We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good hotel to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed for 8 days. located in downtown and everything is nearby. nice place to start for a morning walk. 2 parks are located nearby to spent peace time. but breakfast is go and grab which is a missing link in the overall stay. having kitchen without dish washer and even scrubber :)rooms are clean and good hospitality provided by the front desk guys. overall good budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranjith-kumar-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our location, your clean room and the service provided by our staff. Still, I apologize that you were not pleased with our grab-and-go breakfast. Your comments will be helpful as we continue to improve our breakfast offering. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    190
    148
    78
    49
See reviews for
164
130
40
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Last minute booked a room at Extended Stay. Got a good rate, but you get what you pay for I guess. It looks like they have turned an old apartment building into a hotel...and didn't make any upgrades or improvements. The elevator was scary to ride. The location is good, that's about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side of the hotel, those rooms are newer. The east side is very sketchy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnafire86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our location during your stay. Still, I apologize that you were not pleased with the overall condition of our hotel. Your comments will be very useful as we continue to improve our guest experience. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

karachi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Went for 2 nights stay for the Victoria days weekend with wife and 3 year old son. Great location right in the heart of downtown Ottawa. 10 minutes walking from the parliament hill and other sites such as the children's museum are also close by. nice separate living room area with kitchen and dishwasher as well. Close by were many eating options as well right from fast food to nice restaurants. The receptionist was also very helpful and provided us with various sight seeing options. it was a 5 minute ride from the tulip festival which was at the Dows lake park. Overall a comfortable stay and great location for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saadgarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and the service our staff provided. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you want to be downtown Ottawa and close to all the tourist attractions or if you have business downtown or using the convention centre then this is an ideal place to be, it's walking distance to all of these. I'm not sure what this hotel used to be........maybe an apartment building, I had a one bedroom suite and was very happy with it, you had a living room , kitchen , bedroom and bathroom, this would be a good hotel to stay ay if you had interviews to do as your bedroom is totally separate, also ideal for a group of four or a family of four as the living room had a pull out couch. Rooms were clean enough but seemed to have a hot water problem especially in the morning and you only had maid service every three days. There is a " grab and go breakfast " not much to talk about really, coffee, tea muffins and fruit, I'm not a big breakfast person so this was fine for me but real milk or cream would have been nice and also some juice, if you wanted to expand a little on the breakfast maybe throw out some bread with a toaster. Smoking was a problem right outside the front entrance of the hotel, seemed like guests and staff would smoke here and this smell drifted into the front lobby and it just seemed to be a stale smoke smell all the time at the entrance. Parking can be a little bit of a headache, if you don't manage to get a spot at the hotel you are asked to park at city hall, five minute walk away and can be easily missed first time around if you are not sure about where you are going. There were some renovations going on during my stay, looked like they were getting a new bar and or restaurant on the ground floor, this would be good if this is the case although a walk onto Elgin St and you have all the bars you will ever need. Staff for the most part were helpful and friendly enough and if I had to return to downtown Ottawa i would have no problem staying here again, just remember you are not staying at a Westin or Hilton and your not paying their prices either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eerzaweepieanbovril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed our location, your clean room and our helpful, friendly staff. Still, I apologize that you had some issues with your hot water, people smoking outside of our entrance and the parking at our hotel. As well, I am sorry that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. All of your comments will be useful as we continue to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Rooms should be cleaned every after two days to help maintain the cleanliness otherwise it was good to be able to prepare my own food from my country because of the room arrangement. Staff, especially at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, easy to remember the name Scott because our Vice President has similar name. Otherwise all who worked at the front desk during my stay were good and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InC1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed your fully equipped kitchen and our friendly, helpful staff during your stay with us. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with our team. Still, I am sorry to hear that our housekeeping policy did not meet your needs. We provide housekeeping services to guests staying eight or more nights; however, these services are always available upon request for an additional fee. Thank you again for your great feedback. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good value for money. In the process of renovating. Lobby clean but rooms hallways , elevators, etc., a little tired and worn. Need more cutlery, dishes and cooking stuff. Staff very friendly and helpful. On site parking a bit of a pain.
For the value and convenince, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Bruce - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our apologies that you found the parking inconvenient. Still, we are happy to know that you would return to stay with us again. We are currently updating our guest rooms and corridors as well. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here during Winterlude and it could not have worked out any better. The hotel is only a couple block walk from the canal which was very convenient. Confederation Park was just on the other side of City Hall. Speaking of City Hall, we were able to park there underground in a secure lot instead of outside in the snow for the same price. We were upgraded to a suite free of charge and able to book only a few days in advance. The main advantage was that the neighborhood was very quiet compared to the rest of the city. They even had a quick breakfast to go each morning. We would come back here next year for Winterlude for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DNeck19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
The staff and I appreciate your kind remarks. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel including our convenient location and free grab-and-go breakfast. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.0 mi away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.8 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa

Property: Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
Address: 141 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0E8, Canada (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Ottawa - Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is no longer accepted. Parking Fees: Overnight $16 plus taxes Monthly $200 plus taxes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Extended Stay and Odigeo so you can book your Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Ottawa - Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Extended Stay Ottawa
Ottawa Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing