We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel Shaky Customer Relations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Shaky Customer Relations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great hotel clean well maintained. HOWEVER!! We experienced at bad functionning A/C unit at 2:00 AM. Having been out on a hot summer evening and returning at only 1:00 in the morning, we only realized this problem an hour later. We persevered, but at check-out that morning...we were met with an aloof staff member who merely said," I you had let us know, we would have moved you to another room" At 2:00AM??? I don't think so!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Director of Customer Service at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Brona N,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor.

We were disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations and would like to offer a sincere apology. Our guests comfort is our main priority and we are happy to offer assistance to all guests 24 hours a day. Thank you for bringing the lack of cooling in the room to our attention.

Your business is important to us and we hope we may be given another opportunity to offer you a superior stay.

Kind regards,

Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    207
    84
    27
    14
See reviews for
188
99
33
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice. Both times, excellent experience. Love the outdoor pool and lounge area! Very friendly and helpful staff. Easy access from the highway. Close proximity to shopping and restaurants. Clean and comfortable rooms. Definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Doreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Director of Customer Service at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Doreen S,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive remarks and will pass your compliments on to our Staff. It is genuine comments from guests such as you that help motivate us to continue to strive for improvement in our service and hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have stayed over 5 hotels from that business trip. This hotel was the best. Staffs are really helpful and friendly. And, good location is a plus. easy to find and no traffic. The price was also good compare to others. I had nothing to complain. Well done. Thanks for the good service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Lang Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Director of Customer Service at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Lang Y,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive remarks and will pass your compliments on to our Staff. It is genuine comments from guests such as you that help motivate us to continue to improve our hotel and service and remind us why we enjoy working in the hospitality industry.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Best Western Ottawa city Centre, formerly Best Western Macies, is in an excellent location and provides excellent value for money. the hotel is clean, quiet and comfortable and the staff provides great service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Don F,
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Plus Macies Hotel on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your positive review and will pass on your compliments to our Staff. It was truly a pleasure to read.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My family really enjoyed staying at this hotel. We will for sure come back. Great reception people. Super great garden. It is not far from central park where we had a great walk around the lac and in the lovely park. It was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Josee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Josee T,

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.

We really appreciate your positive review and will pass it on to our Staff. It is guests such as yourselves that inspire us to continuing improving our hotel and service.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family on your next visit to Ottawa.

Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The location of this hotel was great. Close to everything and the Hop on, Hop off buses. This was our second time at this hotel and it is a great family hotel. A wonderful pool for the family and trees inside the pool area was great. The only thing I feel that they could have done to make this a better place to stay, was not charging for parking. That should be included in price.Overall, a great hotel and the location, was super.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nedlog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Nedlog57,

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Plus Macies Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We really appreciate your comments as it helps us to continue to improve our hotel and services. Please note that our parking is complimentary.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Canada’s Capital.

Kind regards,

Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Clean Rooms, friendly staff. Reasonable rates. Nice pool. Beds are very comfortable. Spa was not working.
Would be nice if breakfast was included as is done in many other Best Western I have stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdnFirstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear CdnFirstTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Plus Macies Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We truly appreciate your positive review and will pass it on to our Staff. In regards to your comments about breakfast, the restaurant, within our hotel is independently run and the hotel is truly fortunate to have Café 1274 on-site available for breakfast, lunch, dinner and for room service.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Canada’s National Capital.

Kind regards,

Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
4.3 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
3.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing