We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife and I just spent three nights at this hotel in one of their one bedroom suites. Check in and out was efficient and the people at the front desk are always there to assist you.

Our suite was on the Cooper side of the street or north side of the building thus facing the street...there is no normal street noise that one can hear but early in the mornings there was always a garbage dump truck serving the street that made it noisy.

I would suggest a room and or suite on the south side of the building where its really quiet.

The location, the condition of the hotel and our room was very good according us good value for this type of hotel with a kitchenette,dinete and living area with a separate bedroom....you can't beat the location being close to the parliament buildings, the canal, the market and restaurants on Elgin Street.

I certainly recommend this hotel for a nice stay in downtown Ottawa.

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights one week ago. We booked 2 bedroom unit and were happy with the choice. The unit was on the 5th floor, very clean, quiet and comfortable. Clean carpet, clean kitchen, bathroom in very good conditions. Indoor pool and children's playroom were perfect for our two children under five. The restaurant in the lobby was very tasty (a bit expensive though). It was very cold in Ottawa during our stay, so we used heating, which was in both bedrooms. Will be coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Cartier Place Suite Hotel with our family of 4 (1 bedroom: 2 double beds) during the long weekend in August 2014. It has a perfect location - walking distance to all the tourist attractions in downtown Ottawa. The kitchen is great for preparing your own food, & a grocery store is only 3 blocks away. The kids loved the swimming pool & hot tub. The free wifi was also a bonus. The staff was friendly and helpful. The suite was clean, and perfect for what we needed. Thank you Cartier Place Suite Hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights while my husband worked in Ottawa.
It was great since we didn't have a car and we have three young children.
We walked to Parliament and the Byward market, as well as the Rideau Centre.
The pool was nice with the outdoor patio, and the kids even played at the mini playground area.

Rooms were spacious, but the bathroom needed some updating, especially the shower.

The kitchen needed a few more dishes since there were five of us in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Loved this place. We stayed in a 2 bedroom ( 1 queen , 2 twins), 1 bathroom suite. The interior is a little dated, but everything is clean and working. The kitchen has all the equipment to cook your own meals, a diningroom table and a sitting corner with a pull out couch . There's a balcony too with additional seating. Laundry rooms and ice are situated on alternating floors. The swimming pool is on the ground floor and of a good size. There's even a playground ! There are plenty of great and affordable restaurants and pubs near the hotel. Groceries are within easy walking distance too. Parking is under the hotel, and expensive like every other place. And Parliament Hill is a 10 minute walk.
What I loved best was the Staff. Very service orientated . Pick up the phone within one ring. I had an issue with a washing machine: called and 2 minutes later a guy came to look at it!(fixed in 1 minute!)
Would definitely come back to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20Natalie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a one bedroom suite with well equipped kitchen. Overall the room and kitchen were clean but did have a stronger than usual smell. We found a used needle on the balcony!
The location was great for walking to Parliament buildings and some museums. Front desk did not have a lot of knowledge about events going on in the city and the housekeeping was not cooperative when I asked them to come back in the afternoon.
We stayed there because of an Ottawa tourism promotion that offered 3 nights for the price of 2. It was a good value for the location and the kitchen helped keep the price of meals down for a family. Not sure if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SR_Miss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartierPlace, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We apologize for the service provided and will immediately retrain our staff. We are happy that you enjoyed our location and spacious suite with kitchen. We hope you choose to visit with us again in the future.
Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A little cheaper than other places but the rooms are much larger but you can tell it needs renovation. Staff do not give out free travel toiletries like most others. Very dated rooms

Restaurant is not very good. It's over priced for the quality. Luckily there are several good places nearby.

Probably a good place to stay if you need to save a bit of money and have a few people.

If I were alone and had the option I'd probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartierPlace, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Valued guest,
Thank you for your feedback on the hotel and the restaurant pricing. We are very happy to provide a great value for our spacious suites for the budget conscious guest. We are excited to announce our ongoing renovations have started and look forward to your next visit to the Ottawa Region. Please contact our Sales Department the next time you are in town, and we will provide you with a tour of our renovated suites. We would also be pleased to discuss your feedback further with you directly. Gina Aoude, the Front Desk Manager, is available at gaoude@suitedreams.com or by phone at 1-800-236-8399. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 69 in Ottawa
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ByWard Blue Inn
#12 of 69 in Ottawa
821 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 69 in Ottawa
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartier Place Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartier Place Suite Hotel

Address: 180 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2L5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#29 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £75 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartier Place Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Cartier Place Suite Hotel was honoured with the 2016 Service Excellence Award from major online travel websites. The hotel has also a 3 Green Key eco-rating. Proud to be family owned and operated, the hotel is a short walk to Parliament Hill, the Ottawa Convention Center, the ByWard Market and City Hall. You will find our pet friendly accommodations in a quiet downtown neighborhood, located one block from the historic Rideau Canal and the trendy boutique area of Elgin Street. Always a favorite among families and business travelers alike; the hotel offers 250 spacious one and two bedroom suites, including VIP suites with Jacuzzi, Business Suites and Penthouse Hospitality Suite with a roof top patio and beautiful city views. Each suite features a full kitchen, separate bedrooms, combined living/dining area with a private balcony. Deluxe meeting and banquet facilities feature floor-to-ceiling windows that overlook our gardens. Guests may also enjoy the games room, children's playroom and the only downtown hotel with a private outdoor garden patio complete with playground and shuffleboard court. The indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, exercise room and the friendly atmosphere all contribute to a memorable stay. Whatever the reasons for your stay, there's flexibility and a willingness to meet your needs at the Cartier Place Suite Hotel. Whoever you are and wherever you come from, as soon as you step in the door, you will know you are welcome. Suite dreams await you... here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cartier Place Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartier Place Hotel Ottawa
Cartier Place Suite Ottawa
Hotel Cartier Place Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing