We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy with great staff”
Review of Albert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albert House Inn
Ranked #5 of 55 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“cozy with great staff”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

very comfy bed.
spacious rooms
front desk staff extremely helpful and friendly
great jacuzzi
very quiet
lovely living room with fabulous fireplace. service with a smile delivering evening drinks on the house.
spacious bathrooms
biggest selection of teas i've ever seen
very flexible on breakfast menu.
hot breakfast was tasty and timely

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skaters114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    59
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
69
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Stay here on business all the time and much appreciate the "personalized" feel of this as opposed to a chain hotel. Have never had a bad stay. Staff are attentive, friendly, helpful and they have the BEST breakfast! Definitely a hidden gem. Usually book a "moderate double" -- yes, not the biggest, fanciest room -- very Victorian -- but if you like quaint, friendly and affordable, this is the place for you. Also, bring an old paperback to leave on the shelf and take home another one off the shelf to enjoy -- lots to choose from!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2mcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

The owners have saved this lovely house from demolition and lovingly restored it into a comfortable and friendly B&B. Stands proudly amongst the modern buildings on the street. We especially appreciated the very reasonably priced laundry facilities - partly why we chose it - and the help we were given for using it. Rooms comfortable with easy chairs. Perhaps the bathroom facilities were a little cramped but perfectly adequate. We had a quiet room at the back. Easy walk to the Parliament buildings, the Rideau canal etc. We took the tour bus to The Museum of Civilization and found our own back as too late to pick up the last tour bus.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breizhlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2010

My husband and I were travelling to the Ottawa area to do some volunteering for a charity organization, and one of the members treated us to a two night stay at The Albert House Inn.
I immediately knew I loved the place when I walked into the foyer, saw the tea room, and the old photos on the walls. It has the Victorian charm that I love. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were told hot drinks were served in the evening, and when we took them up on a couple of hot chocolates, they brought it to our room, free of charge. The room was a good size, had a classic feel but featured a wonderful jacuzzi.
The bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get out of it and ended up sleeping in!
Breakfast was fantastic, the French toast was very yummy and served on fresh thick bread. They accommodated my request for Gluten free French toast, and it was the best!
We returned to visit again for three nights on Thanksgiving weekend, and had a different room, without the jacuzzi, but still great.
What can I say, the second trip was just as good, if not better than the first.
Highly recommended to anyone who likes the character and comfort of a historic Victorian home over a modern hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlythewoodManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

the wife and i were in ottawa for 2 nights and stayed at the albert inn.this is the second time being there and we were just as impressed this time,as last.the staff are very friendly,helpful and knowledgable of the area.we can't say enough about the breakfast.of all the b&b's we have stayed at(from alberta to pei) the albert house has the best choice of breakfast options.(all you can eat,and on a menu)the blueberry pancakes are delicious,the bacon and eggs are made to order perfectly.the jacuzzi room(room 202) was a great deal and very comfortable. whenever we go to ottawa we will always stay at the albert house as it is only 6 blocks to the parliament buildings and it offers the best value for our hard earned money. Genevieve and Greg

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallythetech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We were greeted and cared for by very friendly staff. We stayed in Room 202 - the King size bed with a large jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was huge. You could fit a small family in there. My husband and I loved it. We stayed one night and the relaxation we felt was like a whole weekend's worth. There were many choices on the breakfast menu and it was all normal stuff - which we appreciated since we're not poshy-posh, gourmet people. It definitely hit the spot and was delicious. We didn't hear much noise from the other rooms and weren't bothered at all. Great place to stay. Can't think of anything negative to say...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Pastors_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This is the first time to stay at the Albert House Inn but it will certainly not be the last.
The staff are unbelieveably attentive and friendly, every request is attended to immediately and with a smile.
The location is ideal for nthose wanting to see Ottawa, without having to use your car.
We parked our car when we arrived and did not use it again until we lift three days later.
Everything is withinm a 10 - 15 minute walk whether that be the Parliment Buildings or the Rideau canal
The food id exceptional and as much of it as you want.
we would highly recommend this B&B and we will certainly stay there any tim we are back in Ottawa

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awy575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.8 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
1,027 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.5 mi away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#7 of 67 in Ottawa
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert House Inn

Property: Albert House Inn
Address: 478 Albert St, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5B5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a designated heritage property in the heart of downtown Ottawa with comfortable guest rooms, modern amenities, outstanding personal service and fabulous cooked to order breakfasts. We are a short walk to business and government agencies, Parliament, the National Archives Library, War Museum, Museum of Civilization, the Rideau Canal and lots of shopping, dining and entertainment. On site paid parking is available, but public transit is only steps away. Welcoming guests for over twenty eight years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albert House Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing