We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
Ranked #43 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night. A modest hotel that was nevertheless very clean, the bed was reasonably comfortable, the room looked a bit outdated but clean as I mentioned. Staff were adequately helpful, but not overly friendly or polite.

Location is very good, smack dab in the middle of Downtown Ottawa and close to all attractions and ammenities. You don't need a car to visit town if you're staying at this hotel.

Our main complaint is that noise isolation is terrible, noisy neighbors kept us up until late, and also woke us up very early. A room situated next to a cleaning supply closet meant housekeeping staff doing their work also kept waking us up.

I recommend this hotel as it is not expensive and the rooms are adequate and clean, but do complain about the noise to see if the staff can find a solution and/or are aware of the problem.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay Deluxe Ottawa-Downtown. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our company motto is "Excellence Every Day, Every Way," and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice; after all, that's how Extended Stay Hotels(sm) got to be the largest extended stay lodging brand in North America.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was my 5th stay at Extended Stay Deluxe:
Nov 08 - 1 night - 1 Bedroom Suite
Aug 09 - 8 nights - Penthouse Suite
Feb 10 - 1 night - Studio Room
Feb 11 - 2 nights - 1 Bedroom Suite
Mar 12 - 1 night - 1 Bedroom

My family and I stay here almost every time we visit Ottawa.

The price is right, the location is great, the rooms are spacious and clean. Of course it's not a 5 star, but it has everything we need. When travelling with a child, we especially like having a kitchen.

We will continue to stay at this location when visiting Ottawa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you so much for your nice review of Extended Stay Deluxe Ottawa-Downtown. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Booked online, Lobby and rooms smelled musty and smokey.
Looked like a one bedroom apartment converted to a hotel.
Small bathroom had mold in the shower/bath grout.
Kitchen was nice feature , but didn't use it much.
Was not comfortable to stay in room for long when not sleeping luckily we had plans that kept us busy outside of the hotel.
Nice hot tub but it was dirty.
Not likely to go back and take my chances trying again for a better room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4TravelerQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay Deluxe Ottawa-Downtown. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Received this Hotel through Hotwire. First time using Hotwire, nervous to see this Hotel. After all... What are you going to receive for $85 ( taxes included) in downtown Ottawa! Average price of hotel room was $165.00. What a pleasant surprise! Although this property is dated, it was very clean. The staff @ the front desk were very friendly & helpful. Hotel was full, so we were upgraded to the penthouse suite! Dated, but excellent value & comfortable king size bed.
I would give this hotel a 3 1/2 star ! The restaurant in the hotel is a 5 star +... Food was incredible & well priced... If you stay at the hotel... you get an additional 10% off. Parking is limited... $14 to park. Overall... would return in a heartbeat! surroung area a little rough & huge constructon next door... quiet night.

Room Tip: ask for a suite on the 11th floor. we had room #1114
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyCanadianOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay Deluxe Ottawa-Downtown. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I always go there with my husband whenever we visit Ottawa. it's a very nice hotel and very good price. I like it , I will always go there , I like the service , and the location . very close to everything , I recommend it . the rooms are big , very comply bed , good room size and very calm night . you won't hear your neighbors and the service is very good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niveen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Pros
- great location, withing walking distance of Parliment Buildings, Rideau Canal, Rideau Centre, Elgin Street (great restrauants and bars) and Byward Market
- clean and fairly good size rooms
- quite residental area

Cons
- slow elevators, ask for a room on a lower room so you can take the stairs
- nothing fancy about the rooms
- our beds were a little uncomfortable by the second night

Overall
For the price, a good average hotel in a great location with the option to prepare some of your own meals in the in room kitchen.

Room Tip: Choice a room on a lower floor to use the stairs instead of the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Okay there are some issue here, but if you're looking for a cheap place close to the market (which is the main restaurant/shopping area it's a 20 min walk), parliament (you can see them from the hotel and it's right behind city hall) and extremely close to restaurants then this isn't so bad.

When we checked in there was no parking left in their lot (which is $14/day), but there was plenty on the streets (even though it was Winterfest and family day weekend).
The woman working the desk was extremely nice and helpful, even with a long line she got through everyone with a smile.
The lobby is nice, which is good because there is free wi-fi so a few people were using the couches, chairs and desk to use their laptops/ipads etc.

Our first room wasn't the greatest.
We were on the right side of the hotel and had a suite, so it was like a mini apartment. But the furniture was old and looked second-hand (the leather recliner was cracked). It was very very clean but smelt a bit like someone spilt febreeze and potpouri everywhere.
The bathroom was updated which was nice, and there was a flat screen mounted on the wall in the bedroom.

Everything was going well- we were only staying a night and we got a good deal on the room so we didn't care it was kind of cheap-and then the power went out in the bathroom.
So we called reception and they said they would send someone up.
About 5 min later we had to leave to visit family so we went to the front desk to let them know and without a pause she offered us an upgrade, which we gladly accepted.
While we were packing up to move the maintenance guy showed up-he was very friendly and got the lights sorted out.
Our new room was on the top floor of the left side of the building and was extremely nice and we were very happy.

OVERALL:
The staff are really friendly but the place isn't the ritz. You can get really good deals (we paid $86 with taxes for one night in a suite) and the location is excellent.
It's ideal for family's looking to save on money (there was a full mini kitchen so you can bring in groceries) and a great location for sightseeing with little ones who can't walk far.

Room Tip: Try getting a room on the left side of the hotel, the rooms seem to be nicer. If you're on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_86_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay Deluxe Ottawa-Downtown. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our company motto is "Excellence Every Day, Every Way," and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice; after all, that's how Extended Stay Hotels(sm) got to be the largest extended stay lodging brand in North America.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Ottawa East
#49 of 68 in Ottawa
579 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 68 in Ottawa
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa

Address: 141 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0E8, Canada (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Ottawa - Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £65 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is no longer accepted. Parking Fees: Overnight $16 plus taxes Monthly $200 plus taxes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Extended Stay, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Ottawa - Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Extended Stay Ottawa
Ottawa Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing