We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved the day, and were absolutely excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

When another hotel left us in the lurch by cancelling ALL our reserved rooms for our wedding, taking place in 4 weeks, the Albert at Bay came to the rescue! Not only was the salesperson great to deal with, but all staff I encountered at the front desk were wonderful. We dropped off bags for all of our guests, and the hotel was kind enough to give them to people on arrival.

I also stayed here the night before the wedding with my bridesmaids, and the room was excellent. Large, bright, and very new. We were very happy here, and I heard nothing but great things from all of our guests.

Great location in the west end of downtown, friendly staff, and great prices.

Room Tip: There is a lot of traffic on the south side of the building, so if you end up on that side, I'd...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Kerry O,

Thank you for staying at the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel and for sending your wedding guests to stay with us as well.

We are delighted to hear that everything went well during your stay and for your wedding guests too. Thank you kindly for taking the time to share this feedback online with our future travelers.

Congratulations on your wedding and we hope to see you again soon!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,680)
There are newer reviews for Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,674 - 1,680 of 2,680 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

I recently had the opportunity to visit Ottawa on a business trip, and stayed at the Albert at Bay. I was very pleased with the entire experience. The room was very spacious and quiet. The staff were very helpful and attentive. The location is very central, and within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The only negative is that the parking garage is underground and access is a little tight, however this is the case with many downtown hotels and at least they have ample parking!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jza80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Jza80,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are happy to see that you were very pleased with your experience and thank you for sharing your comments online with the Trip Advisor community.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Ottawa.

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We recently stayed at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel in Ottawa. The good reviews on TripAdvisor was very helpful in our selection and we were very impressed. Bernadette at the front desk was so warm and welcoming and we cannot say enough good things about her. She was very accommodating in having our room ready for an early check in. All front desk personnel were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The suite was very spacious and clean and really like a little apartment. We opted to cook our breakfast in the simple but well equipped kitchen that even has a dishwasher. We bought our food from the Quickie Mart conveniently located beside the hotel and in fact can be accessed without even going outside. The view from room 1020 was an added bonus looking out at the Gatineau hills and other surroundings including the river. The patio was well used. We ate in the restaurant once during our stay and the food was good but a little too rushed when we didn't have time to finish a before dinner drink before our entree had arrived. We sat outside for a second meal and a live performer was singing and it was nice to relax and enjoy our meal. The location is close to all attractions either by walking, cab or transit (that drops you off right in front of the hotel). We would highly recommend Albert At Bay Suite Hotel.

Room Tip: 1020 had a nice view from the balcony. Some rooms would be blocked by the hotel in front of it due...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Gail W,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel during your recent visit to Ottawa.

We are thrilled to read that you were impressed by our warm and friendly staff, our great location and spacious and clean suites. Thank you for taking to time to share your wonderful experience online.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ottawa again soon!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

What an incredibly beautiful hotel. My room was spacious, comfortable and inviting with a living/dining room combo, a separate bedroom and ensuite, a kitchen, and a balcony with patio furniture available in the storage room. It was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is close to so many things in downtown Ottawa, and a convenience store is located right next to the hotel lobby. I would definitely choose this hotel again next time I am in Ottawa, whether on business or pleasure, alone or with my family. It's perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Kim P,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you found our hotel to be clean, spacious and comfortable during your stay. We are humbled by your kind words and thank you for sharing your comments online.

We look forward to your next stay with us!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

First impressions were terrible. We arrived very late and the lone desk clerk was polite and efficient, but not welcoming. The parking garage can only be described as “murder-y,” it’s dark, damp, and very narrow. I would not bring anything bigger than a mid-sized car down there, or risk damages. Once inside the hotel, our hallway had no baseboards and ripped carpet. The next morning, I saw a notice saying that it was being renovated.

However, once we got inside the room, everything was great. It’s an apartment building converted to hotel suites, so the rooms are very spacious. Our two-bedroom suite could easily sleep five, and had a full kitchen, dining room, and balcony. The suite was clean and nicely furnished and the beds were firm and comfy. The televisions were brand new and HD.

Overall we had a good experience at the hotel in our short stay. Most tourist attractions are in reasonable walking distance. I would definitely recommend it for families or two couples, or for a long stay. But for couples, you could probably find something more central with more amenities, like free breakfast or a well-lit parking garage.

I’ve reviewed close to 50 hotels here and I’ve never been pressed so hard by staff and by email to review on Trip Advisor. I liked it better when TA was by travellers and for travellers, not a marketing tool for hotels. All this pressure makes me want to downgrade the hotel, but I prefer to be fair. When I mentioned the parking issues to the front desk, I was assured that parking is much worse in other places. So, thus the problem magically disappears? I think the better response would be to report my issue to management, and if others agree it’s an issue, add more lighting, signage, drainage and paving.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Deepcover,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Ottawa. We take the utmost pride in offering affordable excellence and outstanding customer service.

We are happy to hear that overall you had a good experience at our hotel. We are sorry to hear that your first impression was not wonderful and your suggestions on additional lighting in the garage are being reviewed by our Management Team. We are sorry as well that on the first night, you were not able to see the signs indicating that we are beautifying our corridors with new carpets, new doors and fresh paint.

I agree with you that our team should have reported your comments to management and that will be reviewed with our front line staff to ensure they report discrepancies appropriately. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We thank you for taking the time to submit your comments online. We are proud to have such a great rating with Trip Advisor and encourage all of our guests to post their online experience.

We hope to see you again soon.

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was remarkably clean, comfortable and was extremely a large space. We had a one bedroom which had its own bathroom suite and a bathroom off the living/dining area with a pull out couch.The housekeeping staff were very pleasant and efficient. We had plenty of clean towels etc. The kitchen had everything that we would need also. It was wonderful! The hotel was within walking distance to all the sightseeing locations. Parking is a bit tight but we found a parking space tucked in a corner and just left the car there. We walked or took a taxi if we needed. Never a problem to catch a cab. The front desk/reception employees were always very helpful and accommodating. A wonderful hotel and we would definetly go back and use them again when visiting Ottawa.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lily j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Lily J,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel during your recent trip to Ottawa.

We are delighted to read that you had a good experience and thank you for sharing this online. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our location, cleanliness and pleasant and helpful staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Albert on Bay provides a remarkable amount of space for the price - clean, comfortable, and deliciously roomy by the standards of today. The full living room w/ sofa bed and plush furniture, the dining room and well-equipped double-door kitchen, full balcony, walk-in closet w/ balcony furniture, big bedroom w/ computer desk - all adds up to what seems like an apartment ready for long-term stays. This plentiful space is perfect if you are sharing with a co-worker and wish to have lots of privacy. It's also handy if you have work to do and wish to sprawl papers, or are expecting visitors, co-workers and/or family/friends. Decor is not the focus, but it is timeless and there is a classy feeling here. Adjacent bar/resto and an all-night convenience store. Taxis are easy to get, usually right outside and there is parking. A very good value! We were in town for a conference and enjoyed the space, which we found relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudithDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear JudithDoyle,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind words about our clean, comfortable and deliciously roomy suites. We thank you as well for taking the time to share your experience online.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ottawa again soon!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
343 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert at Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert at Bay Suite Hotel

Address: 435 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £102 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert at Bay Suite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 block from shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Albert at Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert At Bay Hotel Ottawa
Hotel Albert At Bay Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing