We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Ottawa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Every time we visit Ottawa, either for pleasure or on business, we stay at this hotel. It is conveniently located in the heart of the city and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Parking will cost extra but it is underground and secure. It is within walking distance of all major attractions and close to some good restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Ken C,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are honored to know that you stay with us every time you visit Ottawa. Thank you for the kind words about your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,825 - 1,831 of 2,920 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed here for a family wedding. Nice large suites with full separate kitchen. The hotel itself is only average on cleanliness and upkeep but the suites were very clean and nice. The hotel is centrally located close to museums, parliament buildings and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azildian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Azildian,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent stay in Ottawa.

We thank you for your kind words about our staff and large suites. We are sorry to hear though that you rated the cleanliness and upkeep as average. If you are able to contact me, we would appreciate an opportunity to learn more about your stay and improve where needed. I can be reached personally at 613-940-2720 or amanda@albertatbay.com.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again on a future trip to the Nation's Capital.

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We were spending 5 days in Ottawa and we wanted to use our bicycles to get around. When we called the hotel, they said that bikes could be stored up in our room or they had a room for bike storage on the main floor. This was a big plus for us. However, we ended up being happy with so much more.
Location: overall a great location. It was close to several trails, a street with segregated bike lanes, and mere steps to Sparks Street and Parliament. Surrounded by several one way streets which can make it a bit tricky with a vehicle.
Room: this is the main selling point of this hotel. The rooms look like they used to be apartments so they include a lot of extras you don't normally get in a hotel. The suites are spacious, there was a full-size kitchen (we saved a lot of money by bringing along food for some of our own meals), 2 bathrooms, a separate bedroom, and a living room/dinette area. I think there are 2 bedroom suites available as well. The hotel has been undergoing renovations and our room was beautifully decorated and up-to-date. I can't say enough about how great the rooms were.
Amenities: there was a well-supplied fitness room on the upper level. There is also a roof-top deck area there as well. We used both spaces. The main floor locked bike storage room was a huge plus for us as well. There is room for several bikes and you can lock them securely there, and the room is only accessible to hotel patrons.
Parking: there is parking right under the hotel. It was around $20/day while we were there. It included in and out privileges but we never touched our car while we were there.
Staff: we did not have many interactions with staff but when we did they were efficient and very pleasant and helpful.
We stayed on a 'stay 2 nights, get 1 night free' which was a real bonus and made the hotel extremely affordable. However, we will stay here again, even if we have to pay full price as it is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a busier street so you may want a room higher up, if that's an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Melbowman,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are delighted to read that your hotel stay was wonderful. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and some helpful tips for our future guests. The deal with Ottawa Tourism where you stay two nights and receive the third night free is very popular every summer in Ottawa and available at most hotels.

Most importantly, we are happy to hear that you will stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Nation's Capital again soon!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Albert At the Bay was a spacious apartment style room with Kitchen.
Great place for extended stays but also for a couple of nights .
Quickie mart next door if you wanted to make your own meals or snacks .
25 mins walk to the market .I would stay here again no problem . Friendly staff too !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 173Blissb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear 173Blissb,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about our spacious suites and friendly staff. Thank you for sharing your experience online.

We look forward to your next stay in Ottawa!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I found the hotel was very spacious, tidy and comfortable. I did ask for a room on the back side of the hotel off the street, and on a higher floor. I was on prolonged business trip and it was great to have a kitchen (equipped with basics) and laundry facility. The hotel is in a great location -- very convenient to downtown Ottawa and with a major bus stop just outside the door. I travel on business to Ottawa on a regular basis and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, room with a balcony, and in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Christina D,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are delighted that you found our hotel to have good value and convenience. Thank you for taking the time to post your kind words about your experience.

We look forward to hosting you again soon!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

As with most reviewers, I agree that the value, location, size of suites etc are brilliant; but had a minor gripe that the bedroom in particular, could have been better cleaned. There was little space between the beds and wardrobe to get in to clean efficiently, and I found an attractions brochure half hidden under the settee. Minor problems really, and would happily return if we revisited Ottawa.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NorEastCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear NorEastCoaster,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent trip to Ottawa.

We are happy to hear that you found the value, location and sizable suites to be brilliant. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced some discrepancies with cleanliness in your suite. As we take great pride in our superior cleanliness, we would appreciate an opportunity to further investigate this and hope you are able to contact me with further information about your stay. I can be personally reached at 613-940-2720 or amanda@albertatbay.com.

Thank you again for staying and also for taking the time to share your feedback online. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Ottawa.

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed here with my girlfriend in Mar'14. We had no issues at all. Check in was quick and easy. There is parking available under the hotel. A little pricey but that is expected for downtown parking. We booked through Hotwire and were glad to get this hotel.

The rooms were huge as they are all suites. A bit overkill for one night. There was two washrooms which came in handy a few times. The beds were comfortable.

There is a nice restaurant attached to the hotel that you have access too. A great place to unwind after a long day

We will certainly return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenTravellin89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear BenTravellin89,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel during your your visit earlier this year.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind words about our huge suites, comfortable beds and our onsite restaurant, the Bay Street Bistro. We will be sure to forward your comments to their team as well.

We are honored to read also that you will certainly return, and we look forward to seeing you again!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 69 in Ottawa
448 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 69 in Ottawa
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#11 of 69 in Ottawa
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert at Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert at Bay Suite Hotel

Address: 435 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £93 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert at Bay Suite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 block from shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Albert at Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert At Bay Hotel Ottawa
Hotel Albert At Bay Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing