We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were there with our family enjoying outdoors activities in Ottawa last winter. But, it was too cold outside and we've prefer swimming at the hotel than skating on ice and use the exercice room in the hotel as well. We've reserved a suite for 4 adults and two children and we enjoyed our stay on New Year's Eve.

Room Tip: In our suite, the kitchen was one of the top five best clean kitchen we've used so far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 271048Italy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at the Cartier. We enjoyed having the extra space of a suite. The rooms were clean, the kitchen was spotless. The price is good and we will be returning for another visit. We have recommended the Cartier to our friends. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our grandkids enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BERT F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel is a bit outdated but the suite was very welcoming and like an apartment. Staff were very friendly. Pool is a nice addition. A great location in Ottawa- a 10 minute walk to Parliament and the market. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I guess if you don't expect a modern facility with modern appliances, modern furniture, and modem fixtures, then you would be very happy with this place. I guess rooms are converted apartments as they are all efficiencies, and laid out for extended living.. Kitchens are good size, room is nicely large, sleeping room is certainly adequate as well.. The layout of the rooms is excellent. I guess for the aging city its difficult to find Modern...Lobby when walking in makes me feel like I stepped into a "B" movie.
Staff was ok, not overly welcoming, certainly not negative either. But no one made me say "wow, Ill come back because of them"
Parking was under the building and fine, but expensive at the
$20 daily we negotiated. Typical for the area I guess....Parking is at a premium.

Area is walking distance to much, that's fine, especially Winterlude (2 blocks) and also close to the Rideau.

Facility was clean, room was clean, Hotel was clean, but sometimes its hard to tell just how clean when its aging...if that makes sense. Outside of the building is nice and need and looks good...

For our $190 a night parked and taxed, I guess that's what we should have expected. This certainly is not a negative review, its just an average Hotel, that's clean, but NOT modern in any way shape or form...not that there's anything wrong with that....

Room Tip: Figure out where the elevator closest to your room is from the basement... that's a tip for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartierPlace, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that our convenient location and our fully equipped suites contributed to your great stay with us. You will be happy to hear that we are undergoing renovations. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Ottawa.
Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The room was really clean and the size of a small apartment with a kitchen and private bedroom. It was more homey than staying in regular hotel, and it was one of the least expensive places available when I made my reservation. The underground parking was nice (for a fee) especially in the cold winter weather.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartierPlace, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated clean and spacious suites as well as the indoor parking during your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Ottawa.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We have to agree that overall the rooms were definitely dated, and although nothing was terribly 'dirty', our room was far from clean. Our bathroom floor had 'grunge' caked into the corners, and there was a sunflower seed from a previous visitor, which was visible enough to suggest that a thorough cleaning hadn't been done. When we initially arrived, there was a predominant odour from the kitchen, presumably from previous meals being cooked there, which was a little upsetting. Otherwise, everything was tidy and well-kept, but it's hard to overlook the items mentioned above when you're trying to just relax.

Thankfully we had the room simply for sleeping, as we were on the go around Ottawa all weekend, but when it came time to go to bed, the pillows were an absolute shock. They were all considerably smaller than a standard pillow, lumpy, and just plain uncomfortable. I generally bring a pillow, or two from home, but had forgot this time, and regretted it terribly both nights of our stay. Although it is a hotel, and outside noise is to be expected to some extent, there was a group in the room next to us that were quite noisy until the early hours of the morning on our first night.

Despite our room, the girl working the front desk when we checked in, as well as the fellow who checked us out were both very professional, and efficient. On check-in we were given precise directions to parking, as well as our room, and similarly on check-out, we were efficiently billed and sent on our way.

As stated by other guests, the hotel is very convenient to everything downtown, as well as the Byward Market, so we walked pretty much everywhere. If you're considering this property for a future stay, don't necessarily go by the rankings. Four and five start properties should be more than a great value, with good service. Price wise, other properties met the mark as well, and a four star plus hotel should have a face lift periodically to stay up with the times, and ensure guest comfort. Pillows should be a standard size at minimum, and definitely shouldn't be lumpy, and a thorough cleaning should be done, with no remnants of odours from previous guests. In short, a good deal shouldn't equate to a good rating. Rate the hotel for quality, service, and cleanliness, and rate the value in your comments.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartierPlace, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Jon,

We are happy you liked our convenient location as well as our very professional and efficient front desk staff. We apologize that your suite was not cleaned to our standards. We will retrain the housekeeping staff to avoid this happening again. Thank you for the feedback regarding our pillows, these will be changed. If you prefer down filled pillows , they are available upon request for your next stay at no extra charge. We are sorry to hear that the guests in the room next door were noisy and have increased security rounds. You will be happy to hear we are undergoing renovations. We hope that you will return so that you can experience a wonderful stay with us in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The price of this hotel is very good considering its convenient location and the amenities provided. We stayed for 3 days over March break in a two bedroom suite. This seemed to be one of the few hotels in the area that did not price-gauge due to the school vacation.

We enjoyed the pool and our two year old daughter LOVED the playroom. This was a great way for her to burn off some steam.

As others have noted, the decor is a little worn and dated. All experiences with staff were excellent. Our only confusion was over parking when we first arrived, as we had not visited before.

Also - I asked in advance about a few items - one of them was dishwasher detergent. I was assured it was supplied for the first load. It was not. Not a big deal as we brought some anyway :-)

Our teenagers complained about the speed of the wifi on their iPhones, but my husband and I found it to be just fine on our laptops.

Would (and have) recommend this hotel to others, particularly if you want to save money by doing your own cooking.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartierPlace, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Sheryl

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that our staff, convenient location, the hotel amenities that are great for families like the pool and playroom, as well as the value for the money spent contributed to your great stay with us. Thank you for notifying us of the issue with the WiFi connection to the iPhone's. We have notified maintenance so that this can be looked into further. You will be happy to hear that we are undergoing renovations. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Ottawa.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 68 in Ottawa
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartier Place Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartier Place Suite Hotel

Address: 180 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2L5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#29 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £74 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartier Place Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Cartier Place Suite Hotel was honoured with the 2016 Service Excellence Award from major online travel websites. The hotel has also a 3 Green Key eco-rating. Proud to be family owned and operated, the hotel is a short walk to Parliament Hill, the Ottawa Convention Center, the ByWard Market and City Hall. You will find our pet friendly accommodations in a quiet downtown neighborhood, located one block from the historic Rideau Canal and the trendy boutique area of Elgin Street. Always a favorite among families and business travelers alike; the hotel offers 250 spacious one and two bedroom suites, including VIP suites with Jacuzzi, Business Suites and Penthouse Hospitality Suite with a roof top patio and beautiful city views. Each suite features a full kitchen, separate bedrooms, combined living/dining area with a private balcony. Deluxe meeting and banquet facilities feature floor-to-ceiling windows that overlook our gardens. Guests may also enjoy the games room, children's playroom and the only downtown hotel with a private outdoor garden patio complete with playground and shuffleboard court. The indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, exercise room and the friendly atmosphere all contribute to a memorable stay. Whatever the reasons for your stay, there's flexibility and a willingness to meet your needs at the Cartier Place Suite Hotel. Whoever you are and wherever you come from, as soon as you step in the door, you will know you are welcome. Suite dreams await you... here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cartier Place Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartier Place Hotel Ottawa
Cartier Place Suite Ottawa
Hotel Cartier Place Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing