We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Québec, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great hotel - good location”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

When we go to Ottawa it's the place we like to stay. Room with kitchenette is really great when you like to take your breakfast in pajamas.... Great comfortable bed and quiet hotel. Walking around is perfect for those who like this activity and you can discover the beauty of this town like their old buildings and parks. We love it

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageuse4691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Voyageuse4691,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it!
Sincerely,
Dominique Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,741
    651
    100
    36
    18
See reviews for
978
657
86
545
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This is a really nice hotel, but.....

I had booked a 2 bedroom superior suite with a balcony and that's exactly what i got. The suite was excellent. Spacious bedrooms, very nicely furnished and decorated sitting room, two baths and good kitchen including dishwasher. There's a laundry room on the 11th floor, a great gym and a terrace also.

If opening the door to your balcony doesn't matter to you, then is a truly excellent property.

If you do want to, then CHECK YOU HAVE THE RIGHT ROOM. They're renovating and the majority of balconies are locked off. If the aircon is below par, you can't open the door for fresh air.

I chose this property carefully, after calling them direct to check if smoking was allowed outside on the balcony and I was assured it was.

We were in a suite that was being renovated externally (a two bed superior suite) and despite the fact our balcony did not have the metal railings removed (because the layout means, the railings are redundant because of the walls of both bedrooms), the doors to the balcony were locked off with a 2 by 4.

I booked direct with the hotel, BUT NO ONE TOLD ME THIS IMPORTANT FACT. Had anyone told me, I would have happily changed my booking to other suites where the balconies were STILL functional.

The staff on the desk were very nice, but could not offer a change of suite as they were fully booked.

As I had specifically called in advance to tell them we wanted a balcony suite because they facilitate smokers, I felt this was unacceptable and so we moved to another hotel closer to the centre of town. I would be delighted to stay here if they were upfront about the renovations, but given this property is a good 10 blocks to ByWard and the convention centre, we moved. I was happy to stay at the Westin, which is non-smoking, but right where we needed to be. Had the Albert at Bay been honest, we would have made that decision from the outset and not had to move.

Room Tip: Check that your balcony works!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tryanythingonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear Try
We are sorry to learn that your stay was not as good as you had anticipated. You are correct, we are beautifying our balconies so that they compliment the hotel and part of them cannot be accessed for obvious safety reasons. We do have 3 other windows that can be opened to have fresh air in the specific room type you had but understand the inconvenience that the patio door may have caused you. The patio doors in question should be ready to use in a week.
We thank you for your comments,
Dominque Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I was in Ottawa for a trade show conference and had an opportunity to stay at the Albert at Bay in downtown Ottawa. What a wonderful experience this was. Magnificent, huge rooms with full kitchens and all the appliances you need to make your life comfortable. Two big screen LG tvs (actually the same ones I just bought for my home) and a very comfortable bed to sleep in.

The service levels at the hotel were excellent too with the front desk very quick to assist with any of my questions. In addition, I left a valuable item behind in the room and they were very quick to locate it and ship it back to me.

If you are in Ottawa for an extended stay, I highly recommend this property. It is simply perfect. If in town for a shorter duration, it works wonderfully as well.

Will definitely stay here again, when in town.

Room Tip: I stayed in a corner unit which were nice and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Samad S

Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you during your next visit!
Dominique Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria british columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This was our second stay at the Albert and it will be our hotel of choice in Ottawa. Really good service; very clean large suites; excellent location and fine value. The staff are very friendly and helpful with tips and directions etc. The large suites with full kitchen offer lots of choices for spreading out and eating in. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metchosintravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear metchosintravelers,
We are happy that you think we are "even better now", we'll continue working hard so we can be even better next time!! We appreciate your comments and are looking forward to your next visit.
Dominique Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Albert at Bay Suite Hotel is really centrally located (about a 10 minute walk from Parliament); the staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are reasonably priced. What really makes this place is that instead of getting a room you get a whole suite: bedroom, living room, kitchen and two bathrooms! I thought I had made a mistake and somehow reserved one of their most expensive rooms, but no I was still paying less than at most other downtown hotels. On top of that the staff were super friendly so all in all we had a great experience. Breakfast is not included but the restaurant next door does great breakfasts.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Iona H,
Thank you for the review, we could not agree more!! The value is simply amazing. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Sincerely,
Dominque Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I have to qualify this review as we have stayed almost exclusively at the Albert at Bay since discovering it 5 years ago and are raving fans...as it represents fabulous value. We recently spent 3 nights a week apart passing through Ottawa, and would not hesitate to return. The suites are large, nicely appointed and their beds were the best of four hotels we stayed at on our recent trip. Very friendly and helpful service, and anytime we have had a minor issue it was quickly looked after. It can sometimes be difficult to find a parking spot underground when the hotel is busy, but we have always managed. There is a very handy, reasonably priced convenience store that can be accessed without going outside. Great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironwoodtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Ironwoodtrail,
We are very happy to have you as one of our regular guests. We will continue to work hard in order to make your stays with us memorable for many years to come! Thank you for your business.
Sincerely,
Dominique Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This is the 3rd time that we stayed at the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel. This has to be the best place to stay in Ottawa. Within easy walking distance to most things. It was very clean and comfortable.
The beds were the best we've ever slept in.
Love that there is a full kitchen as travelling with 2 preschoolers it is much easier with a kitchen to prepare a quick meal or snack.
We drive a mini van so the underground parking was tight but it was doable with a little maneuvering.
I would not stay anywhere else in Ottawa.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snwbnnyinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
We are very happy to have you as one of our many regular guests!! Can't wait to welcome you back at our beautiful Hotel.
Dominique Quinn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
236 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert at Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert at Bay Suite Hotel

Property: Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Address: 435 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert at Bay Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 block from shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Albert at Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert At Bay Hotel Ottawa
Hotel Albert At Bay Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing