We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Canada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have stayed at a number of hotels in Canada and this hotel is the best!! The conduct of the Gold Floor staff and of the hotel staff generally is extraordinary in the provision of excellent service. For example, Mallory Delorme of the Gold Floor staff on one of my many stays this past very cold winter noted upon my arrival the absence of one of my mitts due to the airline losing it when my coat was checked in the business class cabin. Mallory asked where I got the mitt and the next day went purchased the mitt on her own time and delivered it on her own time to the office building where my early morning meeting was occurring some 8 kms from the hotel. Catherine along with the other gold floor staff also go the extra mile to make me feel welcome and make my business trips to Ottawa relaxed and easy. It is never too late to get my clothes cleaned and or pressed and they are always delivered on time. Any dietary requests are generously and quickly provided. Breakfast is delicious with a wide array of choices from fresh fruit to oatmeal/muesli and to hot egg dishes.

The gym facilities have up to date equipment in a clean facility and the pool is a salt water so there is much less chlorine.

The location is perfect - close to the canal for running each morning and close to the Parliament buildings and to the Rideau centre for shopping.

The dining room and room service have delicious entrees which are tastefully presented.

I love this hotel and the kind and the generous staff.

Gerry

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Gerry,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others. Our mission is to turn moments into memories and it is great to hear when we have been successful.

Rest assured I will share your compliments with our Fairmont Gold team. I know they will be pleased to have been recognized.

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,938 - 1,944 of 3,220 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great location , beautiful hotel but very traditional. More indicated for convention or big group than for couple. Breakfast not well assorted but the omelette chef was very kind and superfast
The best massage we ever had in the hotel spa thanks to Carole, great professional!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gulliver12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments with others on Trip Advisor.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not-too-distant future.

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I'll declare my bias up front - I love Canadian Fairmont hotels like the Chateau Laurier and the Chateau Frontenac. I love the history and location of these amazing hotels. I love the traditional decor and the brunch buffet is always great. This is just a great place to stay in Ottawa. Staff is good. The chef in Wilfrid's made us a great omelette and crepe and our cleaning person, Ray, was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your “bias” views with others on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Chateau Laurier for 5 nights. The location is great - minutes walk from the convention centre, Rideau Centre, and really close to Byward Market. The hotel is stunning and you have to take a look at the historic pictures. It is elegant and spacious.

The rooms were good, although, the carpet needed a bit of a steam clean. The bed and pillows were good, but the duvet was not entirely comfortable. But overall, it was pretty awesome. It was great to be close to everything.

We took a walk to tour the mint and also walked to the National Gallery.

Front desk service was great - check in and out was seamless. The older gent at the concierge desk was super cranky though. He made it seem like we were inconveniencing him by asking him to get our bags. (!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we greatly appreciate you taking to do so.

Rest assured that I will follow up on your comments regarding your experience at the concierge desk.

Once again, thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Room 211 was amazing - spacious, quiet, great bed, huge bathroom, wonderfully set up for business needs. No tub, but huge shower with good water pressure.

Pool facility is great if you love to swim laps, which I do. The water was cold, but you quickly get used to it. It's lacking a hot tub and/or a steam room though, which would make the area perfect. The fitness facility is fantastic, and the pool/fitness change rooms are amazing, best I've encountered at a hotel.

Front staff was helpful and friendly whenever we had questions or needs. Housekeeping staff was very friendly, always said "hi" to you no matter what hallway you walked down, and our room was always quickly cleaned, but cleaned well. Staff forgot to refill our toilet paper one time, but a call to the front desk quickly remedied it. The outdoor staff could use some training; we were never helped with our luggage when we checked in or out, and only once was the door held open when we arrived back on site. The outdoor staff at the Quebec City and Banff locations are wonderful; the Ottawa site could learn some things from them.

The facility itself is wonderful to walk around, definitely prettier than the Fairmont in Quebec City. Not as many stores though, and no spa like Banff's location, but still worthwhile to check out and walk around. The rooms are all gorgeous with high ceilings and regal, updated decor. They were also very comfortable for our conference needs. The outdoor grounds behind the hotel have a great pathway along the canal and lead right to the National Gallery. It also located in the heart of downtown and only a few minutes walk from other sites such as Parliament and Byward Market.

We only tried out one of the restaurants on site, Zoe's Lounge. The live music is a treat and a great amenity other Fairmont sites should have. The food and drinks, while amazing, were very pricey, especially for the portion size. Unfortunately, we did not have good service at Zoe's Lounge, which is a shame, because it did deter us from enjoying other nights there for that end of the day business night cap.

If we attend another conference in Ottawa in the future, I would definitely consider staying at the Fairmont again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Katrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your review of the hotel on Trip Advisor.

Please rest assured that we are looking into the points that you noted in your on-line comments including the front door, housekeeping and the lounge. We appreciate your positive approach to sharing your feedback with us.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Chateau Laurier is THE place to stay in Ottawa. Location, quality and attentive service. Salt-water exercise pool! Well-maintained. What a hotel should be; not like all the others. Hotel has a grand history, yet is very "present" for today's traveler.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Lucius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with others on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Although we did not stay here, we thoroughly enjoyed walking through the lobby, browsing the walls of pictures, the ballrooms, etc.
Fairmont HotelChateau Laurier,was built by the Canadian Railroad to bring customers to Ottawa. It is a Gorgeous building, with very ornate carvings and painted ceilings, verdigris copper turrets, etc.,pictures on wall when rooms rented for $2 night EUROPEAN plan in early 20th century.
Definitely worth a visit after a tour of parliament or a walk back from the Byward market.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
1  Thank MIAMISHEILA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

I am delighted to hear that you took the time during your visit to Ottawa enjoy the Heritage Gallery at the Fairmont Château Laurier. We are lucky to be able to share our famed history with visitors from around the world.

Sincerely,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 69 in Ottawa
455 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#11 of 69 in Ottawa
2,222 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 69 in Ottawa
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 69 in Ottawa
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Address: 1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#11 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £150 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Laurier 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the confidence, dignity and style of Ottawa, Fairmont Chateau Laurier stands as a testament to this dynamic, thriving city. Located in the heart of Canada's capital next door to the Parliament Buildings, the landmark Fairmont Chateau Laurier hotel in Ottawa is a magnificent limestone edifice with turrets and masonry reminiscent of a French chateau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Chateau Laurier
Fairmont Ottawa
Ottawa Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing