We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying!”
Review of Albert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albert House Inn
Ranked #5 of 54 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth staying!”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed here in July 2011 and what an enjoyable experience! The staff at this Inn are amazing, they couldn't have been more helpful and willing to please the guests staying here.
A wonderful breakfast cooked on request and nothing was too much trouble. My room was clean and spacious - can't fault it!
Well done and thank you for an excellent stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotting_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    59
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
69
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed at the Albert House Inn in July. Friendly and helpful staff made the stay very pleasant. The breakfast choices are amazing with your meal cooked to please. I would recommend the Albert House Inn and would stay there during my next Ottawa trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaspe Coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I have been coming here for years, on my annual trip to Ottawa.
I come back because of the lovely people who own it, the wonderful staff, the great breakfasts, and the way they try to help anyone who arrives.
I heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malibunovelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

very comfy bed.
spacious rooms
front desk staff extremely helpful and friendly
great jacuzzi
very quiet
lovely living room with fabulous fireplace. service with a smile delivering evening drinks on the house.
spacious bathrooms
biggest selection of teas i've ever seen
very flexible on breakfast menu.
hot breakfast was tasty and timely

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skaters114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Stay here on business all the time and much appreciate the "personalized" feel of this as opposed to a chain hotel. Have never had a bad stay. Staff are attentive, friendly, helpful and they have the BEST breakfast! Definitely a hidden gem. Usually book a "moderate double" -- yes, not the biggest, fanciest room -- very Victorian -- but if you like quaint, friendly and affordable, this is the place for you. Also, bring an old paperback to leave on the shelf and take home another one off the shelf to enjoy -- lots to choose from!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2mcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

The owners have saved this lovely house from demolition and lovingly restored it into a comfortable and friendly B&B. Stands proudly amongst the modern buildings on the street. We especially appreciated the very reasonably priced laundry facilities - partly why we chose it - and the help we were given for using it. Rooms comfortable with easy chairs. Perhaps the bathroom facilities were a little cramped but perfectly adequate. We had a quiet room at the back. Easy walk to the Parliament buildings, the Rideau canal etc. We took the tour bus to The Museum of Civilization and found our own back as too late to pick up the last tour bus.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breizhlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2010

My husband and I were travelling to the Ottawa area to do some volunteering for a charity organization, and one of the members treated us to a two night stay at The Albert House Inn.
I immediately knew I loved the place when I walked into the foyer, saw the tea room, and the old photos on the walls. It has the Victorian charm that I love. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were told hot drinks were served in the evening, and when we took them up on a couple of hot chocolates, they brought it to our room, free of charge. The room was a good size, had a classic feel but featured a wonderful jacuzzi.
The bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get out of it and ended up sleeping in!
Breakfast was fantastic, the French toast was very yummy and served on fresh thick bread. They accommodated my request for Gluten free French toast, and it was the best!
We returned to visit again for three nights on Thanksgiving weekend, and had a different room, without the jacuzzi, but still great.
What can I say, the second trip was just as good, if not better than the first.
Highly recommended to anyone who likes the character and comfort of a historic Victorian home over a modern hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlythewoodManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.8 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
0.9 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert House Inn

Property: Albert House Inn
Address: 478 Albert St, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5B5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a designated heritage property in the heart of downtown Ottawa with comfortable guest rooms, modern amenities, outstanding personal service and fabulous cooked to order breakfasts. We are a short walk to business and government agencies, Parliament, the National Archives Library, War Museum, Museum of Civilization, the Rideau Canal and lots of shopping, dining and entertainment. On site paid parking is available, but public transit is only steps away. Welcoming guests for over twenty eight years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Albert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert House Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing