We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I've tried several hotels in Ottawa area and this one was the best I've stayed so far. I like the location as is close enough to the Downtown area and has free parking. The hotel is close by to the 417 highway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank ManonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear ManonH,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your positive review as it encourages us to continue to strive for improvement.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel is nice and clean and a great place to stay while in Ottawa. The beds are super comfy and the staff was very nice. I would definitely stay there again during my next trip to the area. I was very surprised that hotel of this calibre was this affordable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear SMA714,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive review and we will pass your comments on to our Staff and to Café 1274. After 75 years in business, it is positive feedback such as yours that helps motivate us to continue to improve our hotel and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel and we appreciate your loyalty.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights.
The room was clean and spacy. Two queen beds, nice bathroom.
Restaurant in the hotel is not very good but the diner across the street is great for dinner and breakfast.
Location is good to reach by car. Parking is for free with a lot of spaces.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Stephan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Stephan V,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your positive comments about our hotel and guest rooms. The Restaurant, while within the Hotel, is a separately run business and we will pass on your feedback to them.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

needs an update. Not all rooms have all amenities in them which is not good because you cant heat up your food., and no one told me this when i booked the room. All hotels by now should supply a microwave and fridge and coffee maker in rooms .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tamekio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear ramblingsalesman,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on tripadvisor.
We are sorry to hear of the challenges you faced during your stay with us and apologize for not meeting your expectations.
Please rest assured we have noted your comments, as it will help us provide our guests with the high level of service that they have come to expect from Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

When in Ottawa, we always stay at the Best Western Plus Macies Hotel on Carling Avenue. It is a beautiful hotel with everything needed to make your stay a pleasant event. The staff are extremely helpful, pleasant and knowledgeable. Rooms are clean and spacious and the beds very comfortable. There is a restaurant in the hotel which is convenient and the internet service provided is hassle free. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 521brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear 521brenda,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
Wow, we really appreciate your glowing review and we will pass your comments on to our Staff and to Café 1274. After 75 years in business, it is positive feedback such as yours that helps motivate us to continue to improve our hotel and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel and we appreciate your loyalty.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We originally booked this hotel last minute a couple of years ago as there was nothing else available in the area. After staying there once, we continue to come back again and again as our daughter attends Carleton university so we make the trip a couple of times a year. The hotel is older, but extremely clean with updated rooms and decor, comfortable beds and extremely helpful staff. Close to downtown, restaurants and local attractions I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank R5209LUdavidg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear R5209LUdavidg,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive review and we will pass your comments on to our Staff . After 75 years in business, it is positive feedback such as yours that helps motivate us to continue to improve our hotel and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel and we appreciate your loyalty.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. The room was very clean and very quiet. I found the staff at the front desk to be friendly and helpful.

I had a comfortable stay and I recommend this location for people who do not want to stay downtown.

The beds were clean and comfortable. It's a nice and quiet location that is situated at a major intersection. There are a few buses that pass this location.
There is ample parking space.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CND_NoviceTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear CND_Novice Traveller,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive review and we will pass your comments on to our Staff and to Café 1274. After 75 years in business, it is positive feedback such as yours that helps motivate us to continue to improve our hotel and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel and we appreciate your loyalty.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Ottawa
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 68 in Ottawa
1,506 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre

Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £77 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing