We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel in the centre of things in Niagara Falls.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The location of this hotel was great. Close to everything and the Hop on, Hop off buses. This was our second time at this hotel and it is a great family hotel. A wonderful pool for the family and trees inside the pool area was great. The only thing I feel that they could have done to make this a better place to stay, was not charging for parking. That should be included in price.Overall, a great hotel and the location, was super.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nedlog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Nedlog57,

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Plus Macies Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We really appreciate your comments as it helps us to continue to improve our hotel and services. Please note that our parking is complimentary.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Canada’s Capital.

Kind regards,

Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Clean Rooms, friendly staff. Reasonable rates. Nice pool. Beds are very comfortable. Spa was not working.
Would be nice if breakfast was included as is done in many other Best Western I have stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CdnFirstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear CdnFirstTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Plus Macies Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We truly appreciate your positive review and will pass it on to our Staff. In regards to your comments about breakfast, the restaurant, within our hotel is independently run and the hotel is truly fortunate to have Café 1274 on-site available for breakfast, lunch, dinner and for room service.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Canada’s National Capital.

Kind regards,

Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

When I book the room from web site then I made mistaken on booked 2 nights, then later I realize that I needed 3 nights, then I called the Hotel the gentlemen fixed up the dates without hesitation with same price, I would definite come back to this hotel anytime I visit Ottawa, I requested nice quiet room and he said no problem. Nice service and very polite.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Tom H,

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.

We really appreciate your positive remarks and will pass your compliments on to our Staff. It is through candid comments from guests such as yours that help motivate us to continue to improve our hotel and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Ottawa.

Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Unfortunately it seems that every time we stay at a Best Western, I regret the choice. Future tip to travellers - do not use Best Western travel cards in an attempt to save money, because all it is is a hassle.

We planned a one night, short stay at this hotel, although it has no airport shuttle, in an attempt to save some money because we had a gift card. We were instructed by an employee that we could use the gift card after we made our online reservation.

Upon getting into the hotel we were told we had been "upgraded" from a queen room to a room with two double beds. Since when is that an upgrade for a married couple travelling, who clearly didn't book a room with a queen size bed by accident.

Furthermore, much to my dismay, upon check in we were told by the front desk agent that we could not use our gift card, and that there was nothing the front desk agent could do about it.

It took me getting on the phone to their customer care line in order to get this issue resolved.

Moral of the story is go to a hotel closer to the airport if all you're looking for is a simple one night stay. Pay the extra money for a hotel room and save the hassle of trying to get something from a gift.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Leslie B,
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Plus Macies Hotel on tripadvisor.
We would like to apologize for not providing you the service that you have come to expect from a Best Western. The reservation that was reserved was an advance booking reservation that is meant to be pre paid. The Front Desk appreciated your frustration and applied the Travel card to the bill and refunded the difference to you.
We hope that we may be given another opportunity to serve your lodging needs.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice clean safe hotel. Comfortable beds, good clean bathrooms with efficient showers. Good internet. Would be nice to have free breakfast included as in other Best Westerns, but has onsite restaurant. Great place for breakfast across street (Rockin' Johnnies)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Brona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Brona N,
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
We really appreciate your positive remarks and will pass your compliments on to our Staff. It is genuine comments from guests such as you that help motivate us to continue to improve our hotel and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Ottawa.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We needed a mini vacation so we stayed in town. I have to say i was highly impressed. We got the room with two queen beds...it was HUGE...plenty of extra space. It was very clean and new looking, large tv, fridge, comfy beds, AMAZING shower head, nice big heated outdoor pool which we used twice, and standard checkout is 1pm! We ate dinner at the restaurant...which was my only real disappointment. I will say almost everything was wonderful, but the chicken cordon bleu was visibly overcooked, which was verified when i tried to eat it. But they quickly replaced it for me (i had a steak sandwich instead), and the rest of the meal was delicious.
Even though i live in town, i will make an excuse to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candyapple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear candyapple2014,

What a wonderful review, thank you for taking the time to advise us of your great stay. There is nothing more satisfying then knowing we have done something right and it is positive comments such as yours that remind us why we enjoy hospitality.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again on your next stay-mini-cation.

Kind regards,

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The room was clean and comfortable. Check-in staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is usually included at most Best Western Hotels, but was not included at this location. The hotel was easy to access off Highway #417.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Scouter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Scouter 13,
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Plus Macies Hotel on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your positive review as it encourages us to continue to strive for improvement.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
2.7 mi away
Delta Hotels Ottawa City Centre
3.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#25 of 69 in Ottawa
795 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
2.5 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre

Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £81 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing