We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found a used condom in the bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Found a used condom in the bed”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Yes, that's correct. A used condom fell out of the bedding and onto the floor during a stay in June 2013. I think that probably indicates how often they change the bedding. The staff member working was understanding and moved me to another room but needless to say I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank microtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. My sincerest apologies for the level of cleanliness you experienced during your stay. I’m working with the entire staff to improve our cleaning procedures to ensure your experience is not repeated. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and it will help us in our efforts to continually improve our hotels.

If you would like to discuss this issue further, please do not hesitate to contact me at otw@extendedstay.com. We do hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a better experience in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    225
    183
    88
    57
See reviews for
223
151
47
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We chose this hotel for our stay during the Family Day long weekend in Feb 2014. We needed 2 rooms with 2 beds in each room. We were a group of 4 adults, and 4 kids.

List of Issues :-
1) The online reservation was done with the listing of a room with 2 Queen Beds. We were instead given rooms with 1 King and a pull-out Sofa-bed (with a terrible spring mattress).
2) We had reserved 2 rooms, and we were given the room at the ends of the floor - and not together.
3) The reservation was for a non-smoking room, and we were put on a smoking floor with odor in the room as well.
4) In one of the rooms, the cold water in the bathroom was not working - only hot water coming from both taps in the sink. It was fixed the next day morning only.
5) Some of the light switches were not working.
6) Some of the wall-plugs were nor working.
7) The window AC in the room was acting like an open conduit for bringing in cold air, and located very close to the Sofa-bed.
8) Towels placed in one of the rooms were not cleaned properly.
9) No breakfast was available in the morning. And whatever was finally placed at a late time, it was removed quickly. Could not even get a cup of hot coffee in the morning.
10) There was dog poop on the walk-path in front of the hotel, as well as the hotel steps, in the evening. It was still there the next day morning.
11) Hotel does not provide some of the basic toiletries one is used to, even when requested from the desk.

Now after the above experience, please help me understand WHY should one be expected to pay $190 per 2 rooms per night, and still come back to this hotel, after the experience we had???

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel - there are many others in the same neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScindiaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I am sorry to hear about the maintenance issues you experienced in your room. As well, I apologize that the cleanliness of the towels in your room did not meet your expectations. I will be meeting with our housekeeping and maintenance staffs to ensure these issues do not continue in the future. Lastly, I am sorry that you were placed in a smoking room after requesting a non-smoking room. Your feedback will be helpful as we continue to improve our hotel.

I hope that you will contact me directly, at otw@extendedstay.com, should you wish to discuss this further. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Conveniently located on Cooper st. 15 minutes walk to the Parliament or By Ward Market. Free self parking at city hall, good until 3 pm the next day. Grab-and-go breakfast included. Very helpful staff. Suite of very large size. It is of great value for the money I've paid for this 3 star hotel. Well beyond my expectation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrickZhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, free parking, and our helpful staff. As well, it’s great to hear that our grab-and-go breakfast and your fully equipped kitchen met your travel needs. I’m so pleased that we were able to provide you with a great stay at an affordable rate. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Okay...so lets just put it out there. I have high expectations when it comes to accommodations, so booking this hotel through a third party was probably not the greatest choice but it was the most cost-efficient one. This hotel exceeded my expectations of a 2.5-Star hotel . Yeah, you might not get all the fancy gadgets as those provided in a 5-Star hotel or the attention of walking out of a 5-Star hotel but the price we paid and the cleanliness and service of this hotel was definitely worth it. The service provided by the staff at the front desk was amazing - they were friendly and efficient. We did not experience any problems at check-in, validating our parking tickets, nor a check-out. The room cleanliness wasn't as bad as I had expected from a 2.5-star hotel, and there was plenty of space to move around and lounge in. The location of this hotel was great - super convenient to Elgin (where a lot of restaurants are located), close to the Rideau Canal and all the Winterlude festivities. We did encounter a bit of a fallout with this hotel with the parking though but it probably worked out for the better. When we arrived at the hotel on Friday night, we were told the onsite parking was full, and therefore, we would have to park City Hall, and would have to get our tickets validated each time we need our car. This was not a big problem because City Hall was right across the street and it provided us with a sense of security that our car was being monitored, as there is a security guard watching the premises at all times. Anyway, I will definitely recommend this hotel, and I will definitely stay here again next time I visit Ottawa.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a lower floor because the elevators are slow and really cannot hold much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClembobTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review that was such a pleasure to read. I'm thrilled that we exceeded your expectations in the areas of service and quality. We all truly enjoyed having you stay with us and we would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed in a double room with two double beds as a family of 4 (2 adults, 13&12 y.o.). Only used room to watch t.v. and sleep after big days out sightseeing so space was fine for this purpose. Cooked 2x breakfasts and 1x dinner in kitchen but had to eat in shifts as only enough crockery for 3 people! Beds were harder than we prefer. Shower was amazing - hot and good pressure for the whole family! Staff are wonderful (friendly, approachable, professional) and solve any problem with efficiency and care. We loved being able to walk everywhere, and appreciated being able to keep our car on site (didn't matter that it wasn't undercover). Short walk down Elgin for coffee, dollarama & cheap eats.
Extended Stay Canada-Ottawa was the perfect location for enjoying the Winterlude festival!
3-5 mins walk to the 'Rink of Dreams'.
5-7 mins walk to 'Federation Park'
7-10 mins walk to 'Rideau Canal Skateway'
20 mins walk to Major's Hill Park
Catch the shuttle bus on Laurier Ave (in between rink of dreams & confederation park) to 'Parc Jaques Cartier' in Gatineau.
City Hall - public toilets, thoroughfare to Confederation Park (warm & safe @ night), displays, tables/chairs for resting/eating.
Rink of Dreams (outside, N, of City Hall) - beaver tails, hot choc, change room, picnic tables
Rideau Canal Skateway - Lisgar entrance is the closest; walk down Cooper then cross Queen Elizabeth towards the canal. Follow the path N to the entrance. It took us 2.5 hours to skate end to end with a couple of stops!
Confederation Park - crystal garden (ice sculpture) display, stage shows, displays, food etc.
Jaques Cartier Park - ice slides, snow tubes, kick sleds, paid activities, stalls, displays, etc.
Major's Hill Park - ottawa locks, parliament hill, fairmont chateau laurier - great photos

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms are preferable - elevators are small and slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4_Aussies_in_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your hotel stay. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, especially the fully-equipped kitchen; as well as the friendly service our staff provided and our hotel’s convenient location. It would be our pleasure to give you another repeat experience in the near future. We are happy to be your “home away from home.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Booked through hotwire. ca for 59 dollars a night. Worth the price. Definitely wouldn't pay full price. We stayed two nights in room 315. Large sized room with a kitchenette, living area and separate bedroom and bath. Furniture was dated but king bed was comfortable. Walls are paper thin. We could hear everything throughout the night. Never used the kitchen so I can't comment on that. Elevators are extremely small and slow. Front counter Staff are friendly and polite. The hotel in general was very clean although if you are sensitive smells, this place isn't for you as the hallways smell like Indian cuisine. Hotel offsite parking is 14 dollars for the day/ night. If you choose this parking option be prepared to walk a little bit or you can park down the street in the public parking lot for varying fees (kind of on the high end, we paid 50 dollars total from Friday night at 8 pm til Sun at 6 am). Hotel Location is prime spot as you can walk to pretty much all the Ottawa attractions.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kail14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that noise and smells from adjacent rooms disturbed your stay. Still, we are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a comfortable bed, clean room, and great location for your visit.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had such a great experience through Extended Stay Canada-Ottawa.
Check-in was quick, efficient and very helpful searching for a rental car company.
Suite was Spacious, Clean and Comfortable. It was in the heart of the city close to the Rideau Canal for Winterlude, Elgin St for Pubs and Lunch and the Byward Market for a nice evening out. Will book here again!
Thanks again.

Room Tip: Floor 11 features Suites with Living Room, Kitchenette, large Master and an Ensuite bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Rubin - Thank you for posting such a rewarding review. I truly appreciate your comments regarding our team's commitment to providing outstanding customer service. We all enjoyed having you stay with us and would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.0 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.8 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa

Property: Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
Address: 141 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0E8, Canada (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Ottawa - Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is no longer accepted. Parking Fees: Overnight $16 plus taxes Monthly $200 plus taxes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Ottawa - Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Extended Stay Ottawa
Ottawa Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing