We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, modern suites, ideal for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spacious, modern suites, ideal for families”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband, teenage son and I stayed here for two days in July. Booking was quick and easy, staff were helpful and friendly.

We had a superior two bedroom (two queen beds in each room), two bathroom suite which was extremely spacious and clean. The bedrooms/bathrooms are on opposite sites of the living space so the apartment would be suitable for two couples to share. The apartment was situated at the rear of the building and therefore we experienced no problems with traffic noise.The kitchen was well equipped for our basic needs. Wifi was good. My husband used the gym and had no complaints. The laundry room (tokens obtained from reception at extra cost) has several washing machines and dryers which were all available at the time of our use. Ironing board/iron were available in the apartment. Parking, at extra cost, is available in the garage. We were driving an SUV and had no problem with access - there is a sign showing the height limit as being 6' - and found the garage to be very spacious when compared to underground parking areas in the UK.

There was a small grocery store (basics only) adjoining the hotel as well as a restaurant, but we did not eat there so cannot comment.

On the first evening, we walked for about 10 mins to Parliament Hill to view the Sound and Light Show, which was amazing. Spectators sit on the lawn in front of the building so it is a good idea to take something to sit on. The second evening, we attended a show at the National Arts Centre which was about a 15 min walk. On both evenings, we felt comfortable walking in the area - there were many other people around. We also walked to the Ottawa War Museum, approx. 15 mins, but would not do this again as the walk was along busy roads which were not in any way scenic! We would definitely drive to the Museum on a return visit.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 7th floor at the rear of the building and did not suffer from any traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janamann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,803
    663
    102
    36
    18
See reviews for
1,021
680
87
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My family of four (myself, husband and two children, ages 3 and 7) just returned from a three night stay. We were very satisfied with our stay at this hotel.

We booked though Tourism Ottawa on a buy two nights, get one free deal - so we thought the value was great! I did call in with a few questions before booking and the woman who answered was very helpful and pleasant.

It was very easy to find, and check in was a breeze (two minutes tops). Parking is good. The garage does have some tight corners, but the spaces themselves were just fine for our minivan.

The lobby, elevators and hallways are all very nice and clean. We were very pleased with the room. Extremely spacious and spotless. I also quite liked the decor. The kitchen is nicely equipped. Not only was there a large fridge and oven/stove, but a microwave, toaster, coffee pot, pots and pans, utensils (incl. corkscrew - phew!). Wash cloths, dish soap, cups, plates, ice cube tray etc. - they thought of everything.

Bed linens and towels were clean and crisp. Two nice big flat screen tvs with a good selection of channels. Having two bathrooms was a big perk too!

We stayed in the one bedroom with one queen bed. My husband and I slept on the pull out couch for the first two nights, and I have to say, its a really comfortable pull out couch - comparable to the bed!

Free wifi is a big perk. In our room the signal wasn't quite strong enough for streaming video, but did the trick for regular surfing/email.

Location wise we thought the hotel was great too. Waking with a three year old (on foot) and seven year old we could get to the start of Parliament hill in 13 minutes of easy walking (yup, I timed it). Its actually only 750m from the hotel to the first gate. Byward market is about 2 km away, and took us about 25 minutes to walk to.

Over the three days we walked to Parliment round-trip three times, and Byward market round-trip four times, and we didn't feel like it was too much walking - which says a lot for little three year old legs. We did take one cab trip from the National War Memorial and it came to a total of $6.00. Albert street also seems to be a major bus route. This made sitting on the balcony a little noisy, especially at rush hour, but super convenient if you want to get around by bus! We were only on the third floor though, so I'd imagine higher up in a bit quieter.

If I find myself back in Ottawa, I would certainly book here for my stay. Would highly recommend this hotel to friends. Don't know if I'll be able to stay in a non-suite hotel room again though! My kids are also telling me we should sell our house and move to an apartment - they loved it!

If you have kids, a stop at the Children's Museum in the Museum of History (Gatineau side) is a must. We also enjoyed an Ottawa river boat cruise.

Thanks to management and staff for helping us to have an awesome mini-vacation in Ottawa!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was a great hotel for our family with a young child. Suite was very large, fully equipped kitchen, clean and comfortable. It was walking distance to just about everything downtown and nice and quiet at night. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This Hotel is very clean, quiet , and beautiful !!! the suites are just amazing with full kitchen , full bathroom , 2 flat TVs and very spacious living room and bedroom.

The ladies at the front desk are super nice . The cleaning team also are so nice and polite as well as the gentleman from the maintenance and repair, love love the people in Ottawa !!!

Also this Hotel is well located( downtown )

I cant wait to go back and feel like I'm at home.

Keep the good work :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reina299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a 2 bedroom suite with another family. A very lovely, clean hotel with two separate living spaces for each of our families. The only down fall is that it is about 20 minutes walking distance ONE WAY away from parliament hill. With small children it was a great distance to walk with them. This would be the only reason why I may not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mushroom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I accompany my husband on his business trips to Ottawa 3 x a year and he has been travelling to Ottawa for at least 10 years now. The staff have been amazing over the years and show genuine interest in each of your day's venture. Bernadette has been a constant over the years and she has charismatic way about her that wants you to share your experiences.
The desk staff make sure you have everything you need in your living space; we bought fresh corn in the market and realized we did not have a pot large enough and within a short window we had a pot; we would bet one of them went out to purchase as it did not look used at all. Strange enough these may be trivial to some but mean the world to those of us away from home wanting to enjoy the Market shops and enjoy meals in. If you choose to eat out there are many restaurants to choose
from as well.
It is walking distance to many shopping districts as well as a bus stop right outside the door that will take you to many other malls.
Only moments ago housekeeping asked me what time it would be convenient for her to service the room. You have to appreciate that!!!
There truly is not enough room to tell you how much I enjoy my time at the Albert at Bay Suites; all I can say is "try it you'll love it"!
Joanne

Room Tip: The spacious rooms are all wonderful and spotless; a corner suite or one with 2 bathroom's (his...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ling711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I travel very often and probably stay in different hotels 50 to 100 times a year. The Albert at Bay in Ottawa far exceeds anyplace I stay at in all of Ontario.

Whether it is the front desk with Bernadette who I often refer to as the face of the Albert at Bay or when I make meeting arrangements with Erin (Catering Manager) or Danika in the Marketing group the service is always enjoyable and top rated.

Even to the cleaning staff who refuse to get onto an elevator when a customer is already on it as I believe they do not want to inconvenience any of the guests with the smell of the cleaning carts, this just shows how much they care about your stay at their hotel.

I could go on and on in my review of how great this hotel is but when you are planning on a visit to the Nation's Capitol of Ottawa you need to experience this for yourself to truly appreciate the hospitality that comes from all who look after your every need and are always ready to resolve issues immediately.

This is what a 5 star hotel should visit to strive after.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter and upper floors in the middle of the hotel give you a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Lyle D,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are thrilled to read that you have had wonderful experiences each time you stayed with us. Thank you for posting a review of your great experiences and a special thank you for mentioning our staff. The whole team follows Trip Advisor closely and they will be delighted to read your comments.

We look forward to your next stay!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#7 of 67 in Ottawa
295 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert at Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert at Bay Suite Hotel

Property: Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Address: 435 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert at Bay Suite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 block from shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Albert at Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert At Bay Hotel Ottawa
Hotel Albert At Bay Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing