We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large suite with kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
Ranked #40 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Conveniently located on Cooper st. 15 minutes walk to the Parliament or By Ward Market. Free self parking at city hall, good until 3 pm the next day. Grab-and-go breakfast included. Very helpful staff. Suite of very large size. It is of great value for the money I've paid for this 3 star hotel. Well beyond my expectation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrickZhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, free parking, and our helpful staff. As well, it’s great to hear that our grab-and-go breakfast and your fully equipped kitchen met your travel needs. I’m so pleased that we were able to provide you with a great stay at an affordable rate. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Okay...so lets just put it out there. I have high expectations when it comes to accommodations, so booking this hotel through a third party was probably not the greatest choice but it was the most cost-efficient one. This hotel exceeded my expectations of a 2.5-Star hotel . Yeah, you might not get all the fancy gadgets as those provided in a 5-Star hotel or the attention of walking out of a 5-Star hotel but the price we paid and the cleanliness and service of this hotel was definitely worth it. The service provided by the staff at the front desk was amazing - they were friendly and efficient. We did not experience any problems at check-in, validating our parking tickets, nor a check-out. The room cleanliness wasn't as bad as I had expected from a 2.5-star hotel, and there was plenty of space to move around and lounge in. The location of this hotel was great - super convenient to Elgin (where a lot of restaurants are located), close to the Rideau Canal and all the Winterlude festivities. We did encounter a bit of a fallout with this hotel with the parking though but it probably worked out for the better. When we arrived at the hotel on Friday night, we were told the onsite parking was full, and therefore, we would have to park City Hall, and would have to get our tickets validated each time we need our car. This was not a big problem because City Hall was right across the street and it provided us with a sense of security that our car was being monitored, as there is a security guard watching the premises at all times. Anyway, I will definitely recommend this hotel, and I will definitely stay here again next time I visit Ottawa.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a lower floor because the elevators are slow and really cannot hold much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClembobTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for posting a review that was such a pleasure to read. I'm thrilled that we exceeded your expectations in the areas of service and quality. We all truly enjoyed having you stay with us and we would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed in a double room with two double beds as a family of 4 (2 adults, 13&12 y.o.). Only used room to watch t.v. and sleep after big days out sightseeing so space was fine for this purpose. Cooked 2x breakfasts and 1x dinner in kitchen but had to eat in shifts as only enough crockery for 3 people! Beds were harder than we prefer. Shower was amazing - hot and good pressure for the whole family! Staff are wonderful (friendly, approachable, professional) and solve any problem with efficiency and care. We loved being able to walk everywhere, and appreciated being able to keep our car on site (didn't matter that it wasn't undercover). Short walk down Elgin for coffee, dollarama & cheap eats.
Extended Stay Canada-Ottawa was the perfect location for enjoying the Winterlude festival!
3-5 mins walk to the 'Rink of Dreams'.
5-7 mins walk to 'Federation Park'
7-10 mins walk to 'Rideau Canal Skateway'
20 mins walk to Major's Hill Park
Catch the shuttle bus on Laurier Ave (in between rink of dreams & confederation park) to 'Parc Jaques Cartier' in Gatineau.
City Hall - public toilets, thoroughfare to Confederation Park (warm & safe @ night), displays, tables/chairs for resting/eating.
Rink of Dreams (outside, N, of City Hall) - beaver tails, hot choc, change room, picnic tables
Rideau Canal Skateway - Lisgar entrance is the closest; walk down Cooper then cross Queen Elizabeth towards the canal. Follow the path N to the entrance. It took us 2.5 hours to skate end to end with a couple of stops!
Confederation Park - crystal garden (ice sculpture) display, stage shows, displays, food etc.
Jaques Cartier Park - ice slides, snow tubes, kick sleds, paid activities, stalls, displays, etc.
Major's Hill Park - ottawa locks, parliament hill, fairmont chateau laurier - great photos

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms are preferable - elevators are small and slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4_Aussies_in_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your hotel stay. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, especially the fully-equipped kitchen; as well as the friendly service our staff provided and our hotel’s convenient location. It would be our pleasure to give you another repeat experience in the near future. We are happy to be your “home away from home.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Booked through hotwire. ca for 59 dollars a night. Worth the price. Definitely wouldn't pay full price. We stayed two nights in room 315. Large sized room with a kitchenette, living area and separate bedroom and bath. Furniture was dated but king bed was comfortable. Walls are paper thin. We could hear everything throughout the night. Never used the kitchen so I can't comment on that. Elevators are extremely small and slow. Front counter Staff are friendly and polite. The hotel in general was very clean although if you are sensitive smells, this place isn't for you as the hallways smell like Indian cuisine. Hotel offsite parking is 14 dollars for the day/ night. If you choose this parking option be prepared to walk a little bit or you can park down the street in the public parking lot for varying fees (kind of on the high end, we paid 50 dollars total from Friday night at 8 pm til Sun at 6 am). Hotel Location is prime spot as you can walk to pretty much all the Ottawa attractions.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kail14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that noise and smells from adjacent rooms disturbed your stay. Still, we are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a comfortable bed, clean room, and great location for your visit.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had such a great experience through Extended Stay Canada-Ottawa.
Check-in was quick, efficient and very helpful searching for a rental car company.
Suite was Spacious, Clean and Comfortable. It was in the heart of the city close to the Rideau Canal for Winterlude, Elgin St for Pubs and Lunch and the Byward Market for a nice evening out. Will book here again!
Thanks again.

Room Tip: Floor 11 features Suites with Living Room, Kitchenette, large Master and an Ensuite bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Rubin - Thank you for posting such a rewarding review. I truly appreciate your comments regarding our team's commitment to providing outstanding customer service. We all enjoyed having you stay with us and would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

The one thing I hate is a tiny hotel room. I've stayed twice at this hotel and this was the smallest room of the two times, yet still a big room. For the price, it was a steal. Travelling a lot, I like to feel at home, so I was grateful to have a fridge and dining room. Last time the room was big enough to be considered an apartment. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly and the location is amazing!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank BajanGirl1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay with us. I am glad that you found our hotel to be clean and our staff to be friendly. As well, I am happy that you enjoyed our convenient location and your fully equipped kitchen. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Good location and price, breakfast limited, but nice to be able to cook in your own kitchen albeit with limited supplies. Construction across street was a bit noisy, and windows are old with drafts in winter, one TV remote didn't work, and the breakfast that they provide is mostly coffee and some snack bars and bran muffins wrapped in plastic. Staff were amazingly helpful when my Hotwire reservation didn't log into their reservation and Hotwire had to refax them the reservation so call before you go and make sure they have you down.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in front facing the street as rooms in the back are facing construction, at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
0 mi away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#49 of 69 in Ottawa
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa

Address: 141 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0E8, Canada (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Ottawa - Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £76 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is no longer accepted. Parking Fees: Overnight $16 plus taxes Monthly $200 plus taxes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Ottawa - Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Extended Stay Ottawa
Ottawa Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing