We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip Ottawa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pickering Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Business Trip Ottawa”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

It was clean, professional staff and the food was good. I was only their one night and did not use all of the amenities. Once a year going for business with our clients in in Ottawa. I would suggest that you leave this as an option instead of writing a book for your survey...time is important not using a proper survey!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Roy C,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your positive review as it encourages us to continue to strive for improvement.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    210
    87
    32
    15
See reviews for
196
102
34
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our second year staying here for a gymnastics competition. We needed to move rooms for personal reasons and were given a hard time, although they did move us. No breakfast included, the restaurant was ok, nothing great. The hot tub was not working so we were not happy about that at all, as we were looking forward to using it and we were not made aware of this when we booked. I will go somewhere else next year. Pluses, it is close to grocery, liquor store and some restaurants and to the competition site

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjchmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear bjchmummy,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
Your comments both positive and negative have been noted and we assure you that the issue you raised with respect to the whirlpool has been resolved. We apologize for any inconvenience or difficulties you experienced.
Your business is important to us and we hope that will be given another opportunity to provide you with exceptional service you deserve.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights back in November 2012, and were happy that we did. The rooms are typical chain hotel fare, which was all we needed. They were clean and functional and we had no complaints at all. The staff were very good as well. All around the hotel was good, clean, and exactly what we've come to expect from the Best Western Chain.

The unexpected bonus with this hotel was the restaurant - it's in the basement of the hotel and we really didn't expect much when we tried it, but we were pleasantly surprised by how very good the food was! We ate there 2 nights in a row, and both nights our meals were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerenaTO152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear SerenaT0152,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive review and we will pass your comments on to our Staff and to Café 1274. After 75 years in business, it is positive feedback such as yours that helps motivate us to continue to improve our hotel and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel and we appreciate your loyalty.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have stayed at this property numerous times on Business. The staff and service is exceptional. The restaurant/room service is excellent and affordable. rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveller315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear frequenttraveller315,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your positive review as it encourages us to continue to strive for improvement.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borden, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Cheap rates! Great Service! Located in the middle of Ottawa with no problem getting around to all of Ottawa! Across from a small shopping center and seconds from hwy 417! Check it out!! The front desk staff recommended a bunch of places to visit throughout Ottawa including but not limited to tourist attractions, restaurants, shopping centers, public transit, etc! Would go back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Sean T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.We really appreciate your positive review and we will pass your comments on to our Staff and to Café 1274. With feedback such as yours that helps motivate us to continue to improve our hotel and service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel and we appreciate your loyalty.

Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon Falls, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Room was large, with plenty of seating arrangement, when having people meet you at the hotel. Entrance very clean, room very clean and comfortable... Would definatly stay there again. Price was cheaper than the last place I stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Linda K,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your positive review as it encourages us to continue to strive for improvement.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here while visiting universities with my daughter last fall and were pleasantly surprised. This was a convenient and inexpensive hotel that offered a clean, comfortable accomodations. The check in staff were very friendly and efficient, and overall this hotel was far nicer than I would have expected for the price. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a nice, reasonably priced hotel for a few nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLJTAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear SLJTAV,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive remarks and will pass your compliments on to our Staff. It is genuine comments from guests such as you that help motivate us to continue to improve our hotel and service.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
3.0 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
3.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing