site indicated a Pool. It turned out to be seasonal and not open. The lighting in the room is poor( anyone can see that). For a Motor Cycler rider, a pool is esential. The staff were not experienced and had no resolution power. As a habitual Best Western customer , the experience was disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
3.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
2.5 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#14 of 68 in Ottawa
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre

Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £82 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing