We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Personable, Affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albert House Inn
Ranked #4 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant, Personable, Affordable”
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Just spent the weekend at the Albert House Inn. This Inn is affordable, pleasant, quiet and close to everything. The staff were personable and their breakfast menu was superb with many choices for the choosy eater. Try the wild blueberry or apple pancakes-better than home made. The Inn offers limited room service with a small choice of meals. One evening, we had an nice light supper of their sandwiches and dessert.
Great personal service-I left my house keys, cheque book and few other personal items behind. I phoned them and they sent it all back to me at their expense by one day messenger service.
Happy Montrealers!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    59
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
69
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Having travelled a lot over the years, Ottawa was able to give me exactly what i was looking for. A spotlessly clean city, friendly , peaceful people, lovely scenary, brilliant food and nightlife.

The Albert Inn is close to all of this, situated a mere 10 minute walk to the centre of things. Check inn was a breeze, staff pleasant, and secure parking was a big plus. Complimentary coffee on arrival was a nice touch.

We requested a high floor and were given a room right on top, which was nice and quiet. There are an awful lot of stairs to the upper floor, so not suitable for those with mobility issues. The room was fairly small but really clean, but be warned this place is extremely old fashioned!! Everything in the room looked like it came from my grandmothers sitting room!! The wallpaper and furniture are so dated and worn out! The toilet and shower facilites are in two seperate little rooms within the room, and the toilet room has no ventilation! That's a big no-no in my book, considering it's a small bedroom.

Breakfast was fine, plenty of everything, but not as amazing as some have mentioned.

Still all in all it was fine, but i wouldn't stay again, there are better places to be had, just have a good look around

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albertinn, Owner at Albert House Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2008
Just a few comments re Jocksters review.

Our Inn is advertised on our website and all other publications as an historic, Victorian inn built in 1875 and we do our utmost to maintain the heritage ambiance of the building, including "old fashioned" wallaper. The vast majority of our guests enjoy this atmosphere which they find very comfortable and relaxing after a high priced, ultra modern hotel.

Regarding the complaint about the stairs (even though a room higher up was requested), It states quite clearly on our website:

"Stairs:

Our Breakfast Room is located on the lower level of the Inn, down one set of stairs. Our guest rooms are located on three different levels and we have no elevator, so if climbing stairs is a problem for you, please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate you on a lower level."

If Jockster had mentioned that the stairs were a problem when they were shown to their room, we would certainly have moved them if it was at all possible.

Our rooms are competitively priced as per our "good location" and other amenities and we offer a variety of rooms and prices.

I am somewhat surprised regarding the comment about our breakfast as "fine" and wonder what their experiences have been and what their expectations were when the vast majority of our guests say that is one of the best complimentary breakfasts with the most choices that they have ever had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

This place is an Inn, not a little B&B, and so you don't have much personal contact with other guests unless you wish to be friendly at breakfast. Also there are no home owners present, as such, to give you little tips on what to do and see. But the gal at the desk was helpful and friendly (although I would have appreciated more detailed info re local restaurants...and frankly some hot tips would have been a scoop!!). We had a plentiful, hot breakfast, too. Our room way up on the 3rd floor was a cosy and nice getaway retreat: very comfy. The location is great (in downtown Ottawa, literally 10 minutes walk from Parliament Hill). You might want to figure out, before you come to Ottawa, where you plan to eat if you wish to eat like a gourmand or check out ethnic cuisine. yes, parking is extra but that's city life. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Liked — Location. nice bright clean room
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CarolToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg,Mb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2007

I stayed at the Albert Inn for a Business Trip and it was fantastic! The staff here are the friendliest group of people and I found that they treat you as if you were the important guest in the Inn. Everyone smiles and everyone is so polite, I would definitley come back here!
Breakfast was amazing - no one leaves there on an empty stomach. So kudos to the owners on hiring such fantastic staff, they made my staff in Ottawa feel a little like being at home - its just a great atmosphere here.
I would definitley come back here and I will be recommending the Albert Inn to my co-workers at work.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunterjoe29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2007

I have been travelling to Ottawa on business on a regular basis since 2001, and I always stay at the Albert House Inn, which has become my "home away from home".
The staff are wonderful. They are always very friendly and helpful, and always make me feel welcome. The Inn is a mid-1800's vintage mansion with lots of character (more than you'll ever find in the big downtown hotels!). The rooms are nicely decorated, and are clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are fabulous - I have never left hungry! The parking is very convenient. The location is convenient, right in downtown Ottawa, perfect for tourists and business travelers.
Overall, a terrific place to stay!

  • Liked — Service, location, price
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EricMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed here recently for 3 nights. We opted for a standard room, which was quite small but there was enough room for the two of us plus our suitcases. The toilet was separate to the sink and shower which took a little getting used to, but was no big problem! The only complaint was that the free wireless internet was not accessible in our room which was at the back of the hotel, as we were out of range. However, when we needed to go online, we would just go to the living room area, which was decorated nicely and had a lot of magazines and books to read.

The staff were really nice, check in was easy and they were always friendly. The breakfast was really nice, you get a huge choice of what you want, and I often had seconds because it was so nice.
The location is really good, just a short walk from the Parliament Buildings and all of the downtown 'action'. It is also on a bus route so this makes it even easier to get around.

For the price, the hotel was good value and we would stay there again.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjane198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

The room smelled like an old basement. The bed was a cheap flat rock. The remote for the tv wasn't found until we looked under the bed for our belongings before we left. The waitress didn't know what "dry" toast was. We left the breakfast room smelling like sausages due to the lack of ventilation in the cooking facilties. Not inexpensive considering the bed and the breakfast facilities.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Quality of facilities given the price
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Saskatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.8 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert House Inn

Property: Albert House Inn
Address: 478 Albert St, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5B5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a designated heritage property in the heart of downtown Ottawa with comfortable guest rooms, modern amenities, outstanding personal service and fabulous cooked to order breakfasts. We are a short walk to business and government agencies, Parliament, the National Archives Library, War Museum, Museum of Civilization, the Rideau Canal and lots of shopping, dining and entertainment. On site paid parking is available, but public transit is only steps away. Welcoming guests for over twenty eight years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Albert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert House Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing