We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #34 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here while visiting universities with my daughter last fall and were pleasantly surprised. This was a convenient and inexpensive hotel that offered a clean, comfortable accomodations. The check in staff were very friendly and efficient, and overall this hotel was far nicer than I would have expected for the price. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a nice, reasonably priced hotel for a few nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLJTAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear SLJTAV,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive remarks and will pass your compliments on to our Staff. It is genuine comments from guests such as you that help motivate us to continue to improve our hotel and service.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    216
    88
    34
    16
See reviews for
201
105
37
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Compared to other hotels in Ottawa, Macie's offers good value and convenient location for business or pleasure. Within a short ride to most government complexes and attractions. Also close to Little Italy area for some great meals.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Tim M,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive review and will pass your compliments on to our Staff. It is positive comments from guests such as you that help motivate us to continue to improve our hotel and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

there is no place to put down that the type of trip was for a funeral, it sure was not pleasure or family fun or couples and for sure was not business. I think you need to add a type as PERSONAL the pool was not working which was a very big disappointment, as we needed to relax I think it should have been told when we booked the hotel, as it is advertised as having it and not even told at check-in but when we went to go to it

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 458sharonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear 458 sharonr,
Thank you for reviewing our property on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your candid comments about the whirlpool. It’s only through honest feedback, that help us to improve our hotel and the services we provide. We would like to apologize that the whirlpool was closed for annual maintenance; it has since re-opened.
We hope that we may be given another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel since 1984 because it is so welcoming and the staff is so great. The restaurant is a missed venue to good food in Ottawa. I never had a bad meal here and the potato pancake with smoked salmon is to die for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Richard H,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Tripadvisor.
We truly appreciate your positive review and will pass it along to our staff. As a family run hotel in business for over 75 years, it is due to guests such as you that keep us striving to improve our Hotel and services.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Recently stayed at the BW Macies in Ottawa. It was very reasonably priced. The front desk staff were fantastic. My daughter spilled ice cream all over the back seat when we arrived. Staff heard my husband telling me and went to get wet towels for him to clean it up without us asking. That impressed me. The hotel is clean, but dated. The beds were comfortable, but take your own pillow!! We had a room at the end of the hall on the first floor. It was relatively quiet, although the sounds of showers and flushing toilets in the am was pretty loud. The Temperature control system was the quietest I have ever heard in a hotel anywhere! Where this hotel lost it's appeal for me was the in house restaurant. Again, very dated, but I can get past that! It was the prices!! Over $12 for a diner style breakfast that should cost $5. We had already ordered 2 coffee and 1 small apple juice when we looked at the menu and decided that Tim's was a far better option. The bill was over $6!!!! I would not make use of that restaurant again! I would stay at Macies again if I was in Ottawa if I could not find a comparable hotel that included breakfast.

Room Tip: We liked our first floor room at the end of the hall, only one neighbour to the side. It was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Studio19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Studio 19,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your positive comments about our staff and room cleanliness. The comfort of our guests is very important and as such we do have extra pillows on hand for those who prefer for example d feather, extra fluffy or extra thin pillows. Café 1274, while in the hotel, is a separately run business, therefore we will pass on your comments about the restaurant to them.
We hope that we may have the privilege of serving you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Overall good experience except if you are a light sleeper. Some pump or motor, probably the elevator, was loud enough to wake me. The room was loud from this and other guests. Very neat and clean. Did not have time to try restaurant or amenities. Not centrally located.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Mark K,
Thank you for reviewing our property on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your candid comments about the noise, we apologize for any disruption it caused. It’s only through honest feedback, that help us to improve our hotel and the services we provide.
We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I revisited this hotel and I found it to be clean, comfortable bed and the room was nicely appointed. The WIFI was a little slow but I did manage to get work done. The staff was friendly and very helpful. I ordered room service for dinner. The food was good and the service was fast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 4minuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear 4minuu,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your kind positive comments about your recent stay with us. We also appreciated your feedback about the internet speed and will resolve the issue.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
3.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
543 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa West - Nepean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing